Read-a-Thon Update #8

Currently Reading: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Total pages read since last update:95
Total pages read cumulative:584
Total books read:2 – Nation by Terry Pratchett, In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
Time spent reading: 1 hour 45 minutes

Total time spent reading: 10 hours 11 minutes
Caffeinated drinks consumed:5
Money going to NaNoWriMo from me: $58.40!

Just finished In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami and it was one hell of a ride! If you’re offended by sex, murder, or the combination of the two, then this book probably isn’t for you. I liked it though. Extremely disturbing to the point where I started wondering how people even come up with this stuff. It’s about a young man named Kenji who works as a tour guide to the sex districts of Japan. He is hired by an American man who has come to Japan looking for a thrill. Kenji slowly begins to learn though that there is something strange about Frank, his customer. He is at times an amiable person, but at times he’s dead cold…both physically and emotionally. If you’re looking for a book that will fly by and thrill you, then this is the one. And it counts for the Japanese Reading Challenge for me!

And my top ten list for Fizzy Thoughts mini-challenge:

Top Ten Ways To Keep Your Eyes Pried Open During the Readathon:

1. Caffeine consumption in very large amounts (various types of caffeinated beverages a plus)

2. Get in the car and drive around!

3. Run around in your yard and don’t worry what the neighbors think.

4. Change places a lot.

5. Go ahead and just give in and take a damn nap!

6. Stuff your face with some food for a little while!

7. Don’t read the tiny print books.

8. Don’t read the fat books!

9. Take a shower!

10. And once again, PLENTY OF CAFFEINATED BEVERAGES!

7 Responses

  1. Great list! You sound well-caffeinated. 😉

  2. Great list! Congrats on finishing In the Miso Soup!

  3. Funny list! I love your reviews. You are doing great- caffeine must be doing it’s job 😀
    Icedream- your equally caffeinated cheerleader

  4. I keep catching sight of In the Miso Soup at both the library and my favourite bookstore, but I hadn’t heard too much about it. Your rave reviews have made me think I’ve gotta check it out.

    Are you enjoying The Little Prince so far? I’d considered reading it, but decided to stick with new-to-me books instead of rereads.

  5. If you’re offended by murder? Sorry, but that just totally cracked me up! Maybe I’m just getting giddy…though it’s really way too early for that, isn’t it? Anyway, I think I’d really like that book…to the wish list it goes.

  6. I’ll be using some of these very soon. I’m getting tired!

  7. Hmm I walked around the yard quite a bit today while reading a book and throwing tennis balls for the dog – wonder what the neighbors think? 🙂

Leave a Reply

