For the Love of St. Nick by Garasamo Maccagnone

forthelove1For the love of St. Nick is a quiet little story that takes place in Michigan after a father called “the commander” and his two sons are relocated for a special military mission. The Commander’s youngest son, Johnny, had a complicated birth in which his mother died and Johnny is afflicted with health problems throughout his life, oftening running high grade fever. The oldest son, often called Tiger is very close to his little brother and shares stories of the mother that Johnny never knew with him. 

Shortly following Thanksgiving, the commander announces to his children and Mrs. Pennington, the boys’ caretaker, that he will be leaving on his secret mission but will return before Christmas. The sons are very upset and begin to pray for their father’s safe return. The boys have taken to praying to the saints for their mother and father and for little Johnny’s health. In particular, they are fond of St. Nicholas who is a sort of saint of protection to the boys.

This was a beautiful and quite touching Christmas story that was entirely too short. I would’ve loved to see this expanded into a novel…44 pages just wasn’t enough. Although I have to say that in those 44 pages, I grew quite attached to the characters which is saying a lot for this author. It’s not every author that can create characters you love in that short of a time. The story captures the Christmas spirit well, but also looks at how we mourn, how we hope, and how we survive. Nice little book.

13 Responses

  1. Only 44 pages? That’s too bad! But making readers get attached to the characters in so short a time is indeed a feat. I love what you said in the very last line of your post.

  2. Nymeth, This really could’ve been expanded into a novel, but oh well…it was good as it was. And if you liked the last line of my review you’d probably enjoy the book! That about sums it up!

  3. It’s too bad that this book is only 44 pages. It wouldn’t take me any time at all to read it, so it wouldn’t really be worth buying… Maybe if I see it second-hand someday. Thanks for posting about it, though. 🙂

  4. even if I have to stop reading Brisingr in order to read it before Christmas I did buy When Santa Fell to Earth by Cornelia Funke when it went on sale long ago and will read it. I know it’s a kids book but I do like her writing enough to read a very young persons book

  5. haha, When Santa Fell to Earth sounds like a good book, deslily. I actually forgot about it, but I did want to read it at some point!

    haha, and now off to my own blog…

  6. Kailana, I totally agree with you. In fact, if I hadn’t had this book sent to me to review I probably wouldn’t have bought it because of it’s short length. But I will tell you that it’s a treasure of a story and if you find it for a good price, you should pick it up :p And you and Deslily both need to read When Santa Fell to Earth!! It’s such a fun little book!

    Deslily, I’m so excited that you’re going to read When Santa Fell to Earth!!! It’s such a great little book and despite the fact that it’s a kids book, I think that anyone at any age can enjoy it! It’s fantastic! How’s Brisingr going? I gave up on that series after Eragon…In fact I quit in the middle of Eragon…I just couldn’t get into it 😦 Maybe I should try them again!

  7. This sounds like a lovely little book. Thanks for the great review as well as for hosting the Dewey Challenge. I think I will love the books I have chosen for it.

    I hope my challenge post on my blog didn’t make you really think you had stepped on someone’s toes by starting the challenge! I didn’t notice anyone in particular named to do it–it was just an idea thrown out as a possibility. I am grateful to you and Robin for stepping up.

    Have a great week!
    *smiles*
    Kim

  8. Hey Kim! Oh it didn’t at all! I was just worried that someone else had the challenge already in the works and I had sort of taken it from them! I’m bad at staying in the loop of things :p Glad to hear I didn’t take it from anyone, though it’s great to hear that there was already talk of this. I’m hoping lots of people sign up! You have a great week too!

  9. Mmmm, I think you’d enjoy the Pern books (small print and all ) better. Brisingr isn’t “bad” but it’s slow as molasses lol. I haven’t set it aside and I won’t, but it’s not the great trilogy that I hoped it would be for him. On the other hand I have read worse books! And this time I don’t think it’s “my mood” that’s keeping the book from being something better.

  10. Love the cover of that book! I felt the same way about the book I just reviewed today, Auggie Wren’s Christmas Story, that you did about this one. Great but too short. I’ll have to keep my eye open for this.

  11. Deslily, I KNOW I’ll enjoy the Pern books better, lol…seeing as I loved the first one and gave up on Eragon halfway through. That’s the same way I thought of Eragon…very slow. Oh well, we can’t love em all.

    Carl! It’s good to hear from you man! I was starting to worry about you, lol. Isn’t that cover great?? It was a review copy and the main reason I accepted it really was because of the cover. It was a nice treat to have a great story as well.

  12. I’m glad you enjoyed this one! I still think it’s worth framing.

  13. I would have accepted it for that reason too!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

