A Couple of Links

As promised earlier, I still don’t really know what to write about :p But I owe another post for NaBloPoMo, so I shall give you one! I could bore you with a review of Ratatouille which I just finished watching, but you’ve undoubtedly seen it already, and yes, it’s a cute movie that made me want soup. But rather than that, I thought I’d pass along a few more links to Christmas Blogger events!

Kailana and Marg have teamed up again this year to do the Blogger Advent Calendar! It was great reading a Christmas related post a day last year, and I’m sure it will be fun again. If you haven’t signed up already, head on over and do so! I’m all signed up for December 16th and at first I didn’t know what to write about. But I think I do now. I think I’ll review my favorite Christmas books from recent years. I always love reading Christmas books around Christmas time, so that should be fun. On the slate for this year is David Sedaris’ Holidays on Ice and Orson Scott Card’s Zanna’s Gift. Looking forward to them!

One other Christmas Blogger event going on is My Friend Amy’s Buy Books for the Holidays campaign. After Book Blogger Appreciation Week, I’m shocked she’s taking on such a big undertaking, but if anyone can do it, it’s her. The reason for the campaign is that the Book publishing industry is having some trouble as of late, particularly with economic times being rough here in the U.S. So her idea is for all of us to buy books for everyone this year for Christmas! While I haven’t signed up officially because honestly, I can’t promise to buy only books for people, I’ll most certainly buy more books than usual for people this year. I’ll put out the effort to find perfect gifts for people even if it’s a challenge.

Lastly, and non-Christmas related, here’s a really cool article about Neil Gaiman’s upcoming non-fiction book on China.

5 Responses

  1. Reviews of Christmas books sounds like a great post idea! Thanks for blogging about the Advent Tour. I am looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with this year.

  2. I’ll be sure not to miss your advent post.. but that’s easy since I come here everyday!

    as for buying books for christmas presents.. though not everyone reads I do manage to buy some books every christmas for presents. I know I always give David here a B&N gift card.

  3. I have no idea what to write for the calendar this year either. Maybe another Portuguese Christmas recipe…last year’s seemed to be popular πŸ˜› Ah well, there’s still over a month to go, so something should come to me.

  4. Marg, I’m glad it sounds like a good idea because it’s the only one I can think of, lol! I’m looking forward to it too.

    Deslily, You’re one of my most reliable visitors πŸ™‚ I rarely buy books for Christmas gifts because not many people in my immediate vicinity even read :p But I’ll try my hardest!

    Nymeth, Oh yeah! Another Portuguese recipe would be awesome! I’ve been into cultural recipes lately, so I’d love that!!

  5. I have one more story to read in Holidays on Ice (I picked it up yesterday in Barnes and Noble) and I’ll have completed my first Sedaris read. I’ve since ordered every book of his on audio from the library and look forward to a lot of Sedaris in the coming weeks!

    Neil Gaiman writing non-fiction? Noooo…I want more stories!!!! I’ll of course snatch it right up but the man just doesn’t produce enough fiction to suit me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

