Oh no…

I just read on Dewey’s website that she passed away last week. I don’t even have words to say how shocked or upset, or sad I am right now. Dewey was one of my favorite bloggers around and she had such a kind kind soul. She was one of the most important people in this blogging community bringing everyone together with weekly geeks and the 24 hour read a thon and just her loving kind ways. Wow…I’m going to miss her. So sad…I had just planned on emailing her to see if she was ok the other day too…I wish I would have.

I’ll miss you terribly Dewey…my love and condolences to your family.

12 Responses

  1. I’m in complete shock too. Just…wow. This is so unbelievably sad. She was one of my favourite people too. She was truly one of a kind. I can’t imagine a Deweyless world.

  2. Nymeth and I have been all over the place, reading and commenting at tribute posts. I think we’re both of the same mind — maybe by reading it repeatedly, the truth will sink in. It just doesn’t seem possible that Dewey is gone. I think we all need a giant group hug. This is a sad day for book bloggers. Dewey was a gem.

  3. Nancy is exactly right. And also, it’s because talking about this and hearing what others have to say is a way to cope. In the outside world, people gather at wakes, they share their loss before each one goes on to mourn privately. And I think that sharing one’s pain is essential, not only for it to sink in but for us to make sense of it somehow.

    So sorry if I sound like a scratched record 😦 But you know what made me cry all over again? Remembering the comment she left you not too long ago on your 7 Bookish Things About Me post 😦

  4. Hard to believe, isn’t it. My thoughts are with her family right now. It must be such a hard loss for them.

  5. Nymeth, I know…it’s unbelievable. Absolutely unbelievable. I just went back and read what she wrote on my “7 bookish things” post. So sad 😦 I agree with Bookfool…we all need a bug hug right now.

    Bookfool, I’m about to go make the rounds right now. I sitll can’t believe it…I imagine it’ll be awhile before I can. It’s amazing how close we become to our fellow bloggers. It reminds me how much I cherish you all.

    Stephanie, My thoughts are with her family too…they’re a wonderful couple of guys. So sad…

  6. I am absolutely in shock. It feels like a huge loss, and I never even knew her; only her presence in the blogging world. So sad for those who remain behind, but I was thankful to hear at her site that she’s no longer in pain. What an impact she made on all her readers.

  7. Bookfool is right, at least for me. Reading tribute posts is a manner of coping. But like what I said in Andi’s blog, while I’m sad and shocked of her passing, in a way I’m glad (or at least should be, have yet to get over the “sad” part) because now she’s not suffering, she’s not in pain anymore. But that’s logical thinking.

    Hugs to you and to all book bloggers out there.

  8. I was stunned and dismayed when i read the news. I can’t even think of what to say. I had no idea she was ill, and her passing makes me feel very sad. We will all miss her.

  9. I was thinking that it might be nice for those bloggers who are Weekly Geeks to pay tribute to Dewey in the next week or so. To take the time to post to their blogs a “Weekly Geek” post about Dewey–maybe share their favorite posts from her site, maybe share a memory or two about participating in weekly geeks, the bookworms carnival, the 24 Hour Readathon, or one of Dewey’s challenges, maybe just share a favorite memory of Dewey in general, what they’ll miss most, how they’ll remember her, etc. I’m going to try to post mine this Saturday–but bloggers anywhere and everywhere are encouraged to post whenever they want.

    If you’re interested please SPREAD the word to all your blogging friends.

  10. I only found out late last night so I couldn’t get to any blogs before now. I’m so sad at her passing. She was such an integral part of my experience so far with the book community, all her wonderful challenges and readathons and it was always so special when she was able to come by my or any one else’s blog and comment. What a rare woman she was, and I keep thinking about her family, too, because they have lost her in their lives.
    This has made me realize that this is somehow, magically,a community of real friends,and I wanted to tell you that you’ve become dear to me, Chris. Here’s a hug for you 🙂 and I think Nancy (Bookfool) is right, we all need a big group hug for Dewey right now.

  11. ((hugs)) I can’t believe it either. All I can say is that I hear you and I feel similarly.

  12. You’ve put it perfectly, Dewey will be missed so much. 😦

Leave a Reply

