Riding The Waves

I got the jo-ob! I got the jo-ob! πŸ™‚ I’m now officially the new admissions counselor at a private psychiatric hospital down here in New Orleans. The very same place that I’ve been wanting to work at since I graduated. So good things really do come to those who wait. It only took a year… I actually start working on May 27th. My salary’s even higher than I was expecting! I love the hours too…3-11pm monday-friday and every other Saturday and Sunday from 7am-3pm. But when I work the weekends I’m off on friday and monday to adjust my sleep schedule. The best part is I know a lot of the people who work there from when I did my internship there and I’m already familiar with the hospital. So excited about this job!

Met with dad’s surgeon this morning and he’s really good. He went over everything with us and explained the surgery and my dad’s condition in detail. It was reassuring in a way…stressful in a way…but I feel like he’s in good hands. The big bummer of the day is that they can’t do the surgery until next Friday, May 23rd which seems like an awfully long time to wait when his blockages are as bad as they are and his health has been as bad as it has been since this happened. But that’s the soonest the surgeon can do it. We just don’t have the resources down here since Katrina…a fact that the doctors will tell you. They’re just short handed. I think he’ll be ok though. We’re all helping him through. It’ll be rough starting a new job right after his surgery, but with the evening hours, It’ll work out good with me having some time to visit with him during the day before I go in and someone else can be with him at night while I’m working.

I’ve been forgetting that this is a book blog with everything else going on! I finished Life as we Knew it by Susan Beth Pfeffer WAY earlier than I was supposed to for Becky’s Online Reading Group. It was such an incredible book and so captivating that I really couldn’t put it down and as much as I meant to pace myself to keep up with the pacing of the group I found myself turning the last page of the book in no time at all. It’s written in the form of a diary kept by a 10th grader named Miranda. At the beginning of the book, life is normal and we are shown the everyday life of a teenage girl. Then there is talk of an asteroid that is supposed to collide with the moon. No big deal, it’s supposed to be a fun event that’s supposed to be visible with the naked eye and everyone has gathered their lawn chairs to watch the event happen. But when the asteroid collides the moon suddenly jumps in the sky towards Earth growing luminous and huge. In the following days tsunamis, earthquakes and volcanoes begin destroying the world as we know it and life as we knew it disappears. Food and water become scarce as does life.

This was a terrifying but ultimately hopeful story of survival, humanism, love, and companionship at it’s strongest. It was one of those books that was so well written that I couldn’t help but ponder for a long while how I would handle some of these same situations. I felt trapped in the book sometimes even when I wasn’t reading it wondering if the moon looked just a little bigger or even though the thermometer said 80 I couldn’t help but shiver a little bit. Does that ever happen to anyone else when a book is so well written? You actually carry the experience with you…get lost in it? Maybe I just had too much stress going on last week and I was losing it :p Anyhow, this is definitely one to put on your list if you haven’t read it yet. It’s fantastic! She really could’ve made this one of the most depressing books that I’ve ever read and I thought for awhile that she would. But it’s not and I’m glad that it wasn’t because I wouldn’t have been able to handle that last week. It was a story of hope and survival when it seems like there’s none to be found.

37 Responses

  1. Congratulations on the job!! Good for you! And sending good wishes along for your dad, too!

    Lezlie

  2. Congratulations on the job! Yay. Good luck to your Dad, too.

    I have LIfe As We Knew It on my TBR pile, too. It sounds good.

  3. OMG! OMG! OMG! I’m sooooo thrilled for you, Chris!!!! Really, really, really thrilled! Congratulations!!!!

    It must be so agonizing waiting for your dad to have his surgery! I keep thinking about you all…be sure to keep us posted, okay?

    I’m glad you enjoyed Life As We Knew It! I loved that book…but it scared the shit out of me! If my little family had been in her family’s shoes, we would have been toast. Seriously, we wouldn’t have stood a chance. Scary stuff.

  4. Way to go Baby Boy!!!! I am so happy you got the job you’ve always wanted!!! YOu want to help others so badly.. I knew something good had to happen for you !

    Like you I am shocked your dads surgery has to wait until May 23.. that’s my grandsons birthday and I refuse to let anything bad happen that day, so it’s a good day for surgery!! I will keep him in my wishes..

    glad you enjoyed your read, I can agree that when you’re down there’s nothing like a bit of hope to get you thru!

  5. Congrats on the new job, Chris!!! I’m thrilled for you! And all best wishes to your Dad.

  6. Lezlie, Thanks on both counts! Thrilled about the job over here! THanks so much for all of your good thoughts about my dad…I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

    Susan, Thanks and thanks! Talk about mixed emotions! I think you’ll LOVE Life as we Knew it when you get to it. It’s a quick read and you won’t be able to put it down when you start it. It’s amazing. Terrifying at time, but good!

    Debi, I don’t know who’s more happy…me or you! lol…:) Thanks! Thanks for continuing to keep us in your thoughts. I think we’ll be ok, I just wish that they could’ve gotten him in sooner. But we’ll take what we can get! Life as we Knew it scared the shit out of me too!! I think I would be complete toast too if I were in that situation…take that back, I know I would be. So scary. People shouldn’t write books like that, lol. But it was very good. She has a companion book coming out real soon. I’m going to get it!

    Deslily, Thanks πŸ˜€ I knew you’d be happy. I’ve been waiting for something good to happen…anyday now…lol…finally, huh? I’m thrilled! The surgery was a big bummer, but whatcha gonna do? I’m glad to hear that it’s also your grandson’s birthday and that someone’s going to be celebrating somewhere on that day! I’m sure we’ll be celebrating too that he came out of the surgery fine. Thanks for keeping him in your wishes.

    CDN, Thanks! I’m thrilled too! Thanks a bunch for the good wishes for my dad…I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

  7. Yay! YAY!!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!!!! and a thousand wows!!!!!!

    What a blessing. I’m so happy for you. And to get the job you’ve always wanted, that’s really wonderful.

    Next Friday is a long way off but your dad’ll be okay. Again, all my congratulations. -C

  8. Yay! Congratulations! Cheers!

  9. yay Chris! I’m so happy for you! It just had to happen eventually, you totally deserve it!

    And that’s good that your dad is in good hands…I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for the surgery. It will go well, you’ll see.

    I won’t add Life as We Knew It to my wishlist because, thanks to Debi and others, it’s already there. But it really does sound like an excellent book.

  10. Congratulations!! I’m SO happy for you! A job offer from the place you actually want to work?? What could be better than that??

    You are right….it does sound like a long time. But I”m sure the doctor’s know what they are doing. You dad is in good hands!

    Life as We Knew it sounds wonderful. Guess I should add it to my list. Sigh.

  11. Congratulations on the job!!! I’m so happy for you!!! And it looks like things are going as well as they can be expected with your dad. I’ll keep you all in my thoughts.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the book! The Dead and the Gone (the companion novel) may be available now if you want more. It’s so good–so very good. In many ways it is so different from LAWKI, but it’s just so good.

    As for LAWKI, I think the response is typical–I don’t know if any of her readers will ever be able to look at the moon in the same way again. And the book does make you shiver. Which could be a very good thing when it’s a bit too warm or too hot. In my opinion. It’s rare for me for a book to lead to that, but this one does. (So does The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder.)

    I posted about it on the site, but I’ll mention it here too….Pfeffer is giving away autographed book labels/plates if you email her. Which I think is just too cool πŸ™‚

  12. Congratulations on getting the job you always wanted. I’m so pleased for you.

    And fingers crossed that your dad’s surgery goes off okay. I’m sure it will.

  13. Woo-Hoo, congratulations! It’s funny how everything sucks one minute and is great the next, isn’t it? I’m sure it’ll be a big relief once your Dad’s surgery is finished. After that, I’m sure more great things will happen to you.

  14. Congratulations on the new job, Chris! I’m so happy for you! I’m keeping your dad in my thoughts, too, and hope all goes well. Recovery will be amazingly fast for him because his heart will be working better than it has for a long time. Thinking of you!

  15. Yay! Congrats on the job!

  16. Good for you!!!! Congratulations. Best to your father, too. My allergist says his brother is (or was — not sure, actually, if he’s still there) a heart surgeon in N.O. Sounds like the doctor situation is pretty awful, so a week might not be all that bad. I’ll keep him in my prayers. πŸ™‚

  17. Congrats Chris!! I’m so happy for you. πŸ˜€ And I’ll be keeping your father in my thoughts.

  18. Yay for the job!! How exciting!

    And the news about your dad is pretty good. Attitude is a large part of recovery so it sounds like your dad is in good hands. Just remember you need to take care of yourself, too. If you don’t, you can’t be there for your dad.

    cjh

  19. Too cool dude, congrats!!! I am so happy for you. I’m sure you’ll really enjoy it and life will look a lot different now. Will be nice to see how things improve for you now that you have this stability and the stress of job hunting gone. I look forward to hearing even more good news about your dad as the days go on. We are keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers.

  20. Ah. I’m late commenting as usual.

    Congratulations for the new job. It’s amazing how good things can come to those who wait. πŸ™‚

    Your dad is in my thoughts. I hope he recovers soon.

    You’re reading Bone Doll’s Twin? Is it as intense as the synopsis seems to indicate?

  21. Congratulations on the job, excellent news.

    Hope everything goes well with your dad’s op.

    I’m loving Life as we knew it, at the moment I have kept to schedule but we’ll see. I have a feeling that I won’t be able to stop next time I start! It is so brilliant and I am living it too, I was looking at our cupboards wondering how long our food would last πŸ™‚ I’ve also been appreciating bread a lot more this week!

  22. Congratulations! Sounds like a fresh start is exactly what you need. Enjoy it, and hope everything is ok with your dad.

  23. Brilliant news Chris, congratulations! Sounds perfect, and it will be lovely to feel like you’re going back to a place in stead of starting out in an entirely new one. Woohoo!

    Glad your dad’s being cared for, it’s a pity about the delay, but if he’s comfortable and you’re confident that he’s being well looked after, I’m sure the time’ll fly by to the operation. Wish him luck for me.

  24. Congratulations! That’s fantastic news about the job!
    And I hope your dad’s surgery goes better than well.

  25. Thanks for all of the congratulations and good wishes and everything everyone!!! I really appreciate them πŸ™‚ And for those thinking of reading Life as We Knew it…do! It’s great!

    Oh, and Dark Orpheus, Bone Doll’s Twin is amazing!! I hope you read it when you get a chance…I’m loving it and I’m only 100 pages in!

  26. Yaaaay!!!!!Did you hear that shout all the way from Canada? That was me, so very very happy for you that you got the job you wanted. In about 6 months we should start seeing all the books you are going to be buying!! It’s amazing what having the job you like -and permanent – and good pay, can do for book buying!! πŸ™‚

    Fingers crossed still for your dad. It sounds as bad down there for hospital treatment as ever. It sounds like though the surgeon thinks your dad can make it to then, which is good. You’ll be in our thoughts and prayers.

    I read the Bone Dolls’ Twin last year – it is really good. I have to read the third one now – it just came out in paperback at Christmas, so it’s on my challenges! Thanks for LAWKI,I haven’t read it yet, and can’t seem to find it up here. Your review makes me really want to read it, though after seeing I am Legend, that was pretty heavy and earth-ending too….

  27. Yay for you Chris, I’m so happy to hear that you got the job you have been wanting! And even better that the pay is good and the schedule fits your needs. How wonderful!

    I really hope the surgery goes well for your dad. I know you and your family are very stressed out, but I’m glad you are feeling more optimistic now.

  28. Oh man, congrats on your job! That’s pretty awesome. Isn’t getting the job you want the greatest feeling?

    Also, yay for Life As We Knew It! It’s awesome! I hope you read the dead & the gone and keep following along. I am totally encouraging everyone to keep supporting Pfeffer so she’ll keep writing in the universe. It’s totally fascinating. πŸ˜€

    (Also, best wishes for your father!)

  29. Yay Chris!! It all seems to work out in the end doesn’t it? Good luck to your Dad as well. That does seem like such a long time to be in limbo.

  30. hooooraay!!!!

    oh wow. it couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy.

    oh, i’m so glad.

    and also because you’ve really been in need of that kind of stability in your life – its all been… well, unstable. so for that especially i’m glad for you.

    hooray for christ!

  31. […] Life As We Knew It, by Susan Beth Pfeffer (stuff as dreams are made on) (tags: susan.beth.pfeffer life.as.we.knew.it young.adult science.fiction moon post.apocalyptic great.balls.of.fire! the.sky.is.falling! pennsylvania hunger diary.style) […]

  32. I’m late in saying it, but CONGRATS!!! πŸ™‚ So glad you have a job that will be enjoyable and works out so well for you! (Wish I could work from 3-11! LOL!)

  33. chris, some funky shit’s been going on… i’ve commented on a few posts, but they haven’t appeared…

    anyway, for the second time, congratulations! you really deserve it! it couldn’t have happenet to a nicer guy.

    and its so good that you’ve got some stability now, because its been so up in the air for so long now…!

    so i’m really happy for you.

  34. christ, some funky-ass shit is going on. i’ve written a comment twice on this post now – and on others…

  35. Congrats on the job – it sounds exciting! Also, I’ll keep your dad in my thoughts – waiting is always the hardest part.

  36. […] of this book: Renay Could I possibly manage to link to Renay a fourth time in this post? Why yes. Chris Bonnie Debi Becky Your name here! (Let me know about your review in the […]

  37. […] at Things Mean A Lot an adventure in reading Tara at Books and Cooks Stuff As Dreams Are Made On 1 More Chapter Book Addiction Books on the Brain Presenting Lenore bookshelves of doom Hey Lady! […]

Leave a Reply

