Happy Fathers Day, Memes, and Bookworms!

I have to say that today was the best father’s day we’ve had in a long time. After all he’s been through it was good to see dad back home today and starting to come around to his old self. He was even up and cooking! His favorite thing to do. He needed to take breaks to catch his breath, but we ended up with a delicious dinner of crab cakes with bearnaise sauce, stuffed potatoes, and creamed spinach. I for one would not be able to do all of that after getting home from the hospital on Wednesday. We surprised him with a new grill for father’s day which he loved and I’m sure he’ll be using that too in no time.

To all of you other fathers out there, I hope that your day was an enjoyable one and well spent with the ones you love!

Now on to a couple of meme’s. Nymeth started this new meme that I absolutely love and Becky tagged me for it by recommending a book for me called The Underneath by Kathi Appelt. I’ve already added it to the wishlist of course and it sounds great! The meme is called the Blogger-Book-Keyword meme and here are the rules:

  • Pick 5 blogging friends (it can be more if you’d like);
  • For each of them, think of a book that reminds you of them, or that you think they’d like;
  • Explain in 3 to 5 keywords or short phrases why you think they’d enjoy the book, or why it reminded you of them;
  • If you know for sure that the person has read the book in question, then pick another, but if you’re not quite sure, go ahead and use it anyway;
  • If you have reviewed the books in question, you can link to your reviews;
  • Tagging others is not necessary, but feel free to do so.

1. Deslily: Sabriel by Garth Nix: Young adult, fantasy and magic, wonderful characters, alternate worlds

2. Eva: The Bone People by Keri Hulme: Maori culture, Booker prize winner, a favorite of mine :p, beautifully written, heartbreaking and heartwarming.

3. Dewey: The Arrival by Shaun Tan: Graphic Novel, immigration, fantasy, amazing art, story without words.

4. Nymeth: And the Ass Saw the Angel by Nick Cave: (warning, this one’s hard to find but well worth it if you can!) Southern Gothic, tale of a deaf mute, tragic, beautiful, it’s written by Nick Cave!

5. Debi: Mirabilis by Susan Cokall: Witchcraft, Sainthood, Medieval, beautifully written, tragic tale.

All of these except for The Arrival are books that I’ve never reviewed on this website…I’ve read them all before I started this blog. I decided to share some books here that I hadn’t shared with you before, so I hope that you check them out! They’re all great!

The other meme is the 123 meme that I’m sure you’re all familiar with…I’ve been tagged this time by Bellezza. I’ve actually done this one before, but it’s always fun, so I decided to do it again 😛

Here’s the rules:

1. Pick up the book closest to you, right at this moment (no cheating you literary types!)

2. Open the book to page 123

3. Scroll down 5 lines

4. Share the 6th line with us by writing it in your post, making sure you add the book’s title and its author as well

From David Sedaris’ When You Are Engulfed in Flames: “I was walking to the bus stop one morning when I came upon a well-dressed woman lying on the sidewalk in front of an office-supply store.”

I seriously can’t wait to review this book….it’s hilarious. I’ve had to stop reading it in public for fear of being kicked out of places.

And last but certainly not least, I wanted to make sure that everyone knew that the latest edition of the Bookworms Carnival is up over at Nymeth’s blog, Things Mean Alot and it’s a great one! The subject is Fairy Tales….go enjoy it, she did a great job putting it together.

12 Responses

  1. Ooh, the new Sedaris! Can’t wait for the review on that one 🙂

  2. How wonderful that your dad felt up to trying to cook!! I had a friend who had heart surgery and then became a “mall walker”.. they tell you to walk alot after heart surgery (my brother couldn’t cause he’s paralyzed on one side) and so, because malls are airconditioned (and it was too hot outside) he’d drive to the mall every morning along with other “mall walkers” and they’d walk around inside until they racked up one or two or three miles (whatever they were up to) I’m just glad he’s finally on his way to feeling better!!

    you aren’t going to believe this.. but just this weekend (before I read this post) I added Garth Nix trilogy to my wish list LOL.. still kinda “iffy” but I added all 3 of them … too funny that you think I’d like them!!

  3. Even though you’ve done it before, I’m glad you chose to participate in this meme again. The line you wrote is actually intriguing; I wonder if it could have been me lying on that sidewalk before school let out for Summer? Now i’ll have to pick up Sedaris again and find out.

    I’d wish you a Happy Father’s Day, but you don’t have the joy of raising a teenager yet. So, Happy Freedom! 🙂

  4. Oh wow, I can’t tell you how happy it made me to read about your Father’s Day! Sounds like it was absolutely priceless! And here’s to many more incredible Father’s Day with your dad!

    Isn’t Nymeth’s meme just the coolest?!! I still haven’t done my post yet…I feel like everyone’s already read everything I have, but I’m going to give it a shot here soon. I can’t wait to look into Mirabilis…I’ve never even heard of it before, so I am really excited!

  5. Aww, how nice that you got to spend a good father’s day with your dad 🙂

    I’m glad you liked the meme! And you know, the Nick Cave book – I had been meaning to ask you about it for ages because I used to see it all the time in your librarything widget. It sounds great, and I really need to get my hands on it. Southern gothic, how can I resist! And from Nick Cave’s lyrics alone I know I’ll love his writing. I’ve just checked, and it’s available at thebookdepository…I’ll have to include it in my next order. Thanks so much for the recommendation, Chris!

  6. Chris, you might not need any new temptations, but I saw this and thought you might be interested. I know you’re a fan of LOST…and a fan of book challenges…

    Lost Books Challenge

    It goes through December 31, 2008.

  7. Lightheaded, It’s a REALLY great book…I’ve been laughing my ass off reading it :p You’ll enjoy it if you’re a fan!

    Deslily, It really is great to have him back home…he’s becoming a “grocery store walker” :p He loves to cook so much that his favorite thing to do is to walk around the supermarket, so he wants people to bring him by the store so he can walk around, lol! I’m so glad that you added the Abhorsen trilogy to your wishlist!! I think you’ll love it! It’s still one of my favorites to this day and I wish Nix would write something else like it. Or write back in that world. I really enjoyed it. Sabriel was great.

    Bellezza, LOL!! I seriously doubt that you were the woman lying on the sidewalk…she ended up being rescued by firemen who had her drink from a crystal goblet…and this was in France :p But hey, you never know 😉 Luckily I don’t have the joy of raising a teenager yet! But I hope I do someday!

    Debi, Thanks! It really was a priceless father’s day. Very well spent and we all enjoyed it. I love Nymeth’s meme! It’s such a great one and I hope that more and more people do it. I’ve really enjoyed reading the few people who have. Mirabilis was such a great book! I was sold by the cover after Amazon recommended it to me. It’s basically about a woman who breastfeeds an entire town during a horrible time and goes from saint to witch. Much better than that sounds I swear…good lord what a bad review, lol! But it was one of my favorite reads of 2006. Hope you enjoy it if you get to it.

    Nymeth, You will LOVE the Nick Cave book! I’m shocked that the Book Depository has it! Maybe they put it back in print. I read it when I was 18 or 19 and it was out of print then so I paid $25 for it in mass market paperback on ebay :p That was the only way I could get my hands on a copy. But I really loved it and I’ve been wanting to read it again ever since then. It’s a really, really sad book though just to warn you ahead of time. But I’m sure you’d expect that coming from Nick Cave.

    Becky, Oh no….oh no…you really shouldn’t have told me about that one. lol…I haven’t even gone to the site yet but if it’s a challenge to read all the books that Sawyer’s read then I’m all in!

  8. So glad you had a great Father’s Day with your dad! If that is the kind of stuff he can cook while having to take breaks, he must be amazing when he is 100%!!!! 🙂 His improving health is really good news and makes me very happy for all of you.

  9. ah! what a cool meme! a lot of fun.

    when i have a moment i’ve definitely gotta do this! i love these kinds of speculatory things… i get to be up in the clouds…

  10. meant to say – really you had such a nice father’s day…

  11. So glad you had a good day and that your dad is doing well!

  12. That crab cake with bearnaise sauce soounds sooooo goooooood! I totally believe Father’s day went well for you. Glad to know your dad’s doing well. -C

Leave a Reply

