Thanks Everyone!

I wanted to write a quick post to thank everyone for all of your wonderful comments on my last post. I honestly can’t tell you how comforting you guys have all been and how much of a support you have been for me. It makes me smile every time I read a comment from you. This community really is such a wonderful things and you’re all the best.

We still have no idea what the hell is going on. My dad’s in the hospital still but might be going home today and we have no idea when they’re going to do the surgery. They keep running more and more tests and we haven’t had any definitive answers on anything. I guess all we can do is trust. He’s determined to change his lifestyle though which is the best thing I could ever hope for and they’re sending him home with loads of medication and the doctor assured me they wouldn’t let him leave the hospital unless they thought he would be ok. They were going to do the surgery early next week, but now it may be later because of some other test…who knows.

I’ve been reading some while at the hospital, but can’t concentrate for too long on anything. I read I was a Rat by Phillip Pullman and let me tell you, if you ever need a good little story to cheer you up for just an hour or so, this is one to do it. I loved it. It’s a great little spin on a tale you know about a little boy who shows up one day at a family’s house proclaiming that he was indeed a rat…and it seems that he was as he has all the tendencies of one. I really enjoyed it and hope you will too. Sorry, that’s about all the review you’re going to get out of me right now, but it was a good one. Started reading Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight, but my brain can’t take non-fic right now…I need to get lost in a fantasy world. I’ll start Life as we Knew it later and maybe post on it in the book club if I can…we’ll see if time allows.

I’ve been missing commenting on everyone’s posts, but I have been reading them! I’ve been reading on my PDA at the hospital through Google reader…the wonders of technology, huh? Just can’t comment through it…well I could, but it would take forever. So when dad falls asleep, I surf the net on my phone :p So it’s good to know what’s going on with everyone.

My birthday is Sunday (same as Mother’s day) so we’ll probably do cake with dad for that. Hopefully the present this year is some good news on my dad’s case. If I can’t post before Sunday, Happy Mother’s Day to all of you wonderful mothers out there! Your kids are all lucky! Miss you guys!!

-Chris

16 Responses

  1. Happy (early) birthday! I really hope your birthday wish comes true. (Did that sound too corny? I hope not, but I’m not going to delete it, because it’s true.)

  2. Good to hear from you, Chris, and to have an update on your dad. I hope they get things sorted out soon! Thanks for the Mother’s Day greetings! Hope you have a great birthday weekend!

  3. Happy Birthday baby boy!!!.. oh wait… when kids get older parents get older, hmmmmmm.. must you really have a birthday?? heh.

    I hope the next time you get a chance to come on that you have more even better news about your dad.

  4. Been thinking about you a lot, and wondering how things are going. It was really sweet of you to take the time to post to let us all know what’s up at this point. Wish you had more news…I’m sure not knowing is mighty hard. You and your family will certainly remain in my thoughts!

    And Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday, Chris! I guess it will be quite an odd one, but like Eva said, I hope your birthday wish comes true! And please, please, please, while you’re taking care of your dad there, be sure to take care of yourself, too, o.k.?

  5. Happy birthday a tad early!

    Just so you know – my mom suffered a massive stroke a couple of days before my birthday one year so I know what you’re going through.

    Good thoughts and prayers.

    cjh

  6. Glad to hear your dad is doing ok! We will continue to think the best for the both of you. Also pre Happy Birthday wishes! 🙂

  7. Happy to hear your father is easing up, and my hubby’s b-day is Sunday, too! Happy B(early)-Day! 😀

  8. I’ve been keeping you and your dad in my thoughts…hopefully they will find out exactly what he has soon, and the news will be good. I’m glad to hear that I was a Rat cheered you up a bit…it’s a good book for that. Thanks for keeping us updated, and happy early birthday!

  9. It can be very frustrating when the doctors don’t know enough to tell you what’s wrong.

    Take care.

    And happy birthday.

  10. I hope there’s good news for you soon.

    Have as happy a birthday as you can manage and reserve a day for celebrations later.

    xx

  11. hey, sorry to hear about your dad. i hope they can treat him soon so he can get home and rest up. i know how worrying it can be. all the best for the whole family.

  12. Happy birthday, Chris!

  13. I’m so sorry to know you and you family is going through all this, I really hope for the best for you dad.
    It seems silly to say Happy birthday in these circumstances but I really hope you have a good one. It’s good you had I was a Rat to take you away for a little while, I loved it too.:)

  14. Sorry I couldn’t get on to your earlier post in time, I haven’t been very well either. I hope your dad is able to have his surgery or the balloon through his veins (whichever option they give); my stepfather had quadruple bypass 10 years ago when he suddenly had his heart attack, and he is still doing very well, so if your dad can have this, then that’s what I hope for you all. If he can’t or goes through the balloon (sorry, I forget the name, I’m really tired again), my stepmother’s mother had it over 20 years ago and until she passed away earlier this year, she did really well. So, all my thoughts and prayers for your family, your dad and you that he is able to have what helps him heal the best. And yes, that would be my birthday wish for you, today, too, Chris! happy birthday! and when this has passed, may you find some really great books. Here’s a hug from Ottawa.

  15. Happy birthday! I hope that things were better today for your dad, because that would be a great birthday present!! Enjoy your cake:-)

    When things are back to normal, I tagged you for my meme

  16. Oh, Chris, I’m sorry I missed that post. Hope your dad improves and is able to get out of the hospital, soon. I know how frustrating it is — all the not knowing and worry. Happy belated birthday!

    Sorry I haven’t been visiting blogs, much. I’ve been a little bit overwhelmed, here. Hugs to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

