Sheesh….

So you may have noticed that I’ve been back away from blogland again. I’m beginning to think that it’s a curse that every time I say that things are getting back to normal something else will happen. Dad’s back in the hospital. He had to go back to the ER again two nights ago for what ended up being a blockage in his small intestine…something called Lysis…a complication due to his open heart surgery a couple of weeks ago. It’s mostly caused by the lack of movement and pain pills he was on. I’ll save you the not so pleasant (and I mean really not so pleasant) details, but he’s been in bad shape but is slowly getting better. We have no idea how long he’ll be in the hospital but that’s where I’ve been when I’m not at work.

I feel so bad for my dad…he really just needs a break. He’s not even had a chance to really begin his recovery from his bypass yet and now he has this. At first they thought that he would need more surgery to clear the blockage but they’re thinking now that it may clear itself. His morale is down big time, but we’re all helping him pull through. What’s most frustrating is that I just started this job so I can’t take off to be with him. Someone’s there with him at least, my sister has been spending mornings and most of the day with him while I’m at work, but I always feel guilty being at work while he’s at the hospital. Just really bad timing.

I’m continuing to look on the bright side of things though. I know he’ll feel better once all of this is done and over with and it’ll be the start of some great changes in his life. I know he’ll quit smoking. He’s saying he never wants a cigarette again and after seeing everything he’s gone through I’ve decided I’m going to quit smoking as well. So next time I see my doctor I’m getting Chantix which worked on my mom who had tried everything else to quit. I’ve tried cold turkey before and that lasted all of 2 days. To help prepare me I’m going to go pick up David Sedaris’ latest book, When You Are Engulfed in Flames which is his newest book of essays that has a chapter in it on him quitting smoking…should be entertaining. I love his books and I’m really looking forward to reading that one.

So needless to say, I’m behind in blog reading again, behind in responding to comments…I shouldn’t even bother saying all of this any more :p I should just post it in my “about me” section, lol. I’ll catch up one of these days though.

26 Responses

  1. So sorry it’s not all sorting out for your dad yet. It must seem like one blow after another. I know exactly how frustrating it can be when a job can’t give you the freedom to do things that are important.

    Good luck to your dad with giving up smoking! Has he considered acupuncture? There’s a no smoking point in the ear. My mum, a 40 a day lady for over thirty years had her ears pierced and accidentally got acupunctured. It was great, she said she just didn’t want to smoke at all! Sadly she managed to catch it on something and had to take it out, and it was back to the cigarettes. I’m sure if she’s kept it long enough to get it out of her system, she’d be a non-smoker now.

  2. No worries, mate.

    We all understand. I’ll keep good thoughts about your dad.

    cjh

  3. I’m sorry. And I’m sending you a big virtual hug. At least you live in the same city as your dad, even if you can’t take time off work. I’m sending super-positive thoughts your way and his.

  4. oh no! I hope your dad gets better fast… it’s so hard when the body is already in trauma to have more go wrong! And I know being back in the hospital must seem horrid to him.

    I hope all is well soon. I do know how stressful this can be on you. don’t worry about us.. we’ll be here waiting !

  5. Oh Chris, I’m so very sorry! I can’t imagine how hard this setback must be on both your dad and on you and the rest of the family! Try not to feel guilty about your job though…you know there’s no helping that and it sounds like he’s getting support from others, too.

    Good luck with the quitting smoking! Managing to quit smoking is one of the accomplishments I’m most proud of. I know that sounds stupid, but as you know, it’s a damn hard thing to do!

  6. Your decision to quit smoking is a wonderful one and I hope it is easy going for you. My Mom has been in the hospital now for almost one hundred days, so I know the stress this type of thing can have on a family. Both my parents have battled disease, most likely due to years of smoking, so if you can kick the habit now, then that’s great for you!

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad, Chirs 😦 I hope he gets better soon. And no need to apologize….you have so much going on right now. We’ll all still be here when things calm down.

    And best of luck with your decision to quit smoking!

  8. I’m sorry that your Dad has had a set back, and I hope he gets past this blip soon and gets back on the road to recovery. You shouldn’t worry about all of us out here in blogland. We know you’re going through a tough time, wish you the best, and don’t have any expectations that you will be able to read all our posts and make comments! Your attention needs to be elsewhere for awhile! We just keep checking back to see how things are going for you and to see if life is beginning to settle down a bit. Thinking of you…

  9. Oh dear. I’m so sorry.

    Don’t worry about the blogs. Just take the time to do what you need to do.

    Take care.

  10. I’m so sorry to hear that your dad’s had a setback. I’ll keep you and your family in my continued thoughts and prayers.

    I’ll echo everyone else in saying that you need to just take care of yourself. πŸ™‚ Don’t feel guilty at all for taking a break from blogging and/or reading.

  11. You know, my dad stopped smoking after seeing his mother die and knowing it was smoking-related. So I think that seeing your dad need surgery and knowing he’ll be quitting smoking too will be great motivator, and I bet you’ll be successful this time! Best of luck with it, and I really hope your dad is going to be home soon.

  12. Ahhh, sorry Chris. Things absolutely will get better. Just keep that in mind.

    I quit smoking about a year ago and I’m really glad I did. Kudos to you!

  13. Really sorry to hear that you and your family are having such a tough time at the moment. I hope your dad starts to improve very soon and good luck with stopping smoking. My husband stopped right before his triple bypass op, seven years ago, and has never looked back. Much better for you not to smoke into middle age and end up with those kinds of health problems.

  14. Good luck with quitting! It will be a lot of work, so I’m sending good luck vibes your way.

    I hope things look up for your dad very quickly. Even though you are stressed out, make sure to take time to care for yourself too. And let your dad know that people who only know him virtually care about his recovery πŸ™‚

  15. Chris, darlin’, do NOT feel guilty. You’re doing the best you can. My sister and I took turns when my mother was in the hospital and, honestly, it works better that way. You can only stand so much of sitting around, trying to cheer someone up.

    Good luck quitting the smokes. I’m so excited that you’ve made that decision!!!

  16. Wow, you’ve really had some troubles lately. Here’s hoping they will turn around soon. Best wishes to your dad on a speedy recovery, and good luck to both of you with kicking the smoking habit.

  17. Sorry about your dad’s setback – that is so frustrating! Let’s hope it’s smooth sailing from here on out. And hooray for quitting smoking! You can do it!

  18. Hey, Chris, don’t worry about us – we’re thinking of you and knowing what a super-stressful time this is for you and your family. You’ve started a new job, which is always nerve-wracking for the first few weeks, and on top of that there is your dad. I hope he gets well soon and is back home with you, in the meantime, just look after yourself and your family (your dad will be more stressed if your work suffers because of him!), and we’ll be here when you can come back. Miss you, though! thanks for taking the time to let us know.

  19. I’m sorry to hear your dad’s back in the hospital. I will continue to wish the best for you and your family. I also think it’s great your going to give up smoking. That means more years of blogging friendship with you and that makes me smile.

  20. No apologizes needed for us! This is just the way life is sometimes, right when we think things are settling down, the pot gets stirred again. Many well wishes to you and your family.

  21. Thanks as always for the support everyone! Y’all are the best πŸ™‚

  22. Hey, we understand. Sorry to hear about your dad. My uncle is in the hospital due to blockage and unfortunately has to have surgery. As always, you and yours are in my thoughts and prayers.

  23. Sending good thoughts for your dad. Good luck on the smoking challenge.

  24. Rubbish I hope he comes out of hospital soon. Good luck quitting smoking, hopefully the book will help. No pressure to post here, just when you can find the time to update us.

  25. Oh…I’m so sorry to hear about your Dad. I hope things get better for all of you soon.

    I know what you mean though. The last week or so, I’ve been in such a depressed state I haven’t felt like blogging at all. So unusual for me.

  26. Hang in there, Other Chris!

Leave a Reply

