The TBR Shelf Is Crying

Yes, I realize that I didn’t post yesterday…sorry about that! I really just didn’t have much to say and I had another god awful night at work…so posting was the last thing I wanted to do. But today is much better! Why? Because 5 books made their way into my house :p My poor TBR shelf is just going to buckle any day now.

It all started when I walked into Barnes and Noble. How many of us know that phrase all too well? lol. I actually went to get a gift for someone else, which I did, but of course I couldn’t walk out without something for myself! That would be unheard of. I found many books, but left with only 2. The first was Mary Roach’s Stiff. I enjoyed Bonk so much that I wanted to read more of her work. This one is all about our bodies post-mortem. Sounds fun!Ā 

I’ve also been wanting to read more Discworld lately, so I picked up Terry Pratcett’s The Light Fantastic. I know it’s not everyone’s favorite, but I’m a freak about reading series in the order they were published and this is the second published Discworld book…so I picked it up šŸ™‚

Then I come home and there’s two packages waiting for me! The first was from Softdrink from whom I won The Reincarnationist and The Memorist by M.J. Rose. Both look excellent and I can’t wait to get started on them. The other package was from Subterranean Press. They’re my favorite publisher to get books from because I know I have a real treat when I see an envelope with their name on it. In the envelope was my very own copy of Orson Scott Card’s Stonefather, signed and all! I’ve already read the story in the Wizards anthology, but it was such a good novella that I had to own this version.Ā 

So that’s enough for one day! Anyone else get any presents in the mail today?

13 Responses

  1. Ohhh I remember Stonefather! It was one of the few I enjoyed in that book.. I thought you said he was going to incorporate that into a full length book?? Am I wrong about that????

    I just shake my head when I see my tbr books! It doesn’t help that a number of them a HUGE books too, like the complete Sherlock Holmes, and the book on John Ford! I am going to make a real effort to get the tbr pile down … way down!

  2. Oh, oh, I did, I did! In fact, I need to post about it…one thing that arrived earned you a point!

  3. Someday I’m going to read Stiff. It’s on the mental tbr list…you know, as opposed to the real-life tbr pile. I saw the author on a panel, and she discussed Bonk…in particular the scene where she and her husband are subjects of a sex study. Everyone in the audience had “OMG I can’t believe you did that” looks on their faces.

  4. Oh nice haul you got there! I loved Stiff and I’m enjoying Bonk right now.

    I’m pretty crazy about series order too – I started reading Color Of Magic but then I read somewheres that there are like a ton of different ways to read the Discworld books – with all kinds of sub-stories arcs *gah* But I think to maintain my sanity I will go with publication date order šŸ™‚

  5. A man in a cute little yellow van brought me Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy, a beautiful Pride & Prejudice spin-off book that will be released in February. It’s so pretty I opened it to read the intro, but it has to go back in line, now. Everyone has to get in line, single file, in order of arrival (but sometimes I do let one jump the queue).

  6. Not today, but this week I received The Reluctant Widow by Georgette Heyer in the mail.

  7. Sounds like a good book day. Maybe you should ask for more shelving as a holiday gift? =)

  8. IMHO, any of the Rincewind/Luggage books are worth reading. I love them!

    Lezlie

  9. Nah, I bet your TBR shelf is in fact very happy…it’s embracing the new books and chanting “one of us, one of us” šŸ˜›

    I wish I could convince you to nevermind publishing order when it comes to Discworld šŸ˜› But considering how The Colour of Magic ends I completely understand wanting to read The Light Fantastic. And after that there’s Equal Rites and Mort, which are much, much better than the first two. Plus now that you’ve read Nation you know just what Terry Pratchett is capable of, and I’m no longer afraid those first few books will give you the wrong impression.

  10. Deslily, It was a great story! He does plan on incorporating it into a full length fantasy series. It’s called Mithermages and it’s coming out in 2009! Yay! I can’t wait for that one. He’s great with fantasy! I have a number of HUGE books on my TBR shelf too. The sad thing is, I avoid them…so as I clear out the TBR shelf, the bigger volumes become more and more obvious!

    Debi, Yay!!! A point for me. THough I’m afraid that it’s just impossible for me to catch up with Nymeth or Dewey :/ So glad you got Dream Homes though! You’ll love it, I promise!

    Softdrink, Stiff looks really good! I loved Bonk…it’s one of my favorite reads of the year. Just wait til you read the rest of that one…there’s stuff even more surprising than them having sex in a tube!

    Joanne, Very cool to hear that you’re reading Bonk! It’s a great book. And I’m really looking forward to Stiff. As far as Discworld goes…I just have to read them in order :p It’s just a thing of mine.

    Bookfool, I know how that goes! Almost everytime I get a book I jump right into reading it, but then have to put it aside until it’s turn comes up. There have been a few times though that I just had to get through it!

    Other Chris, I’ve heard a lot of good stuff about that one recently! Hope you enjoy it!!

    Kylee, Oh could I ever use it!! Problem is, there’s really no more space for bookshelves :/ I’m afraid that I’ve already taken all of the available space in the house…sad, huh?

    Lezlie, I loved Rincewind in THe Color of Magic! A lot of people said that they can’t stand him, but personally, I found him to be hilarious šŸ™‚

  11. Nymeth, It may be happy but it’s groaning uncontrolably from all of the weight I’m putting on it. I know I know I know…I should read them in a different order :p But my OCD won’t let me, lol. I feel like I’ll be missing something if I read them out of publication order. But I do indeed know how great of a writer Pratchett is after Nation…It was such a wonderful book! But then again I knew he was a great writer after Good Omens.

  12. Jeff and I both got our copies of Stonefather in this past week as well. Wonderful looking books. I look forward to reading it. I didn’t get to that point in the Wizards anthology so it will be all new for me. And I am a big fan of Tom Kidd and his art on the cover and the interiors is fantastic.

  13. Carl, I love the Tom Kidd artwork too! It’s amazing. And I had no idea that you hadn’t read this one yet! You’re in for a real treat!!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

