blah…

Sometimes you just have to declare a day as complete shit. I got a call last night from my dad saying that his foot was swollen and his left leg was numb. So it was back to the emergency room again where it was declared that he had mild right side heart failure. More heart problems. They ended up sending him home at 8:00 this morning with Potassium and Lasiks and now he’s just resting and will have to go back to the cardiologist. When does it ever end with this? I know for sure that my dad needs to start taking better care of himself if he wants to get better, but it’s so hard (near impossible) to force someone into caring about their health. I’m not going to get into it much on here, but something needs to change.

So I slept for a few hours and then went to the bookstore in search of making me feel better. I wanted Terry Pratchett’s Nation, The Ghost Quartet which has a new OSC story in it, The second Cherie Priest Eden Moore book, a John Green book (just any one aside from Looking for Alaska which I’ve already read) and hopefully an early copy of The Graveyard Book (knew that one wasn’t going to happen). Borders didn’t have a single one of those books so I went to B&N which also didn’t have a single one of those. I was pissed. I did find out though that Nation isn’t released until tomorrow, so I’ll get that when I get The Graveyard Book.

Then I got a call from work and was reprimanded for something that I didn’t even know was not done correctly because it’s never been explained to me. Normally this wouldn’t bother me at all and I’d let it roll of my back, but today was just not the day to hear that.

So I’m feeling sorry for myself today and being a bit pissy. I think I’m going to do a BAFAB giveaway, because that always makes me happy, so stay tuned for a book on here that will be up for grabs. I haven’t decided what it will be yet.

18 Responses

  1. I’m really sorry to hear about your dad, Chris. I really hope he gets better. And I know what you mean about it being impossible to force someone to take better care of themselves. I’ve been bugging my parents to quit smoking, or to at least smoke less, for years with no luck.

    And I’m sorry about Nation! I keep forgetting that the UK and the US release dates are different. I sent Debi to the bookstore in vain too πŸ˜›

    I read John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines yesterday, and you have to read it! It’s the perfect book for a blah day. It’s hilarious and meaningful and bittersweet and brilliant in so many different ways. John Green has officially joined my list of coolest people ever.

    I hope you feel better soon, Chris. Tomorrow will be a better day… The Graveyard Book surely won’t fail to cheer you up πŸ˜›

  2. You’ve been awarded!

  3. I’ve heard that same story, before, Chris. It’s true that you can’t force a person to care about his or her health. So, have you quit smoking? It really jumped out at me when my mother and grandmother-in-law were both struggling to breathe and I passed sooo many people in the hospital who were on oxygen . . . this is not fun stuff. The one thing you really want to do is take care of your heart and lungs.

    Hope tomorrow is dramatically better. Hugs to you.

  4. I hope tomorrow’s better! If it makes you feel any better, I got yelled at about something completely not my fault the other day too. It really stung because I totally cleared it with my boss…. but she was gone and her boss wanted someone to yell at… and I fit the bill. Blech.

  5. Ah Chris, it feels like it’s one thing after the other. I’d reach across this computer and give you a hug if I could.

  6. Oh, Chris – I’m so sorry about your dad. That is incredibly frustrating – not only thinking that it’s over and you can move on, only to have more health issues going on – but also that he isn’t taking care of himself the way he needs to. Ack!

    It’s hard when all the annoyances pile on top of troubles. I guess that makes room in life for the times when lots of great things happen all at once. I hope you’ll be moving into one of those times very soon! Hugs from Alexandria. πŸ™‚

  7. So sorry you’ve had such a bad day. I’ll be praying for you and your dad. It must be so frustrating.

  8. Nymeth, Thanks so much…if only it were easier to convince people to care about themselves. That’s hilarious that you have me and Debi looking for books that aren’t out yet :p I’m sure we’re not the only two. I really wanted to get An Abundance of Katherines today if I could find it, but of course I couldn’t…glad to hear that it’s good though. And yes, the Graveyard Book will definitely cheer me up!

    Kim, You’re so incredibly sweet πŸ™‚ I’m not sure I entirely understand the award, but I can see that it’s a very thoughtful one, lol! I appreciate it! Doesn’t it suck to get yelled at for something that you didn’t even do…happens way to often at my job…hope it slides away soon.

    Bookfool, Thanks for the hugs πŸ™‚ I’ve started to quit smoking but I haven’t quit completely yet…Sad, huh? It’s the one thing I regret most. But I’ve cut back big time from what I used to smoke…hopefully I’ll have it kicked completely soon.

    Natasha, Thanks for the virtual hug πŸ™‚ It’s gotta get better soon, right?

    Darla, Thanks! Yeah it is quite frustrating. I wish I could just slap some sense into him, but he needs to figure it out for himself. You’re absolutely right…good things have to be on the frontier! Thanks for the hugs πŸ™‚

    Becky, Thanks so much! that means a lot. I really appreciate it!

  9. Ah Chris….I’m so sorry things are just not going your way. Book buying is always a great pick-me-up, and you didn’t even get to do that!! Just know I’m thinking about you and sending a big hug your way.

  10. Ohhhhhhhhh….I’m so sorry. *big hug*

    Keeping you and your dad in my thoughts.

    And boo to bookstores that don’t carry the books we want!

  11. Ugh, Chris I’m so sorry! And I’m sorry I have been crap at commenting again!

    I went through similar things with my dad regarding his health. In the end I pretty much let go. After his recent trip to the hospital he’s doing better, and taking better care of himself, but it has taken so long to get to that point. So, I understand. *hug*

  12. hugs baby boy… I too know how this feels and it’s stressful as all get out. I am shocked your day had this problem after just having heart surgery though.. I hope things get better and stay that way for a while…

  13. … that’s “your dad”.. sigh.

  14. Chris, I’m sorry to hear about your dad. It is so frustrating trying to get those we love care about their own health. I’ve been having a similar problem with my parents, and its so difficult even when I’m only 2 hrs away! Here’s hoping he recovers quickly and takes good care of himself. Best wishes to you all.

  15. Oh Chris, I’m so sorry about your Dad. That’s so hard, to have to see him not getting better when he should be. Here’s a hug from Canada, and hoping your Dad doesn’t have to go in for a while. I wish I could cheer you up from here…..

  16. Thank you all so much! Y’all are so sweet and it’s little comments like these that really brighten up my day πŸ˜€ Big hugs back to everyone!

  17. That’s not fun. I’m sorry to hear your Dad is having troubles again. Hang in there.

  18. I’m rooting for you. You can quit 100%!! And, you’re young enough that the effects will eventually be reversed. Think about that good news!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

