Read-A-Thon Update #5

Currently Reading: In The Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami

Total pages read since last update:63
Total pages read cumulative:367
Total books read:1 – Nation by Terry Pratchett
Time spent reading:1 hour 9 minutes
Total Time Spent Reading: 6 hours 26 minutes
Caffeinated drinks consumed:2
Money going to NaNoWriMo from me:$36.70

Here’s me reading in my favorite little reading place. The weather has been super nice today if not a little chilly. Perfect Read-a-thon weather.

So I’ve finished my first book which was Nation by Terry Pratchett and it was an amazing book! So much better than the other Pratchett I’ve read, The Color of Magic. Nation tells the story of a small island called “The Nation” by the locals that is wiped away by a giant wave. A young boy named Mau is seemingly the only survivor and it is left to him to bury the dead and continue the traditions of the nation. And I don’t want to say any more than that because I don’t want to give the whole book away. It’s all a wonderful surprise just waiting to be read.

Pratchett’s writing is heartwarming, tragic, and uplifting. I went from periods of sadness to periods of outright laughter. And I love the character of Mau. Just perfect. If this one’s on your read-a-thon list, give it a go…you’ll love it.

Now on to In the Miso Soup for a total change of pace! But first….a hamburger!

8 Responses

  1. You’re wearing the shirt! That’s totally awesome 😀

    And I’m so so glad you loved Nation! Mau was great, wasn’t he? And Daphne, and everyone, really, even the Parrot. It really doesn’t compare to The Colour of Magic, and now you know the real reason why I adore Terry Pratchett!

    And wasn’t it fantastic how it managed to be both heartbreaking and tragic and warm and uplifting? He’s a genius.

    Enjoy your burger! I’m about to grab something to eat as well.

  2. ack! I wish I could read outside! It’s WAY too cold here.
    goodluck with your reading 🙂

  3. Nice shirt! I haven’t read Nation, but I’ve read a few of Pratchett’s Discworld novels. Good Omens is my favorite by him, though, probably because he co-wrote it with Neil Gaiman. 🙂
    Happy reading!

  4. I love the shirt and the photo !! I saved it to my computer!! (a mother has to have photo’s now and then!)

    Glad you enjoyed your first book so much! and are having so much fun!.. the hamburger sounds good! have a great rest of the day/ evening reading baby boy!

  5. Love the shirt! Congratulations on finishing Nation…hope the next book is just as good.

  6. Looks like a fabulous spot for reading!

    WooHoo…one book down! I might just have to grab Nation. But I think I need something that won’t be such an emotional read first…I just finished The Graveyard Book, and I’m totally cried out for the moment.

  7. Love your shirt! Congrats on finishing your first book!

  8. […] Stuff as Dreams are Made on […]

Leave a Reply

