Once Upon a Time II is Here!!

onceupon2008200.jpgCarl cemented himself as one of the coolest bloggers last year when he hosted the Once Upon a Time Challenge. And he’s back to do it again this year!! I’ve been waiting for this one, and I’m so excited about it now. I had myself convinced that I was going to do this one right and pick my 5 books, but I can’t pick only 5….so I’m going to give you a list and call it Quest the First which is to choose 5 books from any of the four genres (Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Folklore, or Mythology). My goal is to read nothing but fantasy from March 20th through June 20th! Not that it’s much of a chore…it’s my favorite genre anyway, but it should be interesting. I certainly have enough of it on the TBR shelf to keep me occupied. Here’s the list:

1. The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint
2. Gifts by Ursula LeGuin
3. The Book of Flying by Keith Miller
4. Here, There be Dragons by James Owen
5. The Wood Wife by Terri Windling
6. The Book of Ballads by Charles Vess
7. The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynne Flewelling
8. Prospero’s Children by Jan Siegel
9. The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia
10. The Good Fairies of New York by Martin Millar
11. The Tempest by William Shakespeare
(edit to add) 12. Lud in the Mist by Hope Mirless (I just have to read this one!)

I’d like to also catch up in George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series, but I’m not committing to that as those books are huge! But the newest book, A Dance with Dragons, comes out in September! Now would be as good a time as any to read the two I have left. This will also be a good time to catch up on some of my review books that I’m behind on…especially the fantasy ones. It would also be nice to read some classics…Tolkien, Lewis, some more Pern…we’ll see how much time I have and how quickly I read. This is going to be a lot of fun! Can’t wait to see what everyone else is reading too!

28 Responses

  1. “Cemented”? Not sure I’d agree with that…maybe more like “silly puttied”. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the nice compliment.

    What a fantastic list…and one that looks oddy familiar! I see several that are on my tentative list (soon to be posted) as well.

    I’m glad to see Book of Flying on there. I’m going to reread this one and do a special post on it…a discussion post…because it is a book that really got to me when I read it a couple of years ago. I will be doing an announcement on that one SOON because I want to give folks time to get the book, read it, and join in if they so choose.

    Great to have you in, can’t wait to see what you think of the books you read.

  2. […] Robin’s list 12. Raidergirl3’s list 13. Renay’s list 14. Melissa’s list 15. Chris’ list 16. Sycorax Pine’s […]

  3. Great list, Chris! It’s so fun to see what everyone is reading. I’ve got The Wood Wife on my list, and a Charles de Lint. Both of those have been on my TBR list since last year’s OUTChallenge! I look forward to your reviews! I’m sure I’ll add some of your list to my infinitely long TBR list.

  4. happy happy! lol we’ve both been waiting for this challenge!! hahaha you’d think we need a reason to read more fantasy??? doh! h ahahaha.

    I do hope you get at least to the other two Pern books! I couldn not do what you are doing! If I have them I have to read them all! I couldn’t go off to other things without finishing what I began ! Yikes!!!

    I do think you will like james owens Here there be dragons..but I’ll wait for your review on that :o)

  5. Yay for The Blue Girl, I really liked that book. I really want to read Here, There be Dragons by James Owen, The Wood Wife by Terri Windling, The Book of Ballads by Charles Vess, The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynne Flewelling and The Good Fairies of New York by Martin Millar. I look forward to reading your reviews soon πŸ™‚

  6. Carl, Ok…we’ll go somewhere in between cement and silly putty πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see your list! We’ve always seemed to have very similar tastes in books, so it figures that we’d have some of the same titles. I picked up The Book of Flying awhile ago at Bookcloseouts.com at a really good price and they had over 200 copies, so you may want to see if they have more copies there when you announce your discussion of it. I think you’re the one who told me about that one awhile ago. Looking forward to it.

    Robin, I love your list too! I’m heading over to comment in a second πŸ™‚ I’m glad to see you’re reading some de Lint and I’m really looking forward to The Wood Wife! I’m sure you’ll add to my TBR list as well πŸ˜‰ You always do!

    Deslily, I’m thrilled! Yeah…like we need a reason for more fantasy :p I’m sure I’ll get to some of the Pern books during the challenge. We have three months for this one. I’m bad with series. I rarely read them straight through if you haven’t noticed. I don’t have the attention span to stick with one thing. I need to switch it up :p I think I’ll love Owens’ book! It sounds great!

    Rhinoa, I’m so excited about The Blue Girl! I think I’m going to start with that. I always get excited when I’m reading a new de Lint. He’s one of my favorite authors. Glad you like the list! Hope I don’t add too much to your TBR list :/

  7. Oh crap. Your list reminded me of more books that I have stashed in my piles that could go into the pool…but my list is already waaaay out of hand as it is. And just think what all our wish lists are going to look like by the end of this thing! Oh, but this is going to be such fun, huh? Your list really does look phenomenal!

  8. Debi, LOL! As I’m touring all of the lists I’m having the same damn problem…I keep finding more books that I have that I want to add…I’ll just keep them in the back of my mind if I finish early. the wish lists are going to be ridiculous when this thing is over! You’ve already added The Goose Girl to my list Debi!!! This is going to be a lot of fun πŸ™‚

  9. Everybody’s lists are so different! You’ve got a fantastic list and I haven’t read ‘any’ of them. Can’t wait for your reviews.

  10. Excellent list! I hope you enjoy all of those, but especially Gifts, Good Faeries and Secret History!

    I love how we all sound like a bunch of kids on Christmas morning πŸ˜€

  11. Luckily I have all of them waiting at home to be read apart from the Charles Vess book which is waiting in my Amazon basket for next time I have some money…

  12. Nicola, I know…I’m having so much fun reading all of these different books that everyone has on their lists, though I’m scared of what my wishlist is going to look like after. You haven’t read any of these? Uh oh…I’ll try to make the reviews not seem to appealing πŸ˜‰

    Nymeth, Those 3 are ones that I’m looking most forward too..go figure, they’re ones that you wrote reviews for! I swear, you need a job writing book reviews…you should look into that πŸ˜‰ Seriously. This really is like Christmas morning, isn’t it? lol

    Rhinoa, Oh good! I don’t feel so bad now πŸ˜‰ You must have an incredible library at home…you should do a whole post just showing us pictures of your bookshelves and piles!

  13. Very nice list! I’ll be very interested to read what you think of the Millar book. I recently came across a copy of his book Lonely Werewolf Girl and there was a very favorable quote by none other than Neil Gaiman on the cover. Which, of course, means that at some point I’m going to have to read it. This challenge will also mark my first time reading de Lint and le Guin, so it’ll be good to read your reviews of those two (that way, if I like the ones I read, I can further torture my TBR shelves.)

  14. Chelle, There are quotes from Gaiman on this book of Millar’s as well! That’s what drew me to this one…I’m guessing I’ll like it just fine πŸ˜‰ I have a feeling you’ll love Charles de LInt. He’s one of my favorite authors and so is Neil Gaiman, so it looks like we have similar tastes. Our poor TBR shelves…they’ve gone through so much already…they may just snap after this challenge!

  15. Great list! I own copies of Gifts, Lud in the Mist, and The Good Faires of New York that I haven’t read yet so I can’t wait to read your reviews of them. I’ve also heard good things about Here there be Dragons as well but I don’t own a copy of that one.

    I have read The Book of Ballads by Charles Vess. I just loved it. What’s really special about it is that he puts the original ballads after each adaptation so you can compare his interpretation with the original ballad that inspired him. It’s a really cool experience. Vess is just so magical. He’s the perfect artist for OUT.

  16. Man that would be scary, maybe I will get around to photographing them one day. I should take a photo of this years reading pile as I pulled out everything I am due to read and it’s pretty scary *Wanders off in thought*

  17. dang! i hadn’t heard of most of them – although the authors, yes.

    woohoo! for once upon a time II!

    looking forward to see what you make of the de lint, le guin and vess.

  18. Ah, “Book of Ballads” is cool. I read that last year for the challenge. I’m hoping Charles Vess will continue doing the Ballads collection, but that doesn’t seem to be happening.

    I was actually considering re-reading “Tempest” too, since I read Midsummer’s last year for the challenge. And maybe “bookend” it with Gaiman’s “Tempest”. I see you have “Prospero’s Children” — I’ve been curious about it for a while. Do tell how you like it.

    This may be a cool idea: Read the source, then read a re-telling of the original myth/legend/folklore. One of the power of folklore & myth is in the re-telling.

  19. Great list! I couldn’t bring myself to be that ambitious, as I’m having trouble getting through all my other challenges (heh, not to mention the life I’m supposed to be having aside from reading) as it is.

    I’ll be keeping a lookout for your reviews, and I’m sure I’ll be adding a bunch to my wishlist, to be read… sometime before my eyes give out? LOL

  20. Jeff, Glad you like the list πŸ™‚ It was so hard to pick the list! Even narrowing it down to 12 was rough! Here There be Dragons sounds incredible. I know a secret about the ending that I’m not going to tell you because it spoiled something big for me, but needless to say I think you would absolutely love it. Totally agree that Vess is the perfect artist for OUaT! And you have me even more excited about reading that one now. Yay!

    Rhinoa, I think we’re all a little afraid of showing our shelves, lol…none of us want to admit the extent of our addictions. But personally there’s nothing I like better than seeing a house packed full of books!!

    JP, Look at it as a good thing that you haven’t heard of most of them πŸ˜‰ Now maybe you’ll get lots of new stuff to add to your list after you finish those 12 books on your TBR pile!

    DO, As long as Vess continues doing something I’m happy πŸ™‚ I love his artwork so much. It’s always amazing, and I’m really looking forward to The Book of Ballads. I’ve heard great stuff about it. Can’t wait to reread the Tempest. It’s my favorite Shakespeare…can you guess from the name of my blog? πŸ˜‰ That’s exactly the reason I decided to go with Prospero’s Children…I didn’t know if it exactly tied into the Prospero, but I thought it’d be a nice connection.

    Marina, Glad you like the list πŸ™‚ I know the feeling! My challenge list is so ridiculously big! I’ve pretty much just accepted that I’m not going to complete the majority of them, but I’m determined to complete this one. And hopefully knock some other challenge books out along the way. Hope you enjoy the reviews!

  21. Good list! And I will be able to join in on the reading challenges too soon, yay!

    Looking forward to seeing what you think of A Secret History of Moscow. I’ve had my eye on it for ages but it never appears when I’m on a book splurge.

  22. Good list! I am not committing to anything, but I started my first book already. The Serpent and the Rose by Kathleen Bryan. Maybe all I needed to get me reading again was some good fantasy… Sometimes I don’t know why I venture out of that genre at all! Anyways, best of luck to you. πŸ™‚ The Blue Girl is a good book, I read that one recently.

  23. Cool list! Go get ’em, Chris! πŸ™‚

  24. I’m going to trust you to keep my informed, Chris. Even though I’m finally working my way through all of the Narnia books, I just can’t get into fantasy to read it for, like, three months. however, it will give me vicarious pleasure reading about it here.

    Happy Easter, by the way. πŸ™‚

  25. Stormfilled, Oh yay! Glad you’ll be able to join in! I’m really looking forward to Secret History of Moscow. I literally just found out about it a few days ago and it sounds incredible. I’m sure I’ll get to it sooner than later.

    Kailana, I thought about going the no commiting route either, but I decided to make a list anyay :p I haven’t heard of the Bryan book, hope you enjoy it! Can’t wait for the Blue Girl…I’m going to start with that!

    Nancy, I’m gonna try!

    Bellezza, I could read fantasy for 12 months straight πŸ™‚ It’s definitely my favorite genre and the reason that I read. Not to say that there’s other stuff that I don’t enjoy…I’ve branched out quite a bit, but I always come back to my beloved fantasy books. Happy Easter to you too!

  26. The Bone Doll’s Twin is great – I have the series, just have to read Bk 3 now – I love it, and Prospero’s Children was fun. At least I’ve read two on your list! And I really want to read The Secret History of Moscow, and Here There Be Dragons…great list, Chris. Let us know how Blue Girl is? I don’t have it yet, but I’ve read most of Charles’ books (yes, I have met him, he’s really nice and friendly, I can call him Charles!)…….so much good fantasy to read!!!

  27. Susan, I’m really looking forward to The Bone Doll’s Twin and Prospero’s Children. I just heard about The Secret History of Moscow about a week ago and it sounded amazing! So of course I have to red it now. I love Charles de Lint! I’ve only read Greenmantle and Moonheart by him and I’ve loved both of those. Really looking forward to Blue Girl. My favorite fantasy author has always been Neil Gaiman, and he reminds me a lot of him only in the sense that I get the same sense of love for his books that I get for Neil’s. Doesn’t happen very often for me. And how cool that you’ve met him!

  28. great plan, a fantasy full-immersion, sometimes you need that! I’ve only read the Blue girl but I can assure you it’s going to be a great read!enjoy

Leave a Reply

