Weekly Geeks 7 and Stuff

I like this weekly geeks theme and I’m really looking forward to everyone’s picture posts! Basically the theme this week is to post book related pictures. It can be of anything….your favorite reading spot, your TBR shelf, etc. I decided to post right away because I came home from visiting my dad in the hospital and had 6 books waiting in the mailbox for me!! Can you believe that? And on top of that I bought a book today too :p So here’s the first pic:

We’ll start on the left and go clockwise. The one I bought today is David Sedaris’ Engulfed in Flames. I’m about 50 pages into it and I’ve laughed my ass off reading it. I love his essays, they’re great. If you enjoy humorous social commentary definitely pick this one up. I think I’ll fly through this one. I’ve read Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim and Me Talk Pretty One Day too and I’ve loved both of those as well.

The other six all came from bookmooch and quite a few have been recommended by you bloggers!

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee is being read for the Southern Reading Challenge and I picked that one because I know that it’s CJ’s favorite book and she really wants me to read it! I’m sure I’ll fall in love with it!

2. The Discovery of Chocolate by James Runcie came recommended by Lightheaded and I had to get it right away after reading her review. Sounds like a great one!

3. Possession by A.S. Byatt – Nymeth is the main reason for me getting this one though I know that many have read and loved this one. But I know that Nymeth loves Byatt and I’ve yet to read anything by her.

4. Angels and Visitations by Neil Gaiman – I’m afraid no one’s responsible except for me here. I just have to have everything of his and I didn’t have this one, though I have most of the stories that are in it. There are a few new illustrations I haven’t seen though and it’s a beautiful book! And I actually got this off of bookmooch! I felt so lucky when I scored this one!

5. The Ballad of the Sad Cafe by Carson McCullers came recommended by Eva and I headed straight over to bookmooch to see if I could find it after reading her wonderful review! And they actually had a copy! Looking forward to this one.

6. And finally, Who hasn’t recommended The Translator by Daoud Hari? It was Debi’s review of it that finally made me say “ok, I have to get this” So I did. I can’t wait to read it now!

I should really play Debi’s points game! Lots of you would get points after a day like this πŸ˜€

So now, all of these books get added to the TBR pile which is so horribly embarrasingly out of control…are you ready for this? Are you really? Sure? I warned you! Here’s a pic of my current TBR pile, and keep in mind there’s also a box of about 15-20 ARCs that I have to review.

Horrible isn’t it? It has to be well over 200 books now because it’s a really wide bookcase and as you can see books are piling on top of books now and they’re being double shelved now. Sheesh…They’ll get read one of these days.

Right now I’m reading four books! I used to be a one book at a time kind of guy, but those days are long past. I’m reading OSC’s The Worthing Saga, a book called The Tibetan Art of Happiness which was sent to me by the lovely Bookfool last year and is very much appreciated right now :), David Sedaris’ Engulfed in Flames, and I’m about to finish Crossroads: Tales of the Southern Literary Fantastic. So I should definitely have some reviews coming up eventually…I promise!

I’m supposed to link to other peoples’ weekly geeks posts too, but I don’t think anyone else has posted yet! So I’ll just have to edit this post later on πŸ™‚

Update: We have links now!

Nymeth poses some of her favorite things with her sleeping cat to my amusement.

Debi posts her weekly loot and plays the blame game.

and Maree posts pictures of her bookshelves that make me feel not so bad πŸ˜‰

24 Responses

  1. Great haul and I look forward to your take on To Kill a Mockingbird; although, I’m sure it will be positive.

  2. I’m with Maggie. I can’t imagine you not appreciating TKAM. It’s simply an amazing book.

    It looks like a great haul and some excellent reading up ahead.

    And I’m jealous of how quickly you posted this week’s Geek!

    cjh

  3. Well, since you didn’t say I am assuming that dad is doing ok?..

    Good lord baby boy! Your TBR pile is surely worse than mine! …and that’s not easy to say! lol You are truly my son, even if adopted! lol

    OMG! you have so many poppets!!!! envy envy envy!!! You need to take them camping or something!! hehe

    I hope it’s a good weekend for you!

  4. Oh, you are in for such a treat with To Kill a Mockingbird! Truly one of the best books ever.

    Don’t feel bad about that TBR pile…just means you’re not hurting for choices, right? Know what Gray said to me just this morning…”Mom, do you think there’s any way you can read all your books before you die?” The sad thing is that the answer is probably “no” πŸ™‚

    How’s your dad doing? I’m hoping that since you didn’t mention him, it means he’s finally on the road to recovery!

    And I’m so curious that I can’t help but ask…do you know if you have to work the weekend of the Read-a-thon yet? I so hope you’ll join in, even if it’s only for part of it!

  5. wow, you really are lucky to have been able to get Angels & Visitations from Bookmooch! I’m with CJ and Maggie, there’s no way you won’t love To Kill a Mockingbird. I look forward to your review. And I hope you enjoy Possession!

    Lovely pictures! I love your regiment of Poppets πŸ˜€ And yes, that’s a lot of books, but you’re not alone. I’m getting dangerous close to those numbers myself.

  6. Cool stash of books and I really like your TBR bookshelf. I think I would have to have a room if I put all mine together… I have a massive pile for this year and will think about doing something similar next year to focus my reading. Wil depend on how busy I am I guess. Oh and very cute poppets πŸ™‚

  7. I just added The Translator to my bookmooch wishlist! And I can not believe how much your TBR pile is a twin of mine. Three shelves that really need to be six! I just showed my family and they were like WOW YEAH TWINS.

  8. Yikes! Your TBR is worse than mine is!

    The only book from the top picture that I’ve read is Possession. Unfortunately, I wasn’t wild about it.

  9. That’s a huge TBR shelf you have there! I need to recount how many I have on mine *lol*

    I read To Kill a Mockingbird earlier this year and loved it – it turned me back onto classic fiction. Hope you enjoy it too.

  10. That’s one big TBR shelf you have going!

    When I first started To Kill A Mockingbird, I hated it, which might have more to do with the fact that it was required reading, but about half way through I fell in love with it.

  11. Love the photo of your TBR shelves, and I feel so much better knowing I’m not the only obsessed reader with a backlog of TBR books that would take 15 years to read! Lots of GOOD books on those shelves!

  12. Maggie, I’m really looking forward to To Kill a Mockingbird. I think that’ll be my first read for the challenge. Everyone seems to have that one as a favorite!

    CJ, I’m sure I’ll love it πŸ™‚ I always trust your judgement on books πŸ˜‰ It truly was a great haul! It put such a big smile on my face to come home to that many books!

    Deslily, Dad seems to be doing ok, but not a whole lot of progress. His spirits are up but we have no idea when he’s getting out or what’s going on really. The doctors have been a disappointment. A big pain in the rear! Yeah, my TBR pile is really bad :p and it just keeps getting worse and worse lol! I’m now officially up to 14 poppets…15 if you count the big pink one that’s not pictured. I’ll have to post a closer pic so that everyone can see them! It’s getting out of control, lol.

    Debi, I’m really looking forward to To Kill a Mockingbird. Everyone says such great things about it! I’m definitely not hurting for book selection anytime soon! Gray has it right…we’ll never read everything that we want to :p But that’s ok, it’s like we have our own little libraries in our houses and I love that πŸ™‚ Dad’s spirits seem to be up a little but he’s still in the hospital. We don’t really know what’s going on because the doctors haven’t been the greatest. It’s just a waiting game really. Just frustrating! As for the readathon, I think I do have off that weekend, but a friend of mine is coming in from Florida so I may have other obligations…we’ll see what happens. I’ll be following along if not reading though! I really want to read though! If I miss this one I’ll definitely be in for the fall. I’ll take vacation if I have to!

    Nymeth, I couldn’t believe that I got Angels and Visitations from Bookmooch! And it’s the hardcover edition and it’s in beautiful condition πŸ˜€ I love it πŸ™‚ Can’t wait for both To Kill a Mockingbird and Possession…I’m sure I’ll love them both and I’ve been wanting to read them both for a long time. I’m going to have to take a picture of just the poppets and post it soon because everyone seems to be drawn to them. And I’m glad that others’ TBR piles are as bad as mine! lol…There’s power in numbers!

    Rhinoa, I can’t wait to see pics of all of your books!! I hope you do this weekly geeks because I’ve been dying for a peek at all of your shelves. I haven’t quite gotten to the point of needing a room yet for my TBR pile but I’m on my way.

    Dewey, LOL…I have a feeling that there are LOTS of us out there that have shelves that look like this…they’ll probably all come out of the woodwork during this weekly geeks. I really need to invest in a new shelf that will fit all of the books better, but if I got a tall one then it would block the window…of course I could just stop buying books but who wants to do that :p

    Katherine, LOL, I have a feeling my TBR pile is worse than a lot of people’s! I’ve heard a few mixed reviews of Possession. I hope that I end up being one of the ones who enjoys it! Sorry it didn’t work for you 😦

    Mrs S, Yeah, it’s a pretty out of control TBR shelf…and to think that my goal for this year was to tame it! So glad that you had a great experience with To Kill a Mockingbird. Hope that I have the same experience. I’m sure I will!

    Christina, I can’t tell you how many great books were ruined for me at first because they were required reading. It’s such a turn off, isn’t it? But I’ve gone back to read a few of those later in life and found that I really enjoyed them!

    Robin, Oh there’s lots of us out there with out of control TBR shelves! I think I should post my TBR shelf once a month just to make myself feel not so alone, lol. I love getting comments from other people saying “I’m in the same boat”. There are indeed lots of good books on there. Looking forward to them.

  13. I’ve been meaning to read The Ballad of the Sad Cafe for ages. I bet your review will push me over the edge! πŸ™‚

  14. Darla, I’m really looking forward to that one! Eva gave such a wonderful review of it and I had to go straight for it. I haven’t read anything by McCullers before so it should be a great experience!

  15. To Kill a Mockingbird was a book I swore I’d never read. You see I was all smug thinking I knew just what the book was all about thus I had no need to read it. It just so happens that it is my wife’s favorite book and after years of begging me to read it I decided to quit being an ass about it and do so. I was of course blown away, fell in love with it, and consider it in the upper echelon of books that I’ve read. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

    Angels and Visitations is a really nice book. Jeff got it for me for a Christmas present a few years back and I enjoyed reading the stories I hadn’t ever read as well as those that are in other volumes.

  16. Just wanted to you know that I dropped by for Weekly Geek and I love your site – I’ll be adding you to my reader so I can keep up. πŸ™‚

  17. Carl, Well I certainly hope that I have the same experience as you did with To Kill a Mockingbird! It seems to be a favorite book to so many people…and Mary seems to have excellent tastes in books. Me and Megan do the same thing. She’s been trying to get me to read Yukio Mishima’s Confessions of a Mask for years now…it’s her favorite, but I still haven’t..I did buy it though! So I’ll get to it soon. Her other favorite is Slaughterhouse Five and I did finally read that last year and loved it. Really looking forward to Angels and Visitations. I of course already flipped through it and looked at all of the art and it’s really great! Can’t wait to read the stories I haven’t read yet.

    Heather, Glad to have you over here! Always fun to have someone new πŸ™‚ Weekly Geeks has been fun, huh?

  18. Wow, you’ve got some really great reading ahead of you. Of course, I love To Kill a Mockingbird — my all-time favorite! I also love anything by Carson McCullers. I’ve read really great things about the new Sedaris collection. I need to read Possession. I keep meaning to, but my TBR pile rivals yours. πŸ™‚

  19. Nice selection of new books there!
    Have you gotten any of David Sedaris on audio? It’s great to listen to him read his essays – his sarcastic voice adds so much to the narrative. I’m looking forward to his new one.

  20. Always happy to see someone is going to read To Kill a Mockingbird! I linked to you here:
    http://smallworldreads.blogspot.com/2008/06/weekly-geeks-photos-week.html

  21. […] your browsing?Β  Chris from Stuff as Dreams are Made On, Maree from Just Add Books, Alessandra from Out of the Blue, Chris from Book-a-Rama, Mel from […]

  22. ah, that is so cool to see!!! i love that bookshelf. can’t quite say why, just love it.

    and you got some really cool books there – some very nice editions! i think you’ll definitely like “possession”.

  23. I love that bookshelf too – look at Jack from the Nightmare Before Christmas! so you don’t make me feel so bad for the piles of books on our floor because I refuse to do more double-booking…..I haven’t posted yet, so will later, thanks for sharing all your new books and that bookshelf….I really want to come over and see what you have lined up to read!!! lol

  24. […] demonic with the flash in his eyes, doesn’t he?) is is nonfiction of various kinds. 31. Bookmooch http://stuffasdreamsaremadeon.com/2008/06/07/weekly-geeks-7-and-stuff/ The other six all came from bookmooch and quite a few have been recommended by you bloggers! 32. […]

Leave a Reply

