The Day After

So I survived the first 24 hour Read-a-Thon for me and I have to say that I had so much fun doing it. A huge, huge thanks to Dewey and all of her helpers for putting this together. And another big thanks to everyone who stopped by my blog during the read-a-thon to cheer me on. You guys are awesome! I didn’t quite make it the whole 24 hours :/ I gave up out of sheer exhaustion at 5 in the morning which is 22 hours in. But I did accomplish my goal of reading 1000 pages! In fact, I read 1003 πŸ˜‰ So I’ll be donating $100 to NaNoWriMo and a mega thanks and a big hug to Softdrink who also agreed to match me up to $100! That’s incredible πŸ˜€

So what did I do yesterday? I woke up at 5:30 in the morning by accident, I posted my 500th post to Stuff as Dreams are Made on, I read for a good portion of the day in my favorite reading spot, I took a short nap and then hit up Starbucks for a Pumpkin Spice Latte, I made a top 10 list and assumed that some people are indeed not offended by murder :p (and had the best laugh from Debi in the comments), I sang some Tori Amos, and then I went to bed. Oh yeah…and I read 4 (almost 5, ten pages left of The Thief of Always) books and a total of 1003 pages…the most I’ve EVER read in a day. Days don’t happen like that too often and I had so much fun!

Now for the closing survey:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Definitely hours 20-22…I had to just pass out after hour 21 :/

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami for sure! That one just flew by and it was such a thrilling read. Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge was really great too! I also loved Nation, but it’s a bit long for this.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not a one! I really can’t imagine it being any better.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The sense of community throughout the blogosphere, All of the great updates and mini-challenges on Dewey’s site. The whole thing was just a blast.

5. How many books did you read? Completed 4 and almost finished a fifth (all but 10 pages)

6. What were the names of the books you read? Nation by Terry Pratchett, In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge, and The Thief of Always by Clive Barker.

7. Which book did you enjoy most? Ooooh, I really can’t pick, honestly. It’s a tie between Nation, In the Miso Soup, and Dark Harvest.

8. Which did you enjoy least? I loved The Little Prince, but for some reason it just wasn’t right for the read-a-thon…it just doesn’t stand out. Don’t be mad at me Dewey!

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Wasn’t a cheerleader but you guys were AMAZING!

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’m definitely in next time and I’ll be a reader again πŸ™‚

17 Responses

  1. Great minds must be thinking alike…because I just finished making my donation!

    Thanks for thinking of such a great charity…and for inspiring me to donate. I’m glad you made it to 1000 pages. What an accomplishment! Give yourself a pat on the back from me. πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats!!! I’m so sad I didn’t get to do it this time, but it sounds like everyone had a ton of fun, which is good! πŸ˜€

  3. hey congratulations!

    Like you, I had fun in this Read-A-Thon. πŸ™‚

    I finished 5 books in total for this event and I hope to participate for the 2nd time next year. πŸ™‚

  4. It was fun, was it not?

    You read some good books!

  5. Softdrink, Yippee! Thanks so much for sponsoring me again! We just helped almost 300 kids do NaNoWriMo this year!! How awesome is that??

    Eva, I missed you so much during the read-a-thon! Hopefully you can participate in the next one if things quiet down some. I kept thinking….where’s Eva? lol…

    Ivan Girl, Thanks! That’s awesome that you got 5 books read! Wasn’t it great?

    Gautami, It was incredible! I really enjoyed all the books that I read. I feel like I picked just the right ones

  6. Don’t you feel a great sense of accomplishment the next day? i do!
    i wish I could do this more often. I loved the sharing part, knowing that people were doing it around the world and were reading each other’s posts in the meantime. It really was a great boost.
    You really read a lot.!!!

  7. Congratulations, Chris! You did an amazing job! And how cool that Softdrink matched your donation!

    I agree, the cheerleaders were great…both the official and the unofficial!

    I can understand what you mean about Nation being too long for the read-a-thon. I think next time, I’m finally going to learn to read only very short books. It feels so good to actually finish a book, seems to give you an added boost of energy to keep going.

    So glad you could you join in this time…it was such fun!!!

  8. Congrats Chris on reaching your goal! And raising the money for the charity! Awesome job!!
    I’m so glad you enjoyed In the Miso Soup! I’m looking forward to your review.

  9. Congrats Chris, glad you had fun and reached a great target.

    Now, if you can write at the same rate you read, NaNoWriMo itself will be a doddle! πŸ˜€

  10. I’m so glad you were able to join, Chris. Having you around made it even more fun πŸ˜€ I had a great time too, and I’m already looking forward to the next one.

    And congrats on reaching your goal! You picked a great cause to donate to.

  11. Wow, that’s tons of pages that you read! Congrats! It’s so cool that you’re donating to NaNoWriMo. Now I’ll have to seriously consider participating. David Sedaris was in my mailbox yesterday. Thank you!

  12. Congrats on your success, Chris. I’ll match you, too. Nano is close to my heart. BTW, I peeked in and I just loved that photo of you in your new green shirt. Too cute!

  13. looking forward for more information about this. thanks for sharing. Eugene

  14. Chartroose, Glad it arrived safe!!! Enjoy it, I know you’ll love it

    Bookfool, That’s awesome! Thanks so much πŸ˜€ I’m so excited, with your donation too, that’s $300! I like to imagine that it’s all going to the young readers program and if all of our donations went there it would help sponsor 420 kids now to write books! Just imagine that we helped 420 novels come to be πŸ™‚

    Thanks everyone for the congrats!

  15. I kept thinking where’s Eva, too! She had such energy the first two times and kept everyone encouraged. I even told someone… Nymeth? that I missed Eva.

    Glad you had fun.

  16. Congratulations on surviving the Readathon!

  17. […] second entry, you can leave a link back to one of your Weekly Geeks, Read-a-Thon, or Carnival posts just like this! See how easy that is. Then you can also link to three of your favorite bloggers and explain why […]

Leave a Reply

