Fables Vol. 2 – Animal Farm and Still Sad

fables_2_mediumI love this series. Absolutely love it, and the best thing about it is that I’ve only read Volumes 1 & 2! That leaves plenty more. In the second volume of Fables there’s a revolution being stirred up at the Animal Farm. A farm far away from the rest of humanity that houses all of the animals and creatures from fairy tales that wouldn’t fit into normal society. The inhabitants of the farm are sick of being kept away though and they’ve decided to revolt. It starts with the execution of a much loved fairy tale character and ends with the near death of one. And who else leads the revolution but Goldilocks.

This was another fantastic work by Bill Willingham with more amazing artwork by Mark Buckingham and beautiful covers by James Jean. Highly recommended series.

And that’s the extent of what I can muster up today for a review. Dewey’s passing still has me really down as I know it does many other people and I expect that we’ll find something missing for a long time here in this community. I wanted to take this opportunity though to tell each and every one of you who stop by here how much I appreciate you and that I consider all of you dear friends. Some of you have come to be true close friends to me and I wanted to make sure that you knew that. Oh Dewey, we’ll miss you.

11 Responses

  1. I was really sad today and had a hard time working on reviews too. I ended up watching one of my favorite shows on tv for an hour today instead.

  2. Chris, it seems even more unreal this morning that Dewey is gone. She’s left a huge void in the center of the book blogging community and will be sorely missed. I feel the same way — this loss makes me want to let everyone know how much I appreciate them and what an impact each of my blogging friends has made in my life. Hugs to you.

  3. I’ve been trying to summon up the energy to write a book review, this morning. You’re doing better than I am. It just feels somehow wrong to post, knowing Dewey is gone. I’ll try again, later. I’m going to read, instead. Love you bunches, Chris.

  4. Hi Chris. I’m glad you love this series too. It only gets better as it goes along, so I’m sure you’ll continue to enjoy it.

    And once again I echo Nancy’s sentiments. It just feels so strange to even think of doing normal things with her gone. I know that life goes on, and that the last thing she’d want was for people to stop posting and for this community to dissolve. But it feels weird right now, and I bet it will for a while 😦

  5. I wish I could read this series. I have to order it in from elsewhere, I believe.

    Yeah, yesterdays news shocked me, I must say! But, Dewey was all about community, so she would want people to keep on posting… 🙂

  6. Alyce, I know how you feel. I figured if I didn’t do this review (if you can call it that) that i’d never do one for it. It felt weird posting without Dewey out there….still so sad.

    Robin, Dewey has certainly brought out the best side of this little community. I always knew how much Dewey did, but I don’t think I ever realized how integral a part of this community she was until her passing. I wish I could fly to everyone’s house right now just to give them a hug and let them know that they’re all important to me.

    Bookfool, I know 😦 I felt wrong posting too about anything but Dewey, but like Nymeth and Kailana said, I know the last thing she would want is for us to not post anymore. So I had to do some sad feeble attempt at reviewing the book I had finished. I love you bunches too Bookfool! Take care.

    Nymeth, It does feel so strange…It was hard to post this review and I probably shouldn’t have because it’s a crappy one, lol. I know Dewey wants us to go on though. She’d kick us all in the head if we stopped blogging about books! lol. It certainly does feel weird right now though. Very weird. And you’re right. It probably will for awhile. I know Dewey would be proud of this sense of even more togetherness that she’s brought about through her passing though. I’ll keep that with me.

    Kailana, I wish you had access to this series too! It’s so good! What about that website that Nymeth always talks about that does free shipping from other countries…I forgot what it’s called..is it book crossing? If you read this Nymeth, help us out, lol. And I totally agree with you about Dewey…she’d certainly want us to all continue to post!

  7. Chris and Kailana, it’s http://www.bookdepository.co.uk
    Last time I checked they didn’t have the whole series in stock, but they did have a few of them.

  8. I left you a comment on your last post about how much you mean to me, so I’ll just say here that I loved that you could muster a review, I’m not sure I can today, and yet i know Dewey would come yell at all of us!

  9. *hugs* I feel the same way…she just can’t be gone.

  10. I’m glad you like the Fables series. It does seem strange to post with Dewey not around. I’ve been trying to write a post with no such luck.

  11. […] Dorkiness | avidbookreader.com | The Written World | Things Mean A Lot | Stuff as Dreams are Made on | Rhinoa’s Ramblings | A High and Hidden Place | Blue. Bold. Adventure. | The Book Zombie | […]

Leave a Reply

