The Tides Are Turning (All For The Better)

Well it’s been a really long few days since I’ve posted. It feels like it was about a year ago since I’ve last posted here but in reality it’s been a little under a week. Amazing how time slows down when you’re not having fun. But that’s behind us now. Dad’s open heart surgery went really well!!! Thank you all so much for your prayers, thoughts, support, etc. I can’t thank you all enough. You’ve all been a great rock to lean on during all of this with your comforting words and stories of past surgeries!

The surgery itself went perfectly. The doctor said that he couldn’t ask for better and the recovery has been painful to watch, but he’s doing really good. I know he’s in a lot of pain and he’s frustrated that he’s not just hopping right out of bed, but he’ll feel so much better once he’s made the recovery. Unfortunately, one of his ribs was broken during the surgery, so he has that added pain on top of everything else. But he’s doing great with his recovery and they’re looking at letting him go home tomorrow! Surgery was Friday, so that’s not bad at all. We’ll all be taking good care of him.

I started my first day at the new job today too and I really enjoyed it, but I was a little overwhelmed to say the least! I’m sure I’ll feel better once I get acclimated to everything, but there’s so much paperwork and insurance stuff involved working in admissions in the mental health field…it’s enough to drive you mad! I did get to do a couple of assessments today and I was thrilled to do that. It felt so good to have some interactions with clients again. It’s like a rush to me. I’ve really missed that. I just need to learn the ropes as far as all the behind the scenes paperwork goes and I’ll feel much better over there. That will all come with time. The people over there are all great and made me feel welcomed right away which makes a big difference. I think this will be a really good one!

Believe it or not I’ve done little to no reading since I last posted. In fact I’ve only read about 75 pages of The Folk of the Fringe. You’d think that with as much as I’ve been in the hospital I would’ve gotten tons of reading done, but I just couldn’t concentrate and I haven’t been able to make myself read. Hopefully that changes soon. I miss my books, but I can’t bring myself to stick with one right now…

Just like last time I was in the hospital with Dad, I’ve been reading everyone’s blog posts on my phone, I just haven’t been commenting because I can’t on the blackberry….but I do know what everyone’s been up to and I’ve been enjoying reading everyone’s posts! Looks like I need to go see the new Indy from many people’s reviews (though there were one or two that said NO!) and quite a few books have been added to the wishlist :p I think I’m also going to join Becky’s Stephanie Myers challenge…like I need that…

Hopefully posts will be back to usual now that dad is safe and sound and the new job jitters have settled down. Now if I can only get myself to read again! Oh…and don’t forget to sign up for the drawing for Charles Vess’ Book of Ballads this Sunday!

23 Responses

  1. I’m so glad to hear that your father’s recovering! And that your new co-workers are friendly; that really does make all the difference.

    I can understand not being able to read from nervousness! I hope you get back into it soon. 🙂

  2. Great to hear the good news on your dad’s surgery and I’m glad work started off exciting as well.

    As for the lack of reading. I always find it hard to read when my stress level is amped up which I’m sure yours was with your dad going through surgery. It’s hard to escape through reading with some much on your mind.

    Sounds like I will be skipping the Indy movie. I’m afraid to see it after reading all the painful comments over on Carl’s movie review of it. I think I’ll just enjoy the good Indy memories I have. 🙂 Take care!

  3. I’m so relieved to hear things went well with your dad’s surgery. Watching someone you love recuperate isn’t always easy. It hurts to see someone you love in pain and in frustration. And while there are always things you can do to support them, in many ways you feel helpless as well. I will continue to keep you all in my prayers in the upcoming weeks.

    It’s good to hear that you’ve gotten a good start on this job. Coworkers can make all the difference–one way or another. But I’m glad things are looking up for you! You deserve it 🙂

    The Worthing Saga is coming soon–June 2nd I believe–so I hope you’re up for a little reading in the near future. I think you’ll really enjoy it.

  4. HOORAY!!! So happy to hear that Dad is doing so well!! Yep, it does take a little time though..but the worst is over and I know it’s hard for him to make time go by faster so that he feels better.. but it will happen.

    I am also happy that you started your new job! Between the stress of your dad and “new job/ new people” I am surprised you are functioning at all !! But I’m sure by this time next week you will feel like an old hand at it!

    There were disappointments in Indy but I still wouldn’t have missed it for the world! It is entertaining.. just not what anyone seemed to have expected..and age wasn’t the problem.

  5. All great news, Chris! So glad to hear it!

  6. I’m so glad your dad’s surgery went well!! That has to be a huge load off your mind. And the new job is good?? Sounds like you are having a great week so far! I’m really glad!

  7. Oh, hurray, I’m so glad and relieved it’s over and the surgery went so well! And you started your new job at the same time – as Pat (Deslily) said, it’s a wonder you are functioning at all! It’s scary to see the open chest (my mother said, after looking at my stepfathers’ stitches, no way was she going through open heart surgery!), but wondrous what medicine can do now. This has made my day, Chris!
    And I’m afraid paperwork just plain sucks no matter where you find it…..I work in a government job, you can imagine how hard it is to change anything we do, it takes years for tiny little procedures to change, and so much time spent proposing reasons why etc! At least you get to be hands on too!
    All in all, it’s a wonder you read even 75 pages! Sometimes, only vegging in front of the tv will do…..
    big smiles from up north here that everything has gone so well. 🙂

  8. Oh, good, what a huge relief. I’m glad the surgery went well, apart from that rib. Paperwork is just a bizarre fact of life. You’d think in our electronic world we could down a few less trees for history and references and personal info, blah, blah. Hope the rest of your week continues to be an improvement. 🙂

  9. I’m so glad to hear that things are going so well, and I hope they continue to do so through his recovery. Very scary stuff. Hang in there, and may you have peaceful times ahead for lots of relaxing reading. Hugs!

  10. Good to know things went well with your dad – but sorry about the broken rib.

    And it’s great that you enjoyed your new job. Your general positive attitude probably had a lot to do with it too. Go, just keep at it. 🙂

    But paperwork – can you “delegate”?

  11. It’s great to hear that the surgery went well, Chris! I had been wondering about you and your dad. All that paperwork at your new job does sound overwhelming, but I’m glad you’re enjoying it and that the people are friendly – that does make a world of difference!

  12. So glad to hear that everything is going well…. Don’t worry about the reading. Once your brain stops going a hundred million miles an hour, you’ll drift back to the books again. 😉

  13. I’m glad to hear your good news! Modern medicine is just amazing these days!

  14. I’m so relieved to hear your dad’s surgery went well, and that he’s on the road to recovery! I have to admit I was a bit worried not hearing from you for so long, though I can certainly understand why you haven’t posted. I can also understand not getting any reading done…it’s hard to turn your brain off of worry mode to concentrate!

    I’m sure you must be relieved to have that “first day” over with. It’s always the worst, right? So glad to hear you enjoyed it, well, sans paperwork anyway. I’m sure before you know it, all that stuff will be old hat though.

  15. So pleased to read that your dad’s surgery was successful and that he’s in recovery. Hope that he makes a full and as swift as possible recovery.

    Don’t know if I already said congrats on the new job (the recent weeks have been a bit of a muddle!), but congrats again just in case I didn’t! Glad the first day went well. Hope this one is a keeper!

  16. I’m so glad to hear that your Dad’s surgery went well, and that his recovery is also moving right along. And I’m happy for you that you’ve started your new job and are going to like it. However, work certainly does get in the way of our “real” life (reading and blogging), doesn’t it!?

  17. ::BIG GRIN, here::

    Except for the paperwork. ::rolling eyes:: Those are always annoying.

    But YAY!!! for the wonderful meaningful job, for the healthy recovering dad!!!! Life is sweet! -C

  18. Hooray! Now everything should be cool again, thank God!

  19. So glad to hear the good news about your dad. I’ve been popping over here hoping for news and I am relieved that the news is good. I’m sure his recovery won’t be as fast as he would like it to be, but I do hope it all goes by quickly for him.

    I’m glad you are back to work. I can of course relate to the “paperwork in the mental health field” issue since I too deal with it every day. It can be VERY frustrating to say the least.

    Even though I pretty much think Indy is a travesty, I still suggest people who are wanting to see it to do so in the theatre. If you don’t care one way or another I certainly wouldn’t spend the money, but if this is one you are still itching to see it would be a shame not to enjoy the enjoyable parts on the big screen.

  20. Me and Mariel are so glad your dad’s surgery went well (she is staying for a couple of days) and he is recovering nicely. Yay that the new job is going well if a little stressful. I am in a similar place with reading at the moment. I start my new job Monday and my head is so scattered I am finding it very difficult to sit down and read so am trying to read graphic novels and comics which seem less taxing somehow.

  21. I’m glad your dad is recovering well. Wow, it must be amazingly stressful to have your dad in the hospital at the same time you’re starting a new job! Hope it all goes well for you.

  22. Thanks everyone for the comments! I’ve been horrible ONCE AGAIN about responding to everyone and it all got out of control, but I appreciate the support 🙂 Please forgive me…this week has been one of the craziest of my life! But things are all looking good and that’s what matters to me right now and I’m happy for it!

  23. My father has had several open heart surgeries, and uses them as a chance to witness of God’s grace. But, in his very first one they completely took his rib, and he’s been in awful pain since. He sleeps with a pillow held tightly to his chest ever since; all that to say I can sympathize with your dear father’s situation. Isn’t it a miracle, though, that they can have the pathways open up? My father’s last surgery was ten years ago, and I’m so grateful we’ve had all these years. I pray your father recovers quickly, really he’ll be good as new once the healing sets in. XOXO

Leave a Reply

