I Lied…

Remember when I said that I was done with challenges? That I wasn’t doing them anymore? Heh…not gonna happen. I’m adopting Debi’s policy and unofficially joining challenges for now on :p That way I don’t feel so guilty when I don’t finish them. There’s 2 so far that I’m joining. The first is Annie’s What’s in a Name 2 Challenge! Here are the categories for this year:

1. A book with a “profession” in its title. Examples might include: The Book Thief, The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Historian
2. A book with a “time of day” in its title. Examples might include: Twilight, Four Past Midnight, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
3. A book with a “relative” in its title. Examples might include: Eight Cousins, My Father’s Dragon, The Daughter of Time
4. A book with a “body part” in its title. Examples might include: The Bluest Eye, Bag of Bones, The Heart of Darkness
5. A book with a “building” in its title. Examples might include: Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Little House on the Prairie, The Looming Tower
6. A book with a “medical condition” in its title. Examples might include: Insomnia, Coma, The Plague

This year, I’m doing things a little differently. Rather than picking my books ahead of time, I’m going to fill in the blanks! That way I don’t feel so committed which is my big problem with challenges.

The second challenge that I’m joining is a really fun one! It’s another “fill in the blanks” challenge for me. It’s the Countdown Challenge hosted by 3M! The goal is to read books published from 2001 through 2009, but the twist is that you have to read the number of books from each year represented by the last number in the year. Confusing sounding, eh? It’s really not that confusing. For example, 1 book from 2001, 2 books from 2002, 3 books from 2003, etc. For a total of 45 books. I’m not a big fan of classics, so this shouldn’t be hard for me as most of the books I read are recent publications. And it started on 8/8/08 and goes through 9/9/09, so I can already count some of them! Here’s what I’ve read so far:

2009:
1. TBD
2. TBD
3. TBD
4. TBD
5. TBD
6. TBD
7. TBD
8. TBD
9. TBD

2008:
1. Dream Homes by Joyce Zonana
2. Nation by Terry Pratchett
3. Madapple by Christina Meldrum
4. Veins by Lawrence Connolly
5. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
6. Mateki: The Magic Flute by Yoshitaka Amano
7. Bonk by Mary Roach
8. When Twilight Burns by Colleen Gleason

2007:
1. The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
2. The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
3. The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia
4. TBD
5. TBD
6. TBD
7. TBD

2006:
1. The Good Fairies of New York by Martin Millar
2. Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge
3. A Soul in a Bottle by Tim Powers
4. Gossamer by Lois Lowry
5. TBD
6. TBD

2005:
1. Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest
2. TBD
3. TBD
4. TBD
5. TBD

2004:
1. I’ll be Watching You by Charles de Lint
2. TBD
3. TBD
4. TBD

2003:
1. In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
2. TBD
3. TBD

2002:
1. TBD
2. TBD

2001:
1. TBD

Look at that! I already finished all of my 2008 books 🙂 So who else is joining in the fun of this one??

