Whoops!

I totally screwed up NaBloPoMo by forgetting to post yesterday :p That’s ok, I’ll make up for it with two posts today! I really don’t have much to say though, so I have no idea what I’ll write in a second post. Maybe I’ll read a short book and do a review. I’m still in the middle of Ender in Exile and Lisa Williams’ Life Among the Dead. Both are very good so far, I just haven’t had the time to finish a book! But I promise reviews will eventually come for both.

Something made me very excited yesterday! Well two things actually…First and foremost, Nymeth announced the Blogger Secret Santa for this year!! I had so much fun with it last year. I got an amazing gift from Robin and gave a gift to Dark Orpheus. It was just perfect. I can’t wait to go shop this year for whoever my secret santee will be! Go check out her site to join in the fun.

Secondly, I won not one, but two books from Fizzy Thoughts! I won copies of The Reincarnationist and The Memorist which both sound excellent! I love the covers to begin with, but after her review and interview with the author, M.J. Rose, I knew that I’d really enjoy them. Thanks Jill!

And finally, I should’ve known that Eva would come through! I asked for a recipe for Falafel in my last post and Eva gave me a perfect recipe. I thought I’d share it with everyone…I’ll just copy and paste her comment as she gives excellent directions:

Anyway, falafel recipe! Here’s mine, but I’m the kind of cook who never uses precise measurements, so if you need a better one I’ll understand…
combine:
one can of chickpeas (drained!)
1/4-1/3c parsley (depends on how much you like it)
the juice from about 1/3 of a lemon
1/4c flour
2 average size garlic cloves
1/4-1/3c onion (depends on if it’s a crazy strong onion)
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 tbsp coriander

Personally, I just throw everything into a bowl and then use my immersion blender to make it into a paste. But you can also use a regular blender or a food processor: the key is to make it into a dough. At this stage, taste it to make sure it doesn’t need any extra spices…

Then, you should be heating up some oil for deep frying! I use canola oil, and I fill a sauce pan about two or three inches deep. Put it over medium heat on the oven.

Meanwhile, form the mixture into balls that are about one and a half inches in diameter. Toss a pinch of dough into the oil when you think it’s ready; if the oil starts bubbling and the dough browning, then you’re good.

I usually fry three or four at a time: it takes about seven minutes for the balls to get nice and brown on the outside. Then, I drain them on paper towels. And there you have it. )

Of course, you can’t have falafel without tahini sauce! It’s really easy to make: just mix 1/3c tahini paste with 1/3c water, lemon juice from another third of the lemon you used to make the falafel (it needs to be fresh juice, fyi) and a minced/pressed garlic clove. It’ll seperate, so if you make it ahead of time you’ll have to just re-stir it.

10 Responses

  1. well now.. aren’t you the lucky one! you win 2 books at once! dang!

    oh man… unreal that it’s going to be xmas time already!!…holidays just come and go way to fast!

    I did notice that you hadn’t posted yesterday.. i didn’t want to be the one to burst your bubble ..

  2. Shit…any idea how long I’m going to be in the doghouse if my salivating shorts out Rich’s laptop here?!! So, should I blame you for sharing, or Eva for giving it to you to start with?

  3. That recipe sounds yummi, have to try it!!

  4. Deslily, I am indeed lucky! Extremely lucky that the first thing I win in awhile is not one, but TWO books! I can’t believe that Christmas is so close either…and it keeps getting closer faster! You should’ve burst my bubble yesterday by the way :p Maybe I would’ve actually posted!

    Debi, Oh no! Please don’t drool on the one computer left!! LOL…but it is a fantastic recipe…try it out!

    Valentina, You really should try it…it’s great!

  5. i’m glad to hear you’re enjoying ender!

    and you won 2 books – how cool! 😀

    ah, i’m so glad nymeth is doing the christmas blogger exchange again… i was wondering if she was going to… it was so cool last year.

  6. I’m very glad to have you join the swap again, Chris 😀

    And congrats on your two new books!

  7. JP, It’s fantastic so far! I wish there were a new Ender book every year 😦 But at least I get some OSC at least once a year! The blogger exchange really was great…I can’t wait for this round!

    Nymeth, Glad to be a part of it too! THanks!

  8. I vouch for Chris being a great Santa!

  9. Awesome that you’re doing NaBloPoMo! I signed up, was ready to go…I started, then realized it was already halfway through the month, so I had missed 15 days. Haha.

    Ah well, I wish you luck with it!

  10. Glad the recipe worked out!! 😀

Leave a Reply

