It’s Time For A Giveaway!

I’ve been in the holiday mood already this year after doing a bit of Christmas shopping. Christmas is tied with Halloween for my favorite time of the year. I love the feelings of charity and giving during this season, so what better way to celebrate than to have another giveaway! I wanted to do something different this time though, so I thought long and hard and didn’t really come up with anything too creative, but it’s fun. You get to choose whatever book you want from MY Amazon wishlist. I figured, some of those poor books have been sitting on the wishlist for years and are just dying to get bought, so I’ll buy one for you! And with something like 180 books on 8 pages of wishlist, everyone should be able to find something. So here’s the rules:

1. Go visit my Amazon wishlist and let me know in the comments which book (or item really as I think there are a couple of CDs and such) you’d like to win.

2. The item has to be $30 or under. Sorry, I just can’t afford to buy Absolute Sandman Vol. 2 for anyone right now 😦

3. The item has to be in stock or a pre-release if you want to wait. No items that are out of stock or from Amazon sellers. I want to make sure that you get a quality item and I can’t guarantee that with the “used and new” listings. 

4. As is the case with all of my giveaway’s (unless I’m restricted by a publisher) the giveaway is open to the whole world! So everyone can join in.

5. Please feel free to share this with everyone on your blog!

Have fun browsing and good luck! I’ll draw the winner next Saturday, December 6th!

42 Responses

  1. Sheesh…..this is really a great giveaway!! Of course, out of the 180, I would probably love to have 160 of them!! But I’m easy. Looking for Alaska would be awesome! Thanks, Chris. I’d love to be entered!

  2. Awesome giveaway! This is the first one I’ve heard like this, so I think it’s a creative idea! I would love to be entered. Hmm,.. I think the book I would chose from your wishlist would be Looking For Alaska by John Green too.

    -Rima
    rimasbookjournal.wordpress.com

  3. […] Stuff as Dreams is having a giveaway! [ends December 5th; winner drawn on Dec 6] […]

  4. Lovely idea for a giveaway, and very kind of you, Chris! I’d love to win Tender Morsels, It’s also on my wishlist, for probably the same reasons it’s on yours 😛

  5. Steph and Rima, Great choice! I actually read Looking for Alaska but I got it from the library, lol. I loved it so much that I want to own it now and just ordered a copy finally! But I figured I’d leave it on the wishlist because a lot of people would want it for this giveaway!

    Nymeth, Another great choice! My brain totally isn’t working right now though…where was that one mentioned? I know I read about it somewhere…

  6. It was Neil Gaiman on GoodReads! He was very enthusiastic about it.

  7. What a great idea for a giveaway! I’d like to be entered to win a copy of The Willoughbys, please. I hadn’t heard about it before now, but Lemony Snicket’s review has seriously piqued my interest. 🙂 Thanks!

  8. Great idea for a giveaway! And you’ve got lots of great choices on you wishlist. I’d love to have The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

  9. Nymeth, Oh yeah! Thanks for reminding me, lol

    Jessi, That one sounds really good! I’ve been looking forward to it for awhile…don’t know why I haven’t picked it up yet.

    Teresa, Sure thing! That one sounds great, huh? I’ve read so many good reviews!

  10. Wow! How awesome. 😀 I’m plumping for The Woman in Black, and of course I’ll talk about the give away in my next post. 🙂

  11. Good luck Eva! 🙂 And thanks for posting about it in advance!

  12. Wow – hard to pick. The Shadow Year looks great. You even had a kids book on there. I love to read. Thanks for hosting this!

  13. Oh boy — we’ve actually got a fair few overlaps. But I think I will pick one that’s not on my wishlist (yet): Look Me In the Eye.

  14. It’s so hard to decide ;P

    My top 3 choices would be:

    The Compleat Death by Neil Gaiman (I have to read at least 1 of his books and I absolutely love the title to this one!)

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer (it’s been getting a lot of great reviews…I’m a sucker for a good review)

    Looking for Alaska by John Green (same with John as with Neil, I have to at least read 1 of his books! And everyone loves his books so far so I can’t go wrong with him right?)

    Yes…I am at a conflict-torn between Mary Ann and John–Neil’s book is kind of expensive, so I’ll cross that off the list =) So if by chance I win (probably won’t, terrible luck >.<) I’ll let you do the honors and decide 😀 yes, it’s the coward’s way out XD

  15. What a great idea for a giveaway! I would choose The Lightning Thief, because I’ve been meaning to read it aloud to my kids for ages now.

  16. You know what, Chris, if you moved closer to me you wouldn’t have to buy most of the books on your wish list because I own most of them already… *cough*

    I think I would probably want to read The Complete Maus, though. I was going to say the Fable series, the first one, but I seem to think that series wasn’t available in Canada last time I looked so if I buy one… it would be complicated to get the rest!

  17. Wow, such a fun giveaway. And I just don’t know!! I had to stop looking b/c I wanted most of your books. hahah

    I guess I’ll go with The Killing Circle by James Pyper (i think that’s the name…? something like it…)

    -Lauren

    lauren51990 at aol dot com

  18. Hi ! i really enjoy “choose yourself” giveaways !

    I’ve seen your wishlist and… i didn’t know what to pick…

    I think i go for the The Ghost Quartet (Marvin Kaye).

    my e-mail
    acrisalves at gmail dot com

    thanks!

  19. oh goodness Chris.. like I need another book in my tbr pile?? heh.

    well just searching your wish list made me add 2 more books to my wish list… I can’t begin to thank you for that!! *sigh*

    so you can put my name in the hat for one of those! If you draw my name I’d like 100 Cupboards (hardback/ bad eyes ya know!) Book 2 for that series comes out in February.
    I’m about to do a post on “series”.. just what I need .. another one!..

  20. You’re so creative! What a long wishlist. I added a few to my TBR list too so thanks. If I win I’d have to go with The Lace Reader. Thanks.

  21. I’d love Castle Waiting too! I don’t think my library has that one. Awesome list! Thanks for entering me!

  22. I looked over the whole list, and the book that appealed to me the most was the first on the list! I would like The Invention of Hugo Cabret.

  23. […] forget to check out my wishlist giveaway post!! Deadline to enter is Saturday December […]

  24. What a fantastic giveaway! And a very interesting selection of books on your wishlist (some of my favourite books!) but if I had to choose it would be … The Complete Maus, I’ve heard so many things about it!

  25. What a great giveaway! You have tons of fascinating books on your list, but I think I’d most like a chance to win Amano: The Complete Prints of Yoshitata Amano. I love his work.

  26. Chris, this is a really great giveaway. I have several of the same books on my wishlist! We actually have very similar tastes, which made it very difficult to select just one book. After careful consideration, though, I believe I’d love to win The Invention of Hugh Cabret.

    Thanks for having such a fun giveaway. Merry Christmas!

  27. What a great idea, Chris! I think my choice would be
    The Silmarillion. Or maybe the Hobbit. I don’t know. How could I ever choose??? Actually there were plenty of books I wanted from your list. But I tried to choose books that I *knew* I would love.

  28. Your giveaway is so creative! My choice will be The Incredible Book-Eating Boy. I’ve read it many times this year and it’s my favorite by Jeffers.

  29. i would love the hobbit illustrated edition!!

  30. I read about your giveaway on Dewey’s blog. What a kind offer.

    Were I to win, I think I’d like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I’ve read great reviews of it all over the web…

    You’ve got a great wishlist, btw. It was hard to pick which one I’d want most!

  31. What a lovely idea. My choice was the first one on the list…The Invention of Hugo Cabret. It’s been on my wish list forever.

  32. What a fun idea for a giveaway! There are quite a few in your wishlist that I’d like to read but I think I’ll go with A Fine and Private Place. It immediately went on my wishlist after reading Nymeth’s review.

  33. Looking for Alaska! I have been recently introduced to John Green. 🙂

  34. Oh my! What a very generous give-away….and I must say that your wish list made me feel like a kid in a candy store. 🙂 The book that I would absolutely love to win is The Box of Delights. What a delicious looking book! I purchased several of the other books reprinted in that style a couple of years ago, and I not only love the stories, but the old fashioned look.

    Crossing my fingers here in Seattle–this is one prize I would be giddy over winning. 🙂
    *smiles*
    Kim

  35. Would love a copy of Blueberry Girl… might even let Morgann read it when she’s old enough 😉

    I’m putting a todo flag on my calendar to check back on Saturday to see if I won… don’t want to miss this one if I get lucky!

  36. […] to have completely forgotten that I’m running a contest, but I wanted to remind everyone that my wishlist giveaway is going on still!! So enter if you haven’t yet! I’m drawing a winner this Saturday […]

  37. What a great giveaway, Chris!!!

    I’d like to put my name in for Kafka on the Shore.

  38. I LOVE this idea for a giveaway! You’ve got some great titles on there. A few of my favorites are the Tolkien’s and Bleak House, all of which I read many years ago.

    For this contest I’d love to win the Hugo Cabret book. I’ve been wanting to read it to/with my son (aka kiddo on my blog) and I think it would make a great Christmas present for him!

    Thanks for the wonderful contest. It was fun checking out your wish list!

  39. What a cool idea!

    I’d love to read (and use) The Creative Journal by Lucia Capacchione.

    It makes me happy to think you are so kind and thoughtful to offer such a fun contest!

  40. Blueberry girl by Neil Gaiman would be a wonderful little book to have.

    Thanks.

  41. I’ve had my eye on Nightlife by Rob Thurman for a while, so I’m going to go with that.

  42. Okay, okay…twist my arm. I like the looks of The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop.

Leave a Reply

