RIP III is Here!!!

Autumn is by far my favorite time of the year. It has been since as long as I can remember. The summer tends to put me into a funk as you may have noticed as I sort of dropped out of blog land for the last couple of months. But just in reading Carl’s announcement that the RIP III Challenge has arrived I feel newly invigorated! Top that off with a day that has been rainy and in the mid 70’s and it’s starting to actually feel a bit like Fall. Time to pull out the horror books, gothic classics, dark fantasy, and thrillers and truly enjoy what’s in my opinion the best season of the year. And kudos to Carl for the most kick-ass challenge banner I’ve ever seen 😉

I love the new option of just listing a big pool of books rather than committing to a list of books as that’s exactly what I’ve been disliking about challenges lately. It’s been bogging me down big time. So I’m going for Peril the First which is to read 4 books by Halloween in the “RIP genre”. Here’s the pool (I’m warning you, it’s long!):

-The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (of course)
-Skeletons by Ray Bradbury
-Summer Morning, Summer Night by Ray Bradbury
-Tales of Moonlight and Rain by Ueda Akinari
-Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
-Blaze by Richard Bachman
-The Thief of Always by Clive Barker
-Strange Roads by Peter Beagle
-Strange Birds by Gene Wolfe
-Tithe by Holly Black
-Currency of Souls by Kealan Patrick Burke
-Lye Street by Alan Campbell
-Marked by P.C. and Kristin Cast
-I’ll be Watching You by Charles de Lint
-Duma Key by Stephen King
-The Stand by Stephen King
-Midnight Days by Neil Gaiman
-Angels and Visitations by Neil Gaiman
-The Bat Poet by Randall Jarrell
-The Dead Zone by Stephen King
-Freaks by Annette Curtis Klause
-Whispers by Dean Koontz
-Gossamer by Lois Lowry
-Baltimore by Mike Mignola
-In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
-A Soul in a Bottle by Tim Powers
-Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest
-The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia

I told you it was long! I basically just pooled everything that fit the criteria from my TBR shelf. I’ll probably add more too as the challenge goes by. Can’t wait to see what everyone else is reading!

24 Responses

  1. Wow, you kick ass! Can’t believe you put together a pool…and a great one at that…so fast! Glad you’re joining in and hope things settle down so that you can return more regularly to the blogging world.

  2. I hope so too Carl…things seem to be settling down nicely now. Dad’s healing up well this time, work is quieting down, life in general seems to be quieting down. So hopefully this heat can just go away now and I’ll be much more pleasant and blogger friendly :p I really miss being on here all the time, I just never have the energy lately…Summer just drains me. Come on Fall!

  3. gads..nothing like a tbr pile “just for the RIP challenge!!” lol lol.. The only one on that looooong list you have that I’ve read is Freaks, and I enjoyed that book.
    I will have a much smaller list , and even then, I will not necessarily stick to the list!.. but the lists are such a great help to find books for the challenge! In fact, I already added a book Carl mentioned in this comments to my wish list! (the Ghost Writer.. am hoping that’s not short stories) grrrrrrrr don’t even ask! YOu know I don’t need more on a wish list!!

  4. I’m glad to see that you have a list of possibilities even longer than mine 😀 Lots of great books in there. Can’t wait to see what you read! And I suspect that many of those will end up on my wishlist by the time you’re done.

    And I love the banners too…even more than last year’s, which I didn’t think would be possible.

  5. Oh man, how did I miss the announcement! Can’t wait to post my list of books…

  6. I just signed up for this and added my book list too! I am going for the second option due to not knowing where I will be or what I will be doing work wise. You have some great books on your list and I can’t wait to read your reviews.

  7. Strange Roads by Peter Beagle – the title sort of rings a bell – is this the one where the one of the characters can see ghosts? So did i mistake it with another story?

    I read so much about The Secret History of Moscow – tell us if it’s any good.

    I see you’ve added the staple – Gaiman, de Lint, King – and Mike Mignola. How long have you been working on this list? 🙂

    But Northanger Abbey – now this is an inspired choice. A great goof on the gothic novel.

  8. Nice list, Chris. If you read the Peter Beagle I’ll be intrigued to read about that but all of them sound like good reads.

    Glad to hear it’s cooling down there!

  9. haha, I always do pools because I am so indecisive. I didn’t know it was new for Carl to allow it… I guess I just don’t follow rules! Fall is my favourite time of the year too. Today was really humid, though, so I guess we have to wait a bit longer. At the same time I don’t like autumn to come too fast because then the snow starts and we don’t see an end of it for like 6 months…

  10. Deslily, It looks really bad, lol but basically what I did was just pull everything off of my shelves that fit into this genre. Actually there were a few more books that probably would have fit, but those will be second string. Now that I’m reading people’s lists though I’m being reminded of more books that are on my wishlist that I’d like to get to!

    Nymeth, I was typing up the list and telling myself that I had to stop, lol. But I figured I’d just lay out a huge pool to give myself plenty to pick from. I didn’t even go into my wishlist with all of the books that I DON’T own. The only one from the wishlist that is on there is The Graveyard Book.

    Stephanie, Can’t wait to see your list!

    Rhinoa, Definitely a smart idea. If there’s one thing I’ve learned this year, it’s not to over commit yourself. I’m definitely not here. I’m going to read just this genre for September and October, so I should be able to manage 2 books a month!

    Dark Orpheus, I don’t think that’s the Beagle book, but I could be wrong. This is his newest and it’s 2 short stories actually. It’s based on Lisa Snellings-Clark’s artwork. It’s a series of chapbooks that she’s doing with different authors. The first was with Gene Wolfe, the next is with Larry Niven and then Neil Gaiman. I’m sure the Sedia book will be good! Nymeth wrote a great review of it and I’ve been dying to read it. I had have all of the staples of course 😉 The Mike Mignola is all Carl’s fault from last year. Baltimore looks incredible. I’ve been working on this list since November of last year! And Northanger Abbey is indeed an inspired touch…I’ve been holding that book specifically for this time of the year and this challenge ever since last year!

    Cath, Thanks! I’m really excited about the Beagle book. He’s become a new favorite author lately. He’s great. I’m glad it’s cooling down too. I just hope it stays that way!

    Kailana, I’m indecisive too! Pools are perfect for that. I don’t think it’s new for Carl to allow it, he’s just encouraging it this year rather than recommending a list. We still have the humidity here too, but there is a bit of fall in the air and the temps are a tad lower. And the locusts are humming which is a sign that fall is approaching! I hope fall comes soon for you too….except for the snow 😦

  11. And I thought my pool was long 🙂

    The Stand is probably my favorite Stephen King book. Probably. I haven’t reread it in years hence the hesitation 🙂 Especially since I’ve fallen for the Dark Tower series along the way and then Lisey’s Story.

    Tithe is a lovely story I hope you get around to reading.

    I’m also happy that Carl decided on a pool. I think a lot of us readers are indecisive when it comes to lists. I mean gee, I’ve changed a handful of selections in my ongoing challenges as well 🙂 Pools are better. Still, having your own TBR pile for just one challenge is really, really funny.

    Goodluck to all of us joining the RIP III!

  12. Wow! That’s a great list. I could just print it up and head for the library and the bookstore. I’m looking forward to reading your reviews! And I’m glad that life is quieting down a little more for you, and that your Dad is making progress with his recovery.

  13. Wow, that’s some list there! Can’t wait to read your reviews.

  14. Great list, Chris! and I put Northanger Abbey on mine, too! I haven’t posted yet, I ran around at 1 a.m. last night (I was up way too late and saw Carl’s post and did a happy dance!) gathering up all the books I’ve been stockpiling for this lovely, wonderful horror/gothic/dark fantasy fest 🙂 Like you, I love Hallowe’en, and autumn is my favourite time of year, and it’s almost here! Oh hurray!!!
    And welcome back, it’s good to see you happy again.
    Oh – I love The Stand, I added Everything’s Eventual and am hoping Duma Key will be out in paperback before Hallowe’en, and you have Tim Powers, so do I – On Stranger Tides, one of my favourites by him!
    and such a cool banner, I want a little skeleton like that too.

  15. Lightheaded, Yeah, I got a little carried away with this pool :p lol…I’m really excited about The Stand. I just don’t know if I’ll get to it because it’s so long! But it seems to be on everyone’s favorites lists. I loved Lisey’s Story. It was one of my favorites last year. Great story. I definitely like this pool idea much better than a set list! I’m horrible at sticking to a list :p Best of luck to you!

    Robin, Thanks! I’m glad things are quieting down too. I hope you end up enjoying some of the books that I read eventually too!

    Other Chris, I got a little carried away :p Can’t wait to write the reviews!

    Susan, Hey! I’m really excited about Northanger Abbey. I’ve been holding that one just for this challenge. I did a little happy dance too when I saw his post 😉 I love this challenge. Halloween is just my absolute favorite time of the year. I’m glad to be happy again, trust me! It’s good to awaken from a funk. Duma Key looks really good. It’s one of the books that I really hope I get to from the list. It’s just so damn big! And I haven’t read anything by Tim Powers so I’m really looking forward to this one. The little skeleton is Jack Skellington from Nightmare Before Christmas….go buy yourself one! I have tons of them :p

  16. I can’t go to sleep. I am working! Stupid work! I have been up since 10 this morning… It is not going well. Er, well, yesterday morning now, I guess. Anyway, I couldn’t say that on my blog because a smart person I work with has started reading my blog and, well, I have decided that work-related things on my blog could lead to trouble, so I just leave work out entirely. Now, I will be following your advice in… *stares blankly at clock* …2 and a half hours… give or take. Really bad that it took a lot of brain power to figure that out!

  17. You simply MUST read Tales of Moonlighti and Rain for this one. (Plus, it counts for the JLC2; how can you lose?) 🙂

  18. Ohhh, what an awesome pool you’ve got there! (Of course, I’m not-so-secretly hoping you’ll pick The Stand as one of your choices!) You made me want to go add a bunch more possibles to my list though…but then there’s no harm in that, is there?

  19. What a great pool to choose from. I’ve been doing lousy at reading challenges as of late, but I am still signing up for RIP. I think I can get at least one book read that is scary by Oct. 31. Besides the banners are so cute!

  20. wow. great list. hmm. i can really recommend The Thief of Always and Baltimore. The Thief of Always is about my favorite of Barker’s. Both of the King books are solid, but loooooooooong.

  21. Great list! I hope you enjoy Tales of Moonlight and Rain, and In the Miso Soup, if you get to them.

  22. Just getting to your RIP list Chris, hope you’re doing ok – still thinking of you!

    Fantastic pool – I love the choice you have in this list.

    I’m going to give Cherie Priest’s Four and Twenty Blackbirds a big plug. I just finished the third Eden Moore book and it was AWESOME. I really hope you get round to this one, I think you will like it.

    Lye Street is a pretty cool book too, I still owe a review on that one…will see if I can get that up today.

  23. […] was either entirely by chance or completely Carl’s fault that I picked up this book on my recent visit to York, looking though the graphic novels for […]

Leave a Reply

