Lazy, Lazy Sunday and Weekly Geeks #20

I’ve done a whole lot of nothing today. Well that’s not entirely true…I got coffee and went uptown for a little while, but aside from that I’ve done pretty much nothing but watch football and horror movies today. I love October 🙂 Football and horror movies…there’s only one time a year when you get that combo. The reason for doing nothing today is because I went to a “bounce party” last night. What is that you might ask?

Well, we have a favorite bar that we go to called The Half Moon. It’s a cozy little place that looks like it could fall down, but the people who go there are all really cool and everyone gets to know each other eventually. They have an amazing jukebox with radiohead, the cure, outkast, elvis, johnny cash, U2 and some other fun stuff. But once every 2 months or so they throw a bounce party. For the bounce party they bring in a DJ who spins nothing but old school rap. I’ve never experienced this, so I went and had waaaaay too much fun, hence the staying in bed all day. Yes I was extremely out of my element and was told how white I looked all night, but that’s the joy of new things :p

I think I shall go finish reading Veins now. I didn’t know how I’d feel when I started this one, but I’m really enjoying it and it’s one of those books that’s just really hard to put down. Lawrence Connolly sent me a copy and I’m glad that I won’t have to disappoint him in my review of his work! Back soon with the review…

It’s already Weekly Geeks number 20! Feels like WG just started! This week Dewey is asking us to ask our readers to compile their own top 10 list of books read that were published in 2008. She wants a really big pool so we can get an accurate depiction of what the best books were when we all vote. So if you’re not a Weekly Geek or haven’t done this already, please blog about your favorite 2008 books and post them on the Mr. Linky in Weekly Geeks #19.

And once again, if you want to see my top 13 books published in 2008, check out this post where you can also enter to win one of them of your choosing. The drawing is coming up soon, so get your comment in by October 7th!

7 Responses

  1. Hope you recover by tomorrow! hehe :p

    Have you seen El Orfanato yet? I saw it in theaters, but my roomie tonight said that she really was in the mood for a scary movie, so we piled in the car and went to redbox to go get it. And if you haven’t seen it, you totally should!

  2. Party hardy eh baby boy?! lol we all need to break loose ocassionally. I hope you survived this one ok by now …

  3. The Orphange rocks, Eva! I second your opinion, this definitely should be seen and seen often! 🙂

    Kudos to you for being adventurous Chris! Rap certainly isn’t my favorite music but like many other genres of music there is still a lot of rap that I do actually enjoy. The jukebox at that place sounds fantastic! There is a little hole in the wall bar in Tulsa like that with a couple of pool tables that is one of the few things, besides good friends, that I miss about Tulsa. We used to head there Fridays after working the night shift for a few pints of Guiness and some pool.

    Football and scary movies are a perfect combination!!! You are so right.

  4. A bounce party, eh? Glad you had fun 😀 And doing a whole lot of nothing sounds like a perfect way to spend a sunday.

    I meant to tell you and Carl that I saw The Orphanage this past summer and I loved it! And even though it’s only been a couple of months I’m already considering watching it again. Perfect movie for this time of year. Speaking of orphanages, I also want to see if I can finally get my hands on del Toro’s The Devil’s Backbone. Has anyone seen that one?

  5. Well, football and horror movies certainly sounds like good way to spend a day of recovery. 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better today!

  6. Eva, I absolutely LOVE The Orphanage. It’s an amazing movie…one of my favorites that I’ve seen in the theaters this year. Great choice for a movie night!

    Deslily, Indeed we do! I did manage to fully recover 😉 Thanks, lol!

    Carl, I’m the same way…rap is totally not my thing, but there are the occasional songs that I enjoy and I have to say that the Bounce Party was fun! the bar in Tulsa sounds exactly like The Half Moon! You would love it! If you ever come down here, I’ll take you out there 😉

    Nymeth, Yeah, a bounce party, lol! The Devil’s Backbone is absolutely amazing! I’m surprised I’ve never talked about it on this blog. Certainly a must see…you’ll love it!

    Debi, So good to see you back!!!! I’m feeling much better today, thank you 🙂

  7. ah… i love these “this is what i’m doing” posts!

    that party sounded like a lot of fun, and the jukebox they have there is super cool!

    i love sundays like that. i try and make most sundays like the one you just had – regardless if i’ve been bouncing the night before or not.

Leave a Reply

