Saturday, A Miscellany

I’m feeling guilty today. I’m wearing my 2008 NaNoWriMo “author” shirt but have decided not to participate this year. I really just don’t have the time this year, but I’ll be enjoying following everyone else’s progress. I have decided to participate in something this month though…I’m going to do NaBloPoMo….so expect posts from me every day this month! Hopefully I can stick to that at least.

I visited the bookstore today to buy all the books that I was coveting in my last post! I’m really excited about all of them. I picked up Dream Homes: From Cairo to Katrina, an Exile’s Journey by Joyce Zonana, my old favorite teacher from UNO; Paper Towns by John Greene (yay!); The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewki; and Life Among the Dead by Lisa Williams, which is a really odd choice for me seeing as she has a show on Lifetime, but I think she’s super cool.

October was the best reading month I’ve had in a looooong time. For some reason this year has just been bad for me. But I managed to read 9 books for a total of 1759 pages. The page number isn’t that impressive, but I did read 9 books! They were:

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Veins by Lawrence Connoly
Madapple by Christina Meldrum
The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
Nation by Terry Pratchett
In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge
The Thief of Always by Clive Barker

You can read my reviews for all of the books by clicking on the links in my “2008 Books Read” page. I still owe full reviews on the 24 hour read-a-thon books, but you can read my initial thoughts by clicking on the links. Hopefully November is as productive of a month as I’d really like to at least tie my reading totals from last year.

Many of you asked what my favorite reads from RIP III were. Sorry I didn’t post that, my brain isn’t functioning really well with this cold that won’t go away. But I’d have to say that my favorites were The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge, Madapple by Christina Meldrum, and In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami. All excellent reads and you should go read them now!

We all need to convince Nymeth to open up an Etsy Store after this post!

And finally, to end this long post, Trish is planning a book blogger get together! How cool would this be! I’d really love to go because I’ve been dying to meet everyone, but we’ll see how the finances are :/

13 Responses

  1. I’m having a great reading month, too! I’ve had so many amazing books after a long stretch of feeling like most of what I was reading was blah.

    No need to feel guilty! You raised money so those kids could write! FEEL PROUD!

    Oooh, off to check out this blogger get-together!

  2. blogging every day? wow! that will be like the old days when I first met you! lol lol..

  3. That’s funny. I’m sitting here feeling guilty because I just don’t have any interest in writing, whatsoever. I’ve got a new lens, so we went to the zoo to play with it, instead. Check out my blog to see the photo I just cheezburgered.

    9 books is nothing to sneeze at, Chris. Be happy. 🙂

  4. Chris –

    You sure did have a good month reading! Good for you. I think I finished one whole book…

    Sorry you’re not taking part in NANO again this year but good luck with the daily blogging. I’ve been trying to do that for months and finally did it this month… but the suggested topic was politics. Not exactly a difficult topic for me over at my An Angry American blog.

    cjh

  5. Dewey, I just read your October totals post and you read some awesome books! Especially in the YA category. I can’t wait to read Paper Towns…I’m really excited about it. I fell in love with John Green’s writing after Looking for Alaska. The blogger convention sounds awesome!

    Deslily, I’m hoping so! I miss blogging so much. I’m hoping that I’ll get a computer soon so that I have easier access to blogging. If I don’t have one by tax rebate time, I’m definitely getting one then!

    Bookfool, Ah, don’t feel guilty :p I feel the same way. I couldn’t write anything if I tried right now. I’ve been so mentally exhausted lately..A new lens! Yay! that’s exciting. Off to check out your blog!

    CJ, Hey! I’ve had months where I’ve only finished one book too…don’t feel bad 😉 I just don’t have it in me to do NaNo this year…I take it you’re up for the challenge, eh?

  6. Good month! NaBloPoMo (wow, try spelling that out ten times) sounds fun but I don’t think I could take the pressure! I’ve been blogging way to much the last couple of months and really need to scale back and find a new balance in my life. Good luck!

  7. oooh, neat! Hadn’t heard of this. Will join and see you there. And will be reading your blog definitely. -C

  8. That is mighty fine pile of books for October! For whatever reason, my October totals were pathetic! And I’m afraid the rest of the year isn’t going to be much better. 😦

  9. Oops…that was me above.

  10. How exciting that you’re doing NaBloPoMo! I look forward to a daily post from you 😀

    And oooh, new books! I want Paper Towns too. I’ve seen such great reviews so far. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

    About Etsy: I thought about it, but I think I need to practice a bit more first. It doesn’t show in the pictures, but those first bookmarks are too full of little imperfections for me to feel comfortable putting them on etsy 😛

  11. Great reading month indeed! 9 books is nothing to laugh at. A lot of people don’t even manage 9 books in a year – so it’s good.

    Yesterday I just remembered it’s NaWriMo and I thought of you immediately – wondered if you’re doing it this year. Too bad about the lack of free time this year, but that could also be a good thing. It means other things are coming together in your life too.

  12. Natasha, I totally understand that! Blogging can indeed take over your life if you let it, lol…it can become a full time job!

    Carole, Hey!! Good to hear from you. Which blog are you going to be blogging on for NaBloPoMo?? I’ll follow you around too 🙂

    Debi, AKA Annie :p I thought your October totals were good! You read a lot for the RIP Challenge and you also fit in a few others, didn’t you? I think the rest of my year will be pretty bad too, but we’ll see!

    Nymeth, I’m excited about daily posting! Should be fun 🙂 I can’t wait to see what I think of Paper Towns either, lol. Should be a really good read. And I don’t think your bookmarks need any work at all! Little imperfections are what make them so special. In fact, you could name your Etsy store “little imperfections” 🙂

    Dark Orpheus, I can’t imagine not even reading 9 books in a year, but sadly, some people don’t even come close to that 😦 I thought of you too when I started NaNoWriMo! that’s funny 🙂 Are you participating?

  13. Well I certainly hope you can make it! In the meantime, I’ll work on planning it. 😉

Leave a Reply

