Almost Time!!

Who’s ready to read for 24 hours?? I am! I ended up with the day off of work after all…sort of. My boss was making me work on the day that I had requested off, so I went in to work this morning only to find that we had no patients coming in and were overstaffed. WTF? So I ended up leaving and saying I’d stay on call if they needed me by some miracle. So I get to rest up before the read-a-thon…thank God! And what might I be reading in the read-a-thon you ask? Here’s the pile:

1. In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
2. The Thief of Always by Clive Barker (an old favorite)
3. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
4. The Good Fairies of New York by Martin Millar
5. Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge (For Carl’s Mini-Challenge)
6. Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix
7. Nation by Terry Pratchett
8. Fables V.2 Animal Farm by Bill Willingham

Also, I gave up on Tales of Moonlight and Rain halfway through after reading a couple of the short stories. They’re just not my thing and I wasn’t feeling it. So is life…I’m now reading The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy after Bookfool’s recommendation and it is just amazing. More to come on that later.

Oooh, and one last thing. I may be too late for this, but I think you have some time. Head on over to Dewey’s to enter for a chance to win an amazing set of spooky books!

Edit to add: The wonderful Softdrink told me that she’ll match my donation up to $100! Or 1000 pages read. How cool is that! You rock Softdrink!!

13 Responses

  1. We’ve got a bit of overlap in our piles. πŸ™‚ Of course, as slowly as I read, who knows what I’ll actually get to. Glad things worked out in the end…the last thing you needed was to start out the read-a-thon already exhausted, huh? Now the only trick is not going crazy with anticipation!

  2. I’m hoping to read The Secret Lives of People in Love during the read-a-thon, or at least start on some of the stories. Have fun with In the Miso Soup if you read it. It’s quite violent and shocking but I enjoyed it in a twisted way!

  3. Glad you have a day of rest!! I know you will have fun with your read a thon ! meanwhile I have been working my butt off on my blog uploading and replacing photo’s.. I’m up to Dec. 2007.. I might actually make it in time before the month ends, but I am really sick of doing it lol.. I am forcing myself at this point…

    I’m not a fast reader anyway.. and my eyes hurt and water after enough time so I could never do that anyway… I hope you all have a blast! I know you will !

  4. Debi, We do indeed have some overlap! It’s going to be so much fun!!! I can’t wait for tomorrow. And I’m so glad I won’t have to work all day…but you’re right, the anticipation may keep me up!

    Tanabata, You will LOVE The Secret Lives of People in Love, I’m sure of it. It’s an incredible book so far. Really excited about In The Miso Soup. I love violent and shocking books, lol.

    Deslily, So am I! Damn, you’re really making some progress on updating the pics, huh? It must be driving you mad though, lol. I can imagine how sick you are of doing it. I’m not a fast reader either, but I think this will be fun. Will be totally embarassing if I only get one book read, lol. Come cheer me on tomorrow throughout the day!

  5. Of course I will !! What are mothers for anyway? lol..

    ohhh you have no idea how sick I am of seeing the html for every single post I’ve ever done!!! Barfing comes to mind though!

  6. I love your book pile so much I want to hug it πŸ˜€ I hope you manage to get lots of reading done! And it’s great that you had the day off today after all.

    That’s too bad about Tales of Moonlight and Rain…I haven’t read it, but it’s on my wishlist. Sometimes a book just doesn’t work for us and there’s nothing that can be done.

  7. I got the good fairies of new york for my birthday…looks realy good. hope you enjoy it and the readathon!

  8. I’m so excited!can’t wait to just lie on the bed/couch and read….shouldn’t feel like a challenge at all!
    I’m reading Nation too and really looking forward to it:)

  9. Woohoo! Great stack you have there. I haven’t read Martin Millar, but I have Lonely Werewolf Girl on my stacks around here somewhere. I also have Nation on my Read-a-Thon pile.

    And I hope you enjoy The Secret Lives of People in Love! I chose it for our Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge because I loved it so much when I read it last year.

  10. Softdrink is also one of our biggest prize donors for the readathon!

  11. I wish I could join in but I have a busy day of child entertaining. My husband has a golfing thing he had planned for months. I’ll squeeze in reading where I can just to be in the spirit.

  12. Nymeth, I’ve been known to hug books :p I hope I get lots of reading done too! I’m not a fast reader, but we’ll see what happens.

    Mariel, Thanks! I’m sure I’ll have loads of fun doing the readathon!

    Valentina, Me too! It really doesn’t feel like a challenge. It’s just a day of enjoyment πŸ™‚

    Andi, Oooh, I heard Lonely Werewolf Girl is great too. Nymeth just reviewed it and it sounds awesome. I LOVED The Secret Lives…just put my review up and I didn’t even know how to describe it!

    Dew, Well softdrink just rocks!! Seriously, that’s so great!

    Other Chris, 😦 That’s sad, but I hope that you have a good day! That’s what I did last year…just squeezed in reading whenever I could.

  13. Have fun Chris! I’ll be thinking of all the fun everybody is having. I’m feeling sad but also happy because tomorrow is our awesome book sale at the library. Yay!

Leave a Reply

