I Got My Wish

Right before I went to work today I posted “really not wanting to be at work today” on Twitter. So I walk in to work anyway when I suddenly find that there are 4 people scheduled on the shift when there’s only supposed to be 2! And the first question someone asked me was “Do you want to go home?” Damn straight I did, so that’s what happened. Now I actually get to blog and read blogs without feeling exhausted for once during the week…and I also get to catch up on reading…and I also get to watch the season premiere of Heroes even though I was DVRing it anyway. I’m happy needless to say.

What made me even more happy was heading on over to Eva’s blog and seeing that I Make Her Monday πŸ™‚ She wrote the most incredibly sweet post about Carl’s, Nymeth’s, and my own blog and it really put a huge smile on my face. Eva makes my Monday too! Like I told her in the comments, her’s is one of a few blogs that I absolutely have to make the time to read everyday even though I don’t always comment :/ But I always enjoy her posts! So thanks again Eva!

I was also approved for my vacation today to have off of work for the weekend of Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon! I can’t tell you how happy that made me. I’ve been wanting to join in for the last 2 times and now I finally get to participate…it kinda feels like Christmas morning is coming up, lol. So I’ll officially be a reader! I’m also contemplating doing NaNoWriMo again this year. Although I really don’t know if I have it in me after last year. To be truthful, I’m still a little exhausted from that whole process :p But I did manage to write a novel last year so how cool would it be to have written two novels? Plus I really like the Tshirt for this year and I would just feel guilty if I wore a Tshirt that said “NaNoWriMo 2008 Author” if I really wasn’t, lol.

Oh, and I’ve been wanting this Tshirt ever since Renay posted a link to it on her blog…it’s the best shirt ever.

13 Responses

  1. Yay for no work!! There are so many days I wish I could just be done. I had a long week last week and it was very hard to get back into it.

    How was nanowrimo for you last year? I’m sure it must have been a lot of work! Have you done anything with the novel you wrote?

  2. I loved NaNo last year Kim! You really should join in this year. It’s lots of fun but very, very exhausting. Last year I had a job where I could work on it during work πŸ˜‰ But that won’t be happening this year. I think I may go for it anyway though. We’ll see. But you’d definitely love it…just get the coffee pot ready and prepare for December exhaustion once it’s over! I haven’t done much with my novel since then….I’ve gone back and done some revisions on it, but not much….I think I need more time away from it before I’m ready to go back to editing…I’m still sort of sick of it to be honest even though I really did like my story, lol.

  3. How awesome! Surprise days off. πŸ˜€

    That shirt IS pretty awesome, isn’t it? I keep going back and forth about buying it, because a) I am poor and b) I would probably offend sensibilities. I’m so tempted, though!

  4. Renay, LOL…I go back and forth too for the same reasons…although there are places that I could definitely get away with wearing it….just not many :/

  5. My review for the Good Thief is finished now!! You can go back and read the end of it now!!

  6. Awesome!!! Surprise days off are the best. πŸ˜€

    Thanks so much for your sweet words about me. πŸ™‚ I’ve been bed-ridden today (doesn’t that sound so nineteenth century? perhaps some leeches will cure my fibro…), so it was a nice little pick-me-up!

  7. amazing what the sound of just saying “a day off” can do eh Chris?!!

    that was really nice of Eva to make that post! Needless to say I check your blog and carls and nymeths and caths and others every day myself Often more than once a day to read comments too.. so I know her feeling!

    oh my, nano again?? .. just for the shirt eh? lol..
    I more than know about the editing part of writing, and long breaks are needed . (My problem is that my characters stay stuck in my head and don’t leave!) You have to want to revist them time and again to do editing.

    If I didn’t relate the word “author” to mean “published” so much I’d like the shirt too lol

    Hope you had a good day baby boy!!

  8. Getting an unexpected day off is one of the best feelings ever, isn’t it? πŸ˜€

    Eva completely made my day too. She really did say the sweetest things! πŸ™‚ I love her blog and yours and Carl’s and I’d better stop now before this becomes too sappy πŸ˜›

    I’m very excited about the Read-a-thon too, and very happy that you’ll be participating as well! It does feel like Christmas morning is approaching, lol. I considered during NaNo this year, but the truth is that I just don’t have it in me at this point in my life. I don’t even seem to be able to contemplate the idea of writing. But I’d really like to do it someday. I enjoyed following your progress last year. It sounds like such a great experience.

    Finally, that t-shirt is totally awesome!

  9. That shirt is fabulous! I think we all need them.

    How cool to get an unexpected day off! Little gifts like that totally make life sweet, don’t they?

    I haven’t read read Eva’s post yet, but now I’m more anxious than ever to get over there! You, Nymeth, Carl, and Eva herself definitely rank among the very, very top of my favorites list! Your blogs, of course, but even more for the very sweet, genuine people that each of you are!

  10. Isn’t it great when wishes come true? I remember when I worked at a shift job in mental health and how wonderful it would be on occasion when you went in and found out they were overstaffed. Sweet Freedom!!! πŸ™‚

    Eva’s award was a true joy, I was very touched and thrilled to be in such great company. Thanks for pointing this out, it made my day yesterday.

    Those t-shirts are great! I can see why you’d want them. I’m disappointed I won’t be able to participate in the 24 hour read a thon but I am working with Dewey to tie it in to the R.I.P. Challenge somehow, so at least I can be there in spirit.

  11. Ha ha, that shirt is great! I’m glad you got the day off. Nothing like a surprise free day! And I’m THRILLED you’ll be readathoning with us.

  12. Hi Chris
    I am a fellow southerner here from the 24 hour Read-a-thon site. Have you read any of John Biguenet’s works? Last I heard he lived in New Orleans. I read Oyster and it was really good. But I think you might like his book of short stories: The Tortuerer’s Apprentice. πŸ™‚

  13. Days off are good! I am having one of those today and I am doing laundry! Just an amazing way to spend the day… especially since I think the laundry detergent is making me sneeze! Anyway, I don’t think I have commented on your blog in forever, even though I do in fact read it, so I am trying to delurk today and say hi!

    I really need to watch Heroes. I have the first season on DVD< it was a gift, and I haven’t really sat down and watched it yet…

Leave a Reply

