342,752 Ways to Herd Cats Challenge and Awards

Now this may be the most unique challenge name I’ve ev

er heard, so how could I pass it up? :p And it’s just a really cool idea. Here it is, It’s hosted by Bottle of Shine. The challenge runs from May 1st through November 30th. You list 10 of your favorite books and submit the list to her. Then you go and look at other peoples’ lists and pick 3 books from their lists and commit to read them. Fun, eh? So here are my 10 for the pool:

1. Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
2. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
3. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
4. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
5. Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card
6. Moonheart by Charles deLint
7. The Bone People by Keri Hulme
8. The Thief of Always by Clive Barker
9. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
10. Sabriel by Garth Nix

My three that I’m going to read:

1. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
2. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
3. The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman

Extras: Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, The Onion Girl by Charles deLint, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Everyone join in!! Sounds like fun!

Rhinoa and Kim both graced me with this very kind Blogging Gold Card Award πŸ™‚ Thanks so much to both of you. You both have 2 of my favorite blogs and I always look forward to what you have to say, so right back atcha! Rhinoa said the most kindly British compliment I’ve ever gotten “lovely bloke bless him”. I want to go to England just to hear people say “bloke” more often :p So I thought I’d pass this on to a few more people…lets go with the magic 5 number…everyone seems to give these awards to 5 people.

Susan at You Can Never Have to Many Books is a blogger who I’ve come to enjoy quite a bit. She’s new to me. I just discovered her blog a few weeks ago and I’ve really been enjoying it. She writes about fantasy and fairy tales and about every day life. If you haven’t checked her blog out, go visit…she’s quite friendly and welcoming!

Deslily is a true favorite blog of mine and has come to be a really good friend in this little over a year of blogging. Her blog is always so welcoming and I enjoy reading her reviews and revisiting her past and hearing her stories so much. I wish the blogging gold card was loaded with cash for you Pat πŸ˜‰

Nymeth…I don’t know if book reviews get any better than Nymeth’s! She really needs to make a career out of writing them. But aside from just being a great writer of book reviews, she’s an incredibly kind and genuine person who has great taste in books, music and just about everything. And I’m quite jealous that she gets to travel so much :p

Becky…I think the internet would be lost without Becky :p She manages to write so many reviews that our wishlist all get out of control because of her, she comes up with so many challenges, all which are so cool and unique, and now she has this incredible reading group which I’m really enjoying. And she’s just really sweet. You definitely get a blogging gold card.

Bellezza’s blog has been a favorite for a long time. There’s always a touch of class to everything she does and she’s such a grounded person. I always feel at peace when I’m at her blog…strange how a website can do that, huh? She writes so well and she just has such a great personality!

Enjoy your awards and pass them on!

16 Responses

  1. I’m doing a little happy dance now! Thanks for making my day. I’m so happy (boisterously happy) you’ve joined the Herding Cats challenge. I am going to try the Time Traveler’s Wife (don’t be shocked but I haven’t read it). I will probably end up reading several others from your list as well. Even though it’s for just-three-books, I have a hard time saying no.

  2. ack! you know me and challenges! lol Carl’s is it for me! But it’s a really cute idea!!

    Oh sure, send your old mother a credit card with no money attached!! sheesh! LOL… thank you baby boy!! I’ll put it up on my blog tomorrow!!!! I don’t suppose it will work on amazon huh? hahahaha

  3. Chris, you ARE a lovely bloke; thank you for the lovely words of affirmation. It’s a pleasure being your blogging friend.

    As to the challenge, I agree: how could that be more inviting? I noticed you put down The God of Small Things (which I believe won the Booker). I found it hard to get into, in fact I started it several times over the space of as many years, but it is WELL worth it. I really, really liked that book. I concur with The Time Traveler’s Wife (that’s worth a repeat read), and I think Inkheart’s going to be one of my top three favorites for the year. That book is incredible, and I don’t say that about many.

    I’m going to check out the challenge, and probably participate, after sending a kiss to you. X Bellezza

  4. Congratulations on your award.

    The challenge sounds great, I’m going to check it out.

  5. Becky, I’m so glad that you’re reading The Time Traveler’s Wife!! I instantly fell in love with that book and I still think about it all the time. It’s just amazing. They’re making it into a movie too, but I have serious reservations about that…it’s just too good. I’m sure I’ll end up reading more than 3 too!

    Deslily, I sure wish it would work on Amazon for both your sake and mine! We could both use it, huh? lol…I know it’s horrible to send it to you not loaded with money πŸ˜‰ But enjoy it nonetheless

    Bellezza, You’re mighty welcome πŸ™‚ Glad to hear that The God of Small Things is good and I’ll remember that if I’m having a hard time getting into it. I’ve heard so much good stuff about it. Really looking forward to Inkheart as well! I’ve heard almost nothing but good about it. I hope you do participate in the challenge…you’ll prob add more to my list :p And thanks for the kiss πŸ˜‰

    Alix, Thanks, hope you join in on the challenge!

  6. This does sound like a fun challenge!!

  7. Awww Chris. Thanks so much. Rhinoa is right, you ARE a lovely bloke πŸ˜› You’ve honestly made my day!

    That has to be the coolest challenge button ever. I love books 1 and 2 on your list…I agree with Bellezza that The God of Small Things is slow going at first, but it’s so worth sticking with. The ending has to be one of my favourite endings in a book ever.

    As for your list of ten, I love all the books in it that I have read…which probably means I should read the ones I haven’t! I should get to Speaker for the Dead and The Time Traveler’s Wife this year. I’m really looking forward to both.

  8. My pleasure. I didn’t realise I came off so english sounding!

    I am thinking about this challenge and it is only 3 books so maybe…

  9. Oooh, that challenge sounds to good to resist! But I’m going to try…and that will likely last for oh, an hour or so…

    Perfect choices for the Gold Card award! And you were the perfect choice as well!

  10. Stephanie, It’s lots of fun! Hope you sign up πŸ™‚

    Nymeth, Glad I mad your day πŸ™‚ I’m not as big of a cat lover as some of you folks, but I must admit that’s a cool challenge button. The first two books went on my wishlist because of your reviews and recommendations, so it’s no surprise that you like them! I hope you join in on this challenge. It’s lots of fun. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Speaker and TTW…I think you’ll fall in love with both of them!

    Rhinoa, “Bloke” is a word that just isn’t spoken here in the states so you automatically sound British when you say that :p Love it πŸ™‚ Glad you joined in the challenge! Love your picks.

    Debi, I can’t believe I forgot to give you the Gold Card!! I totally meant to…if you come back and read this please take it for your blog too. You’re one of my absolute favorite blogs and I always get so excited whenever you post. You’re like a kindred spirit. And you shouldn’t try to resist this challenge…it’s too much fun πŸ˜‰

  11. Wow, what a unique challenge. I wish I had space to fit it in but I’m a little overwhelmed with challenges right now.

    And you are definitely worthy of this cute award πŸ™‚

  12. Kim, Yeah I’m a bit overwhelmed with challenges too :p I really shouldn’t have joined anymore, but I couldn’t resist this one…it was too cool! And thanks!

  13. Wow! thank you! I was going to name YOU….so you might get this right back….you’re one of the bloggers who made me feel so welcome, Chris! I’m delighted, I really am. As you might know from Rhinoa’s blog, she gave me one too, so I’m doubly thrilled because I’m still a newbie at all this! I think the sharing of books and thoughts and what we love is the best of all, so if I could, I would give a gold card to everyone who loves books and comments to us! Now I’m doing my list up for the challenge *sighs gently* and since I’m getting kicked off the computer for the night, will join the herding cats challenge tomorrow….who can resist a challenge named that? and 342,00 of them? do you think she means us reading bloggers?? :-p

  14. I look forward to hearing what you think of The Accidental Time Machine. I actually got my wife to read it the other day and she really enjoyed it and she’s not a huge sci fi reading fan.

  15. Susan, You’re quite deserving of the Gold Card Award πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see your list for the challenge! Isn’t this a fun one? I have no doubt that the challenge is named that because of the ridiculous amount of us book-a-holics out there!

    Carl, I’m really looking forward to The Accidental Time Machine! Guess who put that one on my wish list? ;p

  16. […] Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card (Chris) Love this whole […]

Leave a Reply

