Old Habits Die Hard…

Or they just don’t die at all. How many times have you heard me say this year that I’m not joining any more challenges? Well I am :p 3 to be exact! Well, to be fair one of them is sort of a renewal of a current challenge that I’m failing miserably at. That one would be the Series Challenge hosted by Crazy Cozy Murders. She’s renewed it for a round 2 because she didn’t do too well herself….I feel your pain 😉 So I’m continuing on with The Chronicles of Narnia and A Song of Ice and Fire for that one and round 2 ends on November 30th. Here’s the official list:

1. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin (A Song of Ice and Fire book 3)
2. A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin (A Song of Ice and Fire book 4)
3. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Marting (A Song of Ice and Fire book 5 to be released 9/5/08)
4. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis (Narnia Book 3)
5. The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis (Narnia Book 4)
6. The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis (Narnia Book 5)
7. The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis (Narnia Book 6)
8. The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis (Narnia Book 7)

Next one I’m joining is the Southern Reading Challenge hosted by Maggie! I kicked myself in the ass for not joining this one last year. It didn’t sound like something I would be interested in, especially since I live in the south and I’m surrounded by it all of the time…but I started reading reviews of all of these great southern books and then realized that I liked reading about my own heritage and liked reading books set in familiar places with a familiar feel to them. I’m currently reading a book of short stories called Crossroads: Tales of the Southern Literary Fantastic which Nymeth read last year for the Southern Reading Challenge and it’s all fantasy stories set in the deep south. The greatest thing about reading these is reading them on the back borch and smelling the magnolia tree, feeling the southern wind and just really feeling connected to the story while reading it. So I think I’ll enjoy this! Here’s my list. The challenge runs from May 15th through August 15th and you have to read 3 books! Thanks for hosting this again so that I can join in the fun Maggie!

1. To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee
2. The Watermelon King by Daniel Wallace
3. Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

And finally, I couldn’t pass up the 1% Well Read Challenge hosted at 1morechapter! This one’s fun...it’s basically to read 10 books out of the 1001 books you must read before you die list. The Challenge runs from May 1st through February 28th 2009. I’ve only read 29 books on the list so I have PLENTY to read still before I die!! There are plenty that I’d like to read but here is a list of possibles that I’ll pick my ten from (please excuse the obnoxious list that follow but there were 1001 books!):

1. Never Let me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
2. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
3. Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
4. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
5. Fury by Salman Rushdie
6. Choke by Chuck Palahniuk
7. After the Quake by Haruki Murakami
8. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
9. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
10. Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
11. Beloved by Toni Morrisson
12. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
13. Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole
14. Possession by A.S. Byatt
15. The Virgin in the Garden by A.S. Byatt
16. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
17. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
18. Cider with Rosie by Laurie Lee
19. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
20. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
21. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
22. The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley
23. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
24. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
25. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

How’s that for enough challenges?? Phew! Oh yeah….and Dewey’s weekly geeks number 2…can’t forget about that! I’ve actually been considering doing this one for awhile. For this second week, we’re all stealing Darla D’s idea if we want to 😉 And I think I want to. What she does is posts other reviews to books that she reviews at the bottom of her post. So if you see that I review a book and you’ve reviewed it as well, just let me know in the comments or shoot me an email (my email’s in my sidebar) and I’ll be sure to update the post to include your review as well. Great new feature there!

Hopefully tomorrow I’ll get to two fun memes that CJ and Eva have tagged me for and hopefully sometime this week I’ll have some book reviews up! May is not starting out too good for me. I feel like I’ve been busy as hell and haven’t had any time for reading. I do have 4 books going at once though, so that could be the problem :p

32 Responses

  1. Yeah…I’m definitely in for the 1% Challenge. I read over the list, and I think I’ve read a total of 38 books. That’s pretty bad, I think. I still can’t believe you haven’t read my number 1 favorite book of all time….To Kill a Mockingbird!! Other than that, the only book on your list I’ve read is Never Let Me Go. Strange book, but very good!

  2. Yay! I’m thrilled you are participating this year and I look forward to your southern posts! ;D When I get settled I’ll be doing the 1 percenter, too!

  3. I’m so thrilled that all the people I follow are doing Dewey’s challenge! It’s going to be three tons of fun. 😀

  4. Steph, Yay for the 1% i could’ve doubled that list too, but I had to stop somewhere :/ That’s a really cool challenge. Hey, you have me beat with 38 books! I’ve only read 29! Really sad…they don’t cater to fantasy lovers, I’ll tell you that much. I’ll finally be reading your favorite book!!! I’m so excited 😀

    Maggie, I’m really excited that you’re hosting this challenge. I was kicking myself in the butt all along last year for not joining in. Look forward to doing the 1% with you too!

    Renay, Dewey’s challenge is going to be a lot of fun 🙂 It’s exciting waiting to see what the new theme is going to be for the next week. This review thing will be cool too with all of us joining in!

  5. Psssttt…

    Bookfool tagged you for the random things meme too…

    And I’m thinking about the 1% challenge and the southern challenge…

    We’re all nuts, aren’t we?

    cjh

  6. Between you, Eva, and Robin any idea I had of resisting the Southern Reading Challenge is now gone 😛 You’ll love To Kill a Mockingbird! And I hope you love The Watermelon King. Those two alone made the challenge completely worth it for me last year. But I really enjoyed my other choices as well. I’m glad to hear you like Crossroads so far!

    I love your list for the 1% Well-Read challenge. I keep forgetting you haven’t read A Confederacy of Dunces! It has the second best description of New Orleans I have ever seen (after Anne Rice’s books). Plus it’s hilarious. And sad at the same time. Ohhh, and Middlesex, and Possession, and The Little Prince and The Remains of the Day! Okay, you get the idea, lots of great books in there 😛

  7. I laughed right out loud when I popped over and saw the title of your post along with the button for the Southern Challenge. I knew right away you’d caved! I’ve been telling myself, “NO, NO, NO!” on the Southern Challenge. But you all seem to be turning that into more of a “no, no, well maybe”! I really loved that challenge last year, so… And I’m in on the 1% challenge, too. It was haunting my thoughts, and I figured the only way to put it to rest so I could concentrate on anything else was to just join it. I think the only book I’ve read (though I’ve read it several times) is To Kill a Mockingbird…oh, you are in for a treat!

  8. By the way, I meant the only one from your list…not from the whole 1001. (Not that I’ve read all that many from the 1001.)

  9. I loved A Song of ice and fire I didn’t realise the next one was out soon, so thanks!

    The challenges sound really good, I’m tempted!

  10. These challenges are just too much fun, even when we’re not doing so hot on them, aren’t they? I love the 1001 Books list, so I hopped right on board with that one too!

    Good luck with all of your challenges!
    Lezlie

  11. I know the feeling about challenges. I am trying to be restrained, I only signed up for the Series Challenge II but I am really tempted by the non-fiction 5 and classics ones. Must resist… must be strong…

  12. Good grief, Chris! No Eudora for the Southern Challenge? No Ernest Gaines? No Faulkner????? ::smile:: No Truman Capote????:: smiling again:: Is this a challenge by southern authors about the south or by southern authors about anywhere and everything?

    To kill a mockingbird is totally awesome. I HAVE read that. I never heard of the other two in your Southern list. And In Cold Blood was — well, the best creative nonfiction crime novel I ever read. I wonder if there is a author-circle-friends’ challenge out there. Like the inklings or Bloomsbury. A challenge where one reads all the works by certain friends. Then In Cold Blood, MockingBird, and Heart is a lonely hunter would all be in the same challenge.

    I gotta say I love southern authors. I think it was Eudora who said that northerners would read her work and compliment her on the beautiful use of language and the wonderful metaphors and the hominess of the storytelling and they thought it was just so hard and she said it was easy cause she came from the south… what she had to do was tone it all down or else it would take over. Makes me think you guys down south breathe poetry and narrative stylings like everyone else breathes air.

    Have a great week…and have a great interview. -C

  13. Well, you probably know I love To Kill a Mockingbird and Garden Spells, since I seem to repeat those facts often enough. I think you’ll love Garden Spells. Is Mockingbird new to you or a repeat?

    I am sorely tempted by both of these challenges, but I simply don’t have the time, this year, what with catching up with myself, trying to repair the flooring and walls in my empty den, getting ready to sell my mother’s house and blah, blah, blah. Some years are like that. But, I always have fun reading all the reviews. Hope you enjoy the challenges. Don’t let them make you feel overwhelmed — just have fun with them. And, good luck on that interview!

  14. I know…it’s a terrible addiction,isn’t it?

    Definitely read Choke.It’s one of my faves.
    I just read Beloved…and then watched the movie. I recommend skipping the movie altogether 😛

  15. Carole: did you ever read or see “The Grass Harp” by Truman Capote? I’ve seen the movie and loved it and I just recently got the book!

    NOw.. on to my “son”.. good lord Chris!!!! Megan should be glad you don’t live near her or together because she’d never see you without your head stuck in a book with all those challenges! LOL LOL..

    Sometimes I am really glad I am not “reading challenged” LOL.. I just read what I feel like reading.. I could never commit to all those (as much fun as I know they are) I always have a book going but unless the library was DIRECTLY ACROSS THE STREET FROM WHERE I LIVED… anything more than what I feel like reading would have to come from there, and be dang convient to boot! lol…

  16. Yes., Deslily. It was very good. I don’t know what my thing is but I love southern movies and southern stories. Saw Junebug and looooved it. Saw Come Early Morning with Ashley Judd and loooved it.

    My favorite Truman story is “My side of the matter.”

    I think I have to go down south one of these days for vacation and quit having my “flyover states” fears of the place. -C

  17. To Kill a Mockingbird and Confederacy of Dunces would work for the Southern Reading Challenge AND the 1% Well Read Challenge. And, you’d be reading the best book of all time (To Kill a Mockingbird, of course!).

  18. Chris, a PS:

    The Moonstone is waaay better than Woman in White. Also, Marquez says there are more than 90 mistakes in 100 years of solitude. I read it and never could find all 90. But it’ll be fun to compare my findings with yours. And it’s a great book. -C

  19. CJ, Yes indeed! We are all nuts :p I hope you do join in on all of the challenges. I saw that you signed up for the southern challenge…it’ll be fun reading Garden Spells together! I saw that Bookfool tagged me too, guess I better get on that one! I’m trying to think of 6 interesting things :p

    Nymeth, You most certainly CANNOT resist the southern reading challenge seeing as you’re the one who pretty much made up my list for this year and put so many books on my TBR list from last year! I can’t believe I’ve never read A Confederacy of Dunces. I think I’m the only person who lives here who hasn’t :p Oh well..I think my whole list for the 1% challenge is made of books you’ve reviewed as well, lol.

    Debi, I figured that my post would give you a laugh, lol. I thought of you while I was writing it. I also figured that when you saw me joining all of these, you’d follow suit and I wouldn’t feel so alone :p Can’t wait for To Kill a Mockingbird!

    Marmite, I’ve only read the first 2 from a Song of Ice and Fire and they’re 2 of my favorite fantasy books. I loved them so much and his characters are just top notch! Don’t be tempted, just join in :p

    Lezlie, They really are a lot of fun! I keep telling myself no more, but it’s pointless…I’m going to join them anyway :/ I just need to start finishing some of them! Good luck to you too!

    Rhinoa, I still may sign up for the non fiction 5 challenge…i barely read any nonfic…I think I’ve read one this year :/ I always enjoy it too when I do read it, there’s just always something else that I want to read more. You know what they say “so many books, so little time” I’m trying to resist and be strong too…we’ll see how long that lasts…

    Carole, It’s supposed to be southern authors about the south…I know, I know…:p none of the classics. Well except for To Kill a Mockingbird. I do much better with contemporary lit for some reason. Always have. I think it’s because I had some of the worst English teachers in the world back in high school and college, so I associate so many of the classics with misery which is ashame…so I shy away from many of them. There is actually an Inklings challenge! It’s a C.S. Lewis and Tolkien challenge and I’m in that one! I haven’t read any Eudora though…I’ll have to check her out. Maybe add a book on by her for the southern challenge…suggestions? I didn’t know that Capote wrote Junebug by the way….loved the movie adaptation! Wasn’t it wonderful??? And I’ll consider reading The moonstone instead of Woman in White. They’re both on the 1001 list. Can’t wait for 100 years of Solitude! Loved Love in the Time of Cholera…one of my favorite books.

    Bookfool, I’m super excited about Garden Spells! I picked it up right after your review of it awhile back and it’s been sitting on my shelf ever so patiently ever since then. Now it may finally get read! Mockingbird is a first for me…can’t wait since it’s a favorite of so many. I completely understand not joining the challenges…I have no business joining them myself :p I’ve learned not to get overwhelmed by them anymore and I go into them knowing that I won’t finish, LOL! Isn’t that pathetic? It’s just fun to set these goals and to try and to know I’ll at least get a few books read off of the shelf.

    Rebecca, It is indeed a terrible addiction, but it’s a fun one :p I’ve been looking forward to Palahniuk for a long time. I have like 5 or 6 of his books and I’ve never read anything by him! Weird, huh? He’s just one of those authors that I know I’ll like.

    Deslily, I hang my head in shame, lol…Did you laugh out loud when you read this post or what? Or did you just shake your head? The sad thing is, I’ve been reading just what I feel like reading lately too, so I don’t think I’m going to do very well on these challenges! It’s just fun to sign up for them. Of course, I’m in the Once Upon a Time challenge right now, so reading fantasy is no big problem over here :p We’ll see if i can stick to these lists or not or if I start straying away from them…my guess is that I’ll start straying away, lol.

    Lisa, I tried to do that as much as possible…sneaky, aren’t I? lol…I always try to overlap my challenges somewhat, that way I feel like I’m getting more accomplished when I read something! Can’t wait for To Kill a Mockingbird!

  20. Ha don’t even bother you know you have no self-control when it comes to book challenges 😉

    Those look like some great challenge books. I should start a Minnesota challenge where everyone reads books that involve winter, snow, or cold.

  21. Hi Chris! I’m here for the WG. Here’s my links for the books reviewed:

    Fahrenheit 451
    The Book of Lost Things

    Happy linking! 🙂

  22. Hi Chris:

    No, I didn’t mean that Truman wrote Junebug. Sorry about that. My ramblings would make it seem so.

    My favorite story of Eudora’s is Why I live at the PO. It goes down very sweet and quirky like molasses. So you might read that collection.

    Your attitude toward modern lit is like my attitude toward victorian/romantic lit. I rarely go past 1960, I think. Trying to get more modern. By the way if you have ever read The Green Man I’d like to hear your opinion of it. It’s before your time but it was an interesting little read. -C

  23. I’m surprised you, being a New Orleans bookworm, haven’t read Conferderacy of Dunces yet. It was weird, and ok, but i read it about 8 years ago and don’t know that i really “got” a lot of it.

    as for the Narnia books… Magician’s nephew is ok, not great. Horse and his Boy and Dawn Treader are both much better. Hope you like them!

  24. The G. R. R. Martin novels are, in my humble opinion, the best fantasies ever written, seriously — I’m not kidding!

    I envy your first reading of these. Let me know what you think.

  25. You guys crack me up! I certainly understand the lack of resistance. Anything to do with reading is really hard to resist. Plus the fellowship that comes with challenges is such a joy.

  26. Kim, I’ll be the first to admit that I have no self control when it comes to challenges :p I’ve slowly caught on to that over this past year, lol. Oh please no!! We do not need another challenge!! THough if you do indeed start one, I’ll join of course :p

    Melody, Got your links up in their respective posts! Thanks!

    Carole, Gotcha! I did love Junebug though…good little movie, wasn’t it? I’ll definitely check out the Eudora collection. And I haven’t read The Green Man, though I have a collection of short stories called “The Green Man”…it’s a fantasy anthology. Guessing it’s not the same thing?

    Melanie, I know! It surprises me too :p I think I’ve always avoided that book because of that. I’ve never really been one to be very touristy about my own city until recently sort of and it’s just never interested me to read books about the city I was raised in…horrible, huh? I’m looking forward to it now though! I can finally jump on the bandwagon since everyone else has read the most famous book about my city! Glad to hear that you’re enjoying some of the Narnia books! looking forward to the rest of them.

    Chartroose, I can definitely see that! I’ve read the first two books in the series and I’ve fell in love with those already. They’re absolutely amazing. Martin does such a great job with these books. I have that huge old chunkster of A Storm of Swords just waiting for me right now!

    Carl, LOL…I crack myself up, seriously. It’s seriously hard to resist these things, but I should try a little harder because I know I’m just going to bum myself out when I don’t finish them all…oh well. I do enjoy the fellowship of all the challenges though! That’s always a plus!

  27. I’m on the 1% challenge too, I just have to pick my books. I’m not completely illiterate here, but I could do with reading some more! I’ll be posting my books soon….I also just got a copy of War And Peace, so I was interested to see it’s on your list too! I always think that’s fun when people get the same books at the same time, first Goose Girl, now W&P!!……I’ll let you know when I’m going to read them, if you like, and we can try to read them at the same time. Not until much later in the year, though!!
    And yes, I love that you are joining more challenges!!!! I can’t resist them either….it’s fun! *sigh* I might join the Series challenge because I’m reading the first book in a trilogy and now I want to read the others! I might as well get bonus points for reading them!! and I can’t believe Book 5 of song of Fire and Ice, I tried last year to get through Book 4 and eventually put it down. I loved the others, so I’m going to give it another go. And darn it, all your talk of Card has me buying the Speaker series again to read!!!! :-p Thanks, Chris!!!

  28. Your list for the 1% Well-Read Challenge is cool! Some of them I’ve been meaning to read for a long time now while I’ve finished others and they’re really good reads too 🙂

  29. Glad to have you on the 1% challenge! I’m doing Southern Reading as well.

    Michelle
    1morechapter.com

  30. What? You didn’t choose Calvino??

    I would really recommend The Bluest Eye or Sula by Toni Morrison rather than Beloved. I just can’t get in to Beloved. . .

  31. Hi, I think this is my first time here… Chartroose gave your latest as a good Weekly Geek Week 2 post, so thanks for the example.

    And I’m right with you on the reluctance yet eagerness to sign up for challenges!

  32. […] (Restless Reader)31. Care aka bkclubcare32. Debi33. Rebecca34. Whitney35. queen bee36. jessi37. Chris (Stuff as Dreams)38. Veronica (The First Draft)39. Karen40. Danielle (Dilettante Mother)41. Wendy (caribousmom)42. […]

Leave a Reply

