I Have Nothing Today

My mind is drawing a complete blank on what to blog about today, so I’ll just give you some links:

1. I’ve been informed by TOR that Marvel’s adaptation of Ender’s Game is available online for free for the month of November. The first issue that is. This makes me extremely happy as it’s been sold out everywhere that I’ve gone to look for it including online comic book stores. I’ll just pick it up when it comes out in trade paperback form. For now though, here’s the link.

2. Carl has posted an amazing interview with Lisa Snellings who is one of my favorite modern artists. Go check it out and while you’re there leave a comment discussing the art to be entered for a copy of Strange Roads, her collaboration with Peter Beagle or a Neil Gaiman rat!

3. Sad news…Michael Crichton has died of cancer. I remember reading Jurassic Park at a younger age, around the same time that the movie came out and thought it was just an incredible book. Since then, I haven’t read much of his, but needless to say, he’s been an extremely influential author. He’ll be missed.

4. Head on over to Dewey’s site to be entered into a drawing of 5 holiday themed books from Hatchette! For a second entry, you can leave a link back to one of your Weekly Geeks, Read-a-Thon, or Carnival posts just like this! See how easy that is. Then you can also link to three of your favorite bloggers and explain why they’re your favorites! This one’s so hard for me and please don’t get your feelings hurt if I didn’t name you. The truth is, I have so many favorite bloggers and it’s nearly impossible to pick just three! But here’s three that I’ve loved for a long time:

Nymeth @ Things Mean A Lot: What’s not to love about Nymeth! She’s an absolutely amazing person, writes some of the most incredible reviews I’ve read (though my wishlist and TBR shelves hate her), she’s creative, intelligent, and just a warm, kind, genuine person. Check her out if you haven’t already.

Debi @ Nothing of Importance: I hate her blog name. She’s one of the most important bloggers out there to me. Debi is somebody that I’ve always said I would love to just sit down with her and have a cup of coffee. She’s such a welcoming person, writes incredibly entertaining reviews with a personal touch, and I just love reading about her family. I could read her posts all day!

Deslily @ Here, There, and Everywhere: Pat aka Deslily was the first blogger that I’ve ever gotten to know through email conversations as well as blogging and she’s such a kindred spirit. In fact, I’ve become her adopted son :p She’s done some of the most amazing things with her life, written a wonderful fantasy trilogy that I had the honor to read that was great, and I can always count on her for a good smile.

So there it is! I should most definitely win that box of books now with all of those entries :p

6 Responses

  1. you must have posted this just before midnight to get it up before Wednesday was over! lol.. you won at nano last year I expect you to post 30 times this month!!! (mother has spoken! lol) I bet you are doing this because you want the David Sedaris book! lol

    gads I cannot believe we are only 3 weeks until Thanksgiving…

  2. Ahhh man…you know you just totally made my morning, don’t you?!! Yeah right, how the hell am I kidding…you just made my month!!! Not only did one of my favorite people just say incredibly kind things about me, but he grouped with Nymeth and Deslily…that alone is an amazing compliment! (But as for my blog name…well, I’m still pretty sure it’s accurate!)

  3. Hi. I just tagged you for a bookish meme!

  4. Awww Chris. I just got home in a crappy mood after an extremely tiresome day, and then I see this. Needless to say, I am no longer in a crappy mood 😀 Thank you so much for your kind words, and right back at you! And I’m honoured to be grouped with Debi and Deslily. They are two wonderful bloggers!

    That’s too bad about Michael Crichton…I’ve never read him, but like you said he was very influential.

    I still haven’t read the interview at Carl’s! I must do that right now!

  5. Carl’s interview with Lisa is fabulous. Loved every word. Need to find a moment to leave a comment on that one…

    I was really saddened when I heard the news this morning about Michael Crichton. I very much enjoyed his work when I was younger, particularly Congo.

    All three blogs you mentioned are fantastic, love them all. 🙂

  6. Deslily, I did post it right before midnight :p I did the same thing again tonight at 11:33. It’s rough posting with work every night until 11! And yes, I did do this post because of Dewey’s giveaway, but it doesn’t mean it isn’t true! Love ya Pat 🙂

    Debi, Well I’m glad I made your day 😀 And we’ll just have to agree to disagree on your blog name 😉 Though honestly, I can’t picture your blog named anything else…it’s very important to me though!

    Jeane, Thanks!! I liked this one a lot…just answered it 🙂

    Nymeth, I’m sorry you had a crappy day 😦 I hope that it got better! You’d probably actually like some of Michael Crichton’s stuff! His Jurassic Park books are very cool and I think back on them fondly. Hope you made it over to Carl’s! It’s a great interview. And Neil linked to it!

    Quix, Wasn’t it an incredible interview?? I was sad about Crichton too. I haven’t read Congo, but I’ve liked what I’ve read. It seems like so many authors are passing away these days…it’s quite sad.

Leave a Reply

