Introducing the Dewey's Books Reading Challenge!

 

deweys_books1

I made a comment in a recent book review of mine that it would be cool to have a “Dewey Challenge” in honor of Dewey fromThe Hidden Side of a Leaf who recently passed away, where participants would read books that she reviewed. I know my wishlist has grown tremendously as a result of her and I’ve loved every book that I’ve read that she’s recommended. Dewey was such a prolific reader and her reviews were honest, intriguing, and beautifully written. What better way to celebrate her wonderful life than by having a year long challenge in her name! 

When I commented about having the challenge, I didn’t think I’d actually do it :p But then Robin (that wonderful person!) emailed me and had already designed a button for it! And it’s quite beautiful. She’s offered to help in any way she can, and I just might take her up on that 😉 The original plan was that Robin was going to look up all of her 2003-2005 reads and I was going to do her 2006-2008 reads. I started going through Dewey’s archives and realized that my list would be close to 700 books long and no one would read through all that! I also realized that I was really enjoying my time over at Dewey’s blog, searching through all of her old posts. It was like visiting with an old friend. So instead of me giving you a list of books, I say we all go visit her again and pick out books that sound interesting to us. There are two ways to join this challenge:

1. Pick one book from each of the 6 years that Dewey has archives of. You can access her archives by clicking on the archive link in the sidebar of her website. It’s a dropdown menu. For instance, you would read one book that she reviewed in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, and 2008 for a total of six books.

2. The other option is to read 5 books that Dewey reviewed. These can be from any year and I’m guessing that each of us has at least 5 books on our TBR list because of Dewey!

And the rules:

1. Choose either option 1 or 2 from above. 

2. Commit to read your books (either 5 or 6 depending on which option you choose) throughout 2009. The challenge will end on December 31, 2009 but we’ll go ahead and unofficially start it right away! We’ll officially start it on January 1st, 2009.

3. Check back to the challenge blog that we’ve created, Dewey’s Books, often as I’ll put up Mr. Linky’s for reviews and I’ll mention prize giveaways!

I’m hoping to do some prize giveaways that have a “Dewey Theme”. I have a couple of books in mind that she reviewed which I read and loved and of course there’s the ever so popular Chocolate Monkey that Dewey would give away! Anyone know where she got that from?

Finally, this is my first time EVER hosting a challenge and Robin’s as well, so please have patience with us, lol. If anyone would like to give me a nudge if I’m missing something or just totally screwing up, please do! It’ll be appreciated. And lastly, if anyone wants to donate prizes to the challenge, you’re more than welcomed to do that too! Don’t feel pressured to though, I’ll have some prizes of my own. 

Lastly, have fun!! And enjoy spending time with the books that our wonderful friend recommended to us. Please comment below if you’d like to join and I’ll add your name to a list. Also, feel free to take a button that Robin designed!

To sign up, leave a comment either here or on the challenge blog, Dewey’s Books, and I’ll add you to the blogroll of the challenge blog. This challenge blog page will be the main page for the challenge, though I’m sure Robin and I will cross post on our blogs!

deweys_books13
mediumsmall1

18 Responses

  1. I definitely want in! I don’t know which option I’ll be going with–I’m hoping I can choose that later. I’ll post about it when I get the chance!

    Becky (http://blbooks.blogspot.com)

  2. This is the coolest! I am definitely in on this one. I’ll have a post up about this soon – I’m gonna go with option 1

  3. Thanks for joining Becky and Joanne! Hope you have fun. And Becky, of course you can choose later which route you want to take!

  4. […] with Starbucks truffles and a little ornament and a beautiful card! Don’t forget to join the Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge! Challenge info is right under this […]

  5. I’d like to do this challenge. I didn’t really know her as well as I do other bloggers, but I want to honor her life and the contributions she made to the reading world. I think your challenge is a beautiful idea, and I’m sure that she’s smiling as she’s it take place. I’ll choose option 1, but I still have to define the 6 books to read. I’ll let you know!

  6. This is such a great idea! I’m in!

  7. Um… I meant “smiling as she SEES it take place.” And, the six books I chose are in my sidebar under the beautiful button.

  8. I love this challenge. And I love that you’re hosting your first challenge, because of Dewey.

    I haven’t even begun to sign up for my 2009 challenges yet (I’m a little afraid, seeing as I signed up for one challenge in 2008 and didn’t manage to read the books I committed to…) but this will be at the top of my list when I get there.

  9. I just went to the blog and officially signed up. But Chris I wanted to tell you that I think it’s a perfectly lovely thing that you’re doing.

    Damn. I just miss Dewey so much. And I know you know how I feel.

  10. This is such a lovely idea! Definitely count me in. I’ll post about it later after I have time to browse through some of her archives, and put together a list of possibilities.

  11. You can count me in, of course. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to decide what to read just yet, though…I love how you’re encouraging us all to explore her archives. I think that will be the best part. Like you said, it will be a little like spending time with her again.

    Thank you, Chris.

  12. Gah! I don’t have time right now to actually sit out and decide what books to read, but I’m marking this to check back later. Great idea, by the way.

  13. I signed up on the blog and my list is up. Thanks for hosting. Great idea!

  14. Sign me up, please! I saw this challenge on a blog recently while doing the advent tour rounds, so word is getting out. I’m really thrilled that you and Robin are doing this, Chris. And it’s such a wonderful idea, to pick books she read, and then read them ourselves. thank you, Chris and Robin. I’ll be choosing shortly which one I’ m doing but as no packing is getting done yet and we FLY TOMORROW to England, I have to get packing…..

  15. Please sign me up!
    P.S. I cannot access Dewey’s blog.

Leave a Reply

