Monday Musings

It finally feels like Fall is here! I don’t know how long it’s going to last though. The local meteorologist says that we’ll probably be back in the 90’s with lots of humidity next week, but for now we’re enjoying a high of just 78 today! And there’s barely any humidity. You know it’s nice weather when you get out of your car and your glasses don’t fog up…or maybe that only happens in New Orleans :/

I’m back on a reading kick and I’m finally almost finished I’ll be Watching You, the Charles deLint novel I’ve been working on. Not your usual de Lint at all, but I’ll talk about that in the review when I’m finished it. I am enjoying it though and it’ll have me officially completing the RIP Challenge when I finish it…of course I’ll read more scary stories though! I’m thinking I’m going to go with Tim Powers’ Soul in a Bottle next. It seems like I’m one of the few people who haven’t discovered Powers yet…I actually got Soul in a Bottle from a Subterranean Press grab bag about a year ago and I had no clue what it was…but I’m looking forward to it now.

In sad author news, I heard on John Green’s blog that David Foster Wallace passed away at just 46 years old. I have never read any of his work, but I’ve always wanted to read Infinite Jest…I’m just intimidated by it’s size! I have plenty of friends who are big fans of his though. I’m sure he’ll be missed.

And finally, HAPPY BOOK BLOGGER APPRECIATION WEEK everyone!! I’m really excited about all of the goings on this week having to do with it. I’m sure it’ll be tons of fun! Head on over to My Friend Amy’s blog for all of the latest news!

13 Responses

  1. That really is sad news about David Foster Wallace…I have never read him either, but he’s been recommended to me so many times.

    I’ve yet to discover Tim Powers too…but like you, I plan to do so for RIP! I have The Stress of Her Regard on my list, and just the other day I realized that it won the Mythopoeic award, which is pretty much a guarantee that it will be good.

    Happy Book Blogger Appreciation Week for you too 😀

  2. Just so you know…

    It was 52 here at two in the afternoon…

    Glad you’re back and reading!

    cjh

  3. hi Chris!..
    We will be having some of that “perfect weather” here for the rest of the week.. low to mid 70’s each day and about 60 at night!

    I’ve got about 200 pgs to read in the Historian (dang long book!!!) and then I am “officially done” with RIP also.. but I plan to then go for Peril the Second and read 2 more books.. I got The Ghost Writer and curious about it and still have other books that would fill the bill.

  4. I have a love/hate relationship with the weather this week. The pollen count is over 10,000 today. And 8,000 of it is fungus. And maybe not being in N. Texas you don’t know the hell that is allergies, but it’s awful. (I think this region is the worst place on earth to live if you’re an allergy sufferer.) On the other hand, the weather is downright chilly. Considering. Going from 90 or 100 degree days week after week to being in the 60s and 70s. Heaven. 🙂 And having my glasses NOT fog up is always a plus!!!

    I’m glad you’re getting back into reading. 🙂

  5. lol…i about spit tea all over my computer on the foggy glasses line. I’ve finally lived out of Louisiana long enough i’d forgotten about that!!!

  6. I haven’t read I’ll Be Watching You yet, Chris – I’m looking forward to hearing your review. Is it one of the ones he wrote as Key? I’m reading a Charles de Lint right now, too, a YA novel called Dingo, which is good so far!

  7. It has been really autumn-like here over the past few days…rainy and dreary all weekend (perfect reading weather) and sunny but only 70 yesterday and very cool in the morning and evening. It is supposed to climb back towards 80 the rest of the week though I’m hoping we come in lower than that.

    Congrats about being back in the reading groove!

    I’m sorry to hear about that author. I have not heard of him before but it is no less sad because of his way to early passing.

  8. I have a whole slew of Charles de Lint to read one of these days. Glad you’re more or less safe and sound and reading!

  9. I know! I can’t believe how cold it is!!! I’m hoping that doesn’t mean the kids will have to switch to the indoor pool, though, because we have only one indoor pool and the manager has nearly killed the swimmers by over-chlorinating twice. Scary.

    Nope, it’s not just New Orleans. We wipe fog off our glasses, all the time. That’s just one more reason to love fall!!! But, Becky’s right — the pollen has been miserable. Sigh. Can’t seem to win.

    What news? It’s taking too long for that page to load. Did you win? I’m not the least bit surprised, of course, if that’s the case.

    Happy reading! 🙂

  10. Nymeth, I thought it was really sad new too 😦 It’s always so sad when an author passes away, especially at such a young age. I’m really going to have to read his book. I never knew that Powers won the Mythopoeic award! Soul in a Bottle is decent so far though I’ve only read about 30 of it’s 84 pages…hoping it gets better!

    CJ, Wow!! I’d love weather like that! That’s considered freezing down here though of course 😉

    Deslily, I absolutely LOVED your post on The Historian 🙂 Wasn’t it a great book?? Your pictures were great…I love seeing pictures of people reading…or sleeping, lol.

    Becky, I’m right there with you unfortunately. I absolutely hate allergies and I have them something awful all the time! Luckily they haven’t acted up too bad yet with this new weather, but I’m sure it’s coming…Hope you feel better soon as far as allergies go!

    Melanie, I don’t think I’d ever get used to going a whole year without glasses fogging up! lol…glad I gave you a laugh 🙂

    Darla, Yep it was a Key novel and it was pretty good, though I had a few complaints. Great story though. I’ve heard really good things about Dingo! I’ll have to check that one out soon.

    Carl, The weather couldn’t have come at a better time! Just in time to make the RIP Challenge feel just right. I know that’s normal for most states, but we don’t usually get Fall down here until late October :p Really enjoying it though. I just wish it would stay in the 70s and the damn 90s would go the hell away!

    Carrie, I can’t wait until you start reading his books 🙂 I did the same thing…I bought tons of de LInt books before I had even read him just convinced that I’d enjoy them…and I do!

    Bookfool, Now I don’t know if I’d say it’s cold 😉 But I’m certainly enjoying this weather! I hope for your kid’s sake that y’all to have to do the indoor pool either! That sounds awful…he’ll come out of the pool a blond! I’m glad that you have to wipe the fog of off your glasses too, I don’t feel so alone anymore 😉 It’s funny how you can tell the humidity by weather your glasses fog up or not, lol. Last night I though, “well the cool front must have come through!” The pollen really is miserable. I hate it. I have awful allergies, but luckily they haven’t started acting up yet. No news on the winning front yet…I really don’t care if I win, it was just such an honor to even be nominated! I think they announce my category on Thursday morning.

  11. Do you want my fall weather? It was fun for a week, but now I’m totally ready for hot weather. I think I’m permanently attuned to San Antonio, crazy humidity and crazy heat weather. Because even after four years of college in Illinois, and a year living in the Rockies, I still think anything below 75 is chilly! And the high of 63 we had yesterday? That’s friggin’ cold.

  12. “maybe that only happens in New Orleans”…well, I can’t speak for the rest of the world, but that most definitely doesn’t happen here. Except, of course, from about November through April, when it happens every time you walk inside.

  13. Oh Eva, that sounds like heaven to me! The 63, not the ‘crazy humidity and crazy heat weather’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

