Whoops!

I totally screwed up NaBloPoMo by forgetting to post yesterday :p That’s ok, I’ll make up for it with two posts today! I really don’t have much to say though, so I have no idea what I’ll write in a second post. Maybe I’ll read a short book and do a review. I’m still in the middle of Ender in Exile and Lisa Williams’ Life Among the Dead. Both are very good so far, I just haven’t had the time to finish a book! But I promise reviews will eventually come for both.

Something made me very excited yesterday! Well two things actually…First and foremost, Nymeth announced the Blogger Secret Santa for this year!! I had so much fun with it last year. I got an amazing gift from Robin and gave a gift to Dark Orpheus. It was just perfect. I can’t wait to go shop this year for whoever my secret santee will be! Go check out her site to join in the fun.

Secondly, I won not one, but two books from Fizzy Thoughts! I won copies of The Reincarnationist and The Memorist which both sound excellent! I love the covers to begin with, but after her review and interview with the author, M.J. Rose, I knew that I’d really enjoy them. Thanks Jill!

And finally, I should’ve known that Eva would come through! I asked for a recipe for Falafel in my last post and Eva gave me a perfect recipe. I thought I’d share it with everyone…I’ll just copy and paste her comment as she gives excellent directions:

Anyway, falafel recipe! Here’s mine, but I’m the kind of cook who never uses precise measurements, so if you need a better one I’ll understand…
combine:
one can of chickpeas (drained!)
1/4-1/3c parsley (depends on how much you like it)
the juice from about 1/3 of a lemon
1/4c flour
2 average size garlic cloves
1/4-1/3c onion (depends on if it’s a crazy strong onion)
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 tbsp coriander

Personally, I just throw everything into a bowl and then use my immersion blender to make it into a paste. But you can also use a regular blender or a food processor: the key is to make it into a dough. At this stage, taste it to make sure it doesn’t need any extra spices…

Then, you should be heating up some oil for deep frying! I use canola oil, and I fill a sauce pan about two or three inches deep. Put it over medium heat on the oven.

Meanwhile, form the mixture into balls that are about one and a half inches in diameter. Toss a pinch of dough into the oil when you think it’s ready; if the oil starts bubbling and the dough browning, then you’re good.

I usually fry three or four at a time: it takes about seven minutes for the balls to get nice and brown on the outside. Then, I drain them on paper towels. And there you have it. )

Of course, you can’t have falafel without tahini sauce! It’s really easy to make: just mix 1/3c tahini paste with 1/3c water, lemon juice from another third of the lemon you used to make the falafel (it needs to be fresh juice, fyi) and a minced/pressed garlic clove. It’ll seperate, so if you make it ahead of time you’ll have to just re-stir it.

