Once Upon a Time II Challenge Completed!

Sadly the Once Upon a Time II Challenge has come to a close, but it was such a great experience as it was last year. I can’t thank Carl enough for hosting this. I’ve always enjoyed reading fantasy, fairy tales, folklore, and mythology, but he manages to make it just that much more exciting. He’s an amazing host and I personally couldn’t ask for more out of a challenge. Thanks again man!

Here’s what I read:

1. The Blue Girl by Charles deLint
2. Gifts by Ursula LeGuin
3. The Book of Flying by Keith Miller
4. Here, There be Dragons by James Owen
5. The Wood Wife by Terri Windling
6. The Book of Ballads by Charles Vess
7. The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynn Flewelling
8. Tamsin by Peter Beagle
9. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
10. Fables, Vol. 1: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham
11. The Raven by John Lawson
12. Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis
13. Crossroads: Tales of the Southern Literary Fantastic ed. by F. Brett Cox and Andy Duncan

It would be really hard to pick a favorite out of all of these, but I was truly blown away by The Bone Doll’s Twin and The Book of Flying. I wasn’t disappointed by a single one though and I’ll be reading all of these authors again!

Can’t wait for the RIP III challenge now!

11 Responses

  1. You and Nymeth are so hard-core w/ the OUaT challenge!! I felt happy just reading my five in time. πŸ™‚

  2. Lesse: I read here there be dragons (long ago) and read the woodwife as one of my books for this challenge too… still want Tamsin ..its on the wish list and just ordered When You Are Engulfed in Flames… not that you influence me mind you.. ppllssttt!

    Man when this began in March who’da thunk it would be over so fast???? Seems that way doesn’t it? *sigh*

    I hope you have a good weekend baby boy..

  3. Wow…that was a nice pile of reading you got done, huh? Congratulations, Chris! Of course, you know you did a number on my wish list, don’t you? Goes with the territory, I suppose.

  4. Yeah for finishing!! Although I didn’t read all the books I wanted to, I did manage to finish 7, with a reading of Midsummer Night’s Dream. So I’m totally happy with that!

    I have Bone Doll’s Twin here on a pile. Seems to me I should pick it up soon!

  5. Congratulations on finishing! You read some great books and added a considerable number of them to my wishist πŸ˜›

    I can’t wait for RIP either!

  6. Congratulations on finishing the challenge, Chris. Your list of books read is awesome, and I enjoyed each review. So many good books to read!!

  7. I’ve added the Wood Wife and Tamsin because of you……I’m so glad you loved The Bone Doll’s Twin that much! I hope you like the second as much…….and yes, I already have a pile of books for RIP3!!! It’s sad though that OUT2 is over, I had so much fun reading everyone’s posts about the books they were reading. and it was all fantasy books! It was like a dream come true!

  8. Thirteen books? I’m SO impressed (being all prideful about completing 8 myself). I was especially glad to see two Narnia books. Did you happen to see Prince Caspian after reading the book? I still think the book is better. Anyway, won’t it be fun to beging the RIP III Challenge in a few short months?

  9. Book of Flying…lord but I am woefully behind on my reviews!!! πŸ˜‰

    You read some great stuff! Well done. As always I appreciate your enthusiastic participation and your excellent book reviews. You always manage to influence my “I want that” book purchase list!

  10. I definitely want to read Book of Flying. One day. -C

  11. I loved this challenge too and can’t wait for next years. You read a few books that I have now added to my list and I hope I enjoy them as much as you. I am going to take credit for you reading The Blue Girl as I read it for the challenge last year, even though you probably don’t remember :p

Leave a Reply

