Sunburn, Brownies, & Lost

This sunburn just won’t go away and it really sucks. I’ve gotten no sleep for the past two nights because it hurts every time I roll over onto the side of my face. Despite the aloe vera that I’ve been slathering on my face, I still managed to get blisters so now it’s embarrassing to even leave the house. But I ventured out anyway today to get coffee and got a really good laugh. Apparently the entire city is suffering the same problem. It’s been cold down here for the past few months, so no one was expecting to get a sunburn while having vegetables thrown at them at the St. Patrick’s Day parade. So no one brought sunscreen. So at least I don’t feel so dumb…the whole city has bad burns…I don’t know if it’s funny or if we’re all just really stupid. I swear, a city that sits in the sun for 5 hours without sunscreen and throws cabbages at each other…what’s wrong with us? :p

Onto brownies! The Howard household is a big fan of brownie mixes…well brownies in general, but they’re so much cheaper if you just buy the mixes. We usually settle for Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker, but we discovered that Ghiradelli makes a brownie mix and they are so good! Seriously, we made a batch this afternoon at about 5:00 and between me, my mom and my sister half of them are gone and it’s now midnight. Yes I’m ashamed to admit that, but they’re that good…you should try them.

I’ve also discovered Lost today..the TV series that is. I’ve been wanting to watch it for awhile, but it’s one of those shows that you can’t just jump in on, it cost too much to rent one disc at a time at blockbuster, and I didn’t want to spend the money on the DVD sets. But it’s Megan’s favorite show…so I added it to Netflix and disc 1 of Season 1 came today and I watched it all in one sitting and it’s awesome! I’m hoping that I can catch up in time to watch all of the current episodes online on the website so that I can see the current season finale when it airs. Maybe I’ll catch up even before that. Anyone else a fan of the show?

Reading Peter Beagle’s Tamsin right now and loving it. He’s got a chapbook collaboration with Lisa Snellings-Clark coming out this month called Strange Roads which you can pre-order through DreamHaven Books. It’s in a series of books that Lisa Snellings-Clark is doing sculptures and paintings for and having various authors write short stories based on her art. Gene Wolfe did the first (Strange Birds) and Neil Gaiman is doing the next!

19 Responses

  1. I keep meaning to watch Lost as well. I saw the first episode and then forgot when the next one was on so I got left behind. One day I will watch them but I want to get up to speed with Supernatural first which is great and I think you will like it if you haven’t seen it already.

    Bah for the sunburn. You are a bunch of crazy people though clearly. Cabbages… I loved The Last Unicorn by Peter S Beagle and really want to read more of his writing. The film was my favourite growing up and still makes me cry in places. I love the pirate style cat in it. It sounds very cool that Lisa is doing artwork to go alongside some of his writing.

  2. Aloe vera is great for sun burns. I buy a bottle of Aloe vera gel at the local health food store because it is easier than cutting the leaves myself.

    Thanks

    Jason Berkes

    Jason Berkes

  3. Well… you may have save money making cabbage soup but it sound like you are spending it on Aloe ! I could have a good laugh over your sunburn but as you remember me telling you, I’m Irish. (fair skin.. like: puke white, like: sunburn at the drop of a hat) So I’ll just say, I hope you and Aloe are best friends now! :o)

    Oh.. and I suppose these new Ghiradelli brownies are sugar free huh? heh.. thought not! lol

    Oh my.. I watch Lost. To be honest the first season was the best of the best… I still watch it, but it certainly is no where as good as it used to be.

  4. Your so lucky to have all of Lost ahead of you to catch up on, it;s one of my favourite TV shows.
    I just found your blog but every time I visit I seem to be adding a book to my TBR pile – so thanks for the great reviews.
    Hope the sun burn heals soon!

  5. Lost is one of those shows that I keep thinking about adding to my Netflix queue, too. I have a feeling I’d really love it, and probably would have watched it from the beginning, but never even heard of it until it was in its second season. Yeah, I need to come out of my cave more often, huh?

    I’m sorry your sunburn is still causing you such pain! I can’t point fingers though, I’ve been burned to the point of blistering more times than I’ve got fingers. (And yes, that fact really scares me.) I do hope you’re feeling better soon, Chris!

    Now, will you hurry up and get your OUaT list posted!!!

  6. How funny you should post about brownies now. I saw only this past weekend that Ghiradelli makes brownie mixes (I hadn’t noticed before). I thought they would be fun to try. Now, I’ll have to make a point of it soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. That sucks about the sunburn…but at least you’re not alone ๐Ÿ˜› I think that that kind of oddness is part of New Orleans’ charm. The cabbage thing has to be one of the funniest traditions I have ever come across, though ๐Ÿ˜›

    Hmmm, brownies. I miss them. I wonder if they sell brownie mix here…I should take a look.

    And I’m glad you’re enjoying Tamsin! I have that one on my list for the Mythopoeic Challenge and I’m really looking forward to it. I just adore Peter Beagles’ writing. And thanks for reminding me to order his book with Lisa Snellings-Clark, I had been meaning to do that!

  8. Sunburnt while throwing vegetables. I have to tell my friends about you guys. ;p

    Take care of that sunburn, buddy. I get sunburn a lot because of my fair skin. Not fun at all.

    I have been advised to take lots of vitamin D — it helps the skin heals. If you can, look out of vitamin D cream that you can apply on the skin.

    Ice cold showers/baths help cools the skin down. And I think it helps numb the skin so it’s less painful.

    I feel your pain.

    And I have to admit — I keep trying to watch “Lost” — but I just don’t get it.

  9. I’m so sad to hear about the sunburn blister. I wish I knew a cure for it. None alas. Just heal up quickly.

    Orson Scott Card edited a book of essays called “Getting Lost: Survival, Baggage, and Starting Over in J. J. Abrams’ Lost” It’s part of the Smart Pop series…and a really really really fun book of essays by folks who are really into it. I don’t know if Megan’s read it, but it is super-fun. And if you were to read it (yes, something else on your reading list) you would definitely catch up on everything up to the first three seasons. Among the theories posited was one which I pretty much accept: the characters are characters in a video game.

    But hey there are other theories….cosmic, theological, social, numerical, existential, fractal

    Get well soon. -C

  10. Rhinoa, That’s the thing with Lost…if you miss any episodes you can’t catch up…kind of sucks, but it’s really good so far! Oh, I forgot about Supernatural! I had been wanting to watch that one too for awhile, but just didn’t catch it. I think they’re still airing episodes, aren’t they? I’ll have to check it out. Yes we are crazy with our sunburn and cabbages :p I loved the Last Unicorn too, that’s what made me pick this one up. I still haven’t seen the animated version…can you believe that? I’ll get it one of these days though and when I do I’ll buy it directly from Beagle. I think it’s really cool that they’re collaborating as well.

    Jason, Thanks! That’s what I’ve been doing so far..feeling better today than yesterday.

    Deslily, Go on and have a good laugh ๐Ÿ˜‰ Trust me, I have a good laugh at myself everytime I look in the mirror, lol. It’s really sad. At least it doesn’t hurt so bad today. Now it’s just starting to peel, so it just looks bad! And of course the Ghiradelli brownies are NOT sugar free..I would never eat such a thing unless the doctor ordered it :p I didn’t know you watch Lost! You learn something new every day! I’m enjoying what I’ve watched so far…just 4 episodes. Can’t wait to catch up to real time!

    Alix, Thanks for stopping by! There’s nothing I love better than discovering a new TV series that I actually like that has a bunch of seasons out already. It’s nice just to be able to sit back and watch the whole series straight through. Though it will be frustrating when I catch up and I have to wait a week at a time for new episodes :p Glad you enjoy the reviews, and sorry about the TBR stack :/ If it makes you feel any better, I have literally about 200 books sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read and another 200 on my wishlist! Blogging does that, lol…

    Debi, Get Lost! Well that just sounds bad, doesn’t it? But seriously…put it on your Netflix queue, I think you’d like it alot! I’m sure Rich would too. I’m feeling better today as far as sunburn, now I’m just peeling :/ And yay!!!! OUaT is posted?? Yay!!

    Becky, They’re so good! You’ve gotta get a mix. Seriously, our pan will be gone today I’m sure :p

    Nymeth, The sunburn’s better today thank goodness! I’m just peeling now, so it looks bad. We are certainly an odd city. Maybe a little too odd…I don’t know. Brownies are quite good, but I’m sure that y’all have much better deserts over there than our boring old brownies! But if you do find brownie mix, enjoy! I think you’ll love Tamsin…it’s excellent so far. I just ordered my copy of the Snellings/Beagle book last night after posting the link, so there’s still plenty left. If you remind them in the instructions that you want a signed copy, they’ll ship you a signed one in April.

    D-O, You’re friends will think we’re like another Atlantis or something…some mythical society that can’t really exist! The sunburn is finally going away, thanks. Aloe did the trick after 3 days! I could never take an ice cold shower or bath though….just the thought of it sounds like torture, lol! From what I’ve been told, you can’t watch Lost unless you’ve watched it from the very beginning….so that may explain it :p

    Carole, The sunburn is going away finally, but the blisters are still there ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And it’s peeling now. But at least that horrible pain is gone! I’ve known about the Card book for awhile, but I always assumed that it was the one book of his that I wouldn’t read (because I didn’t watch the show) Well it looks like I’m going to read that one too! I swear…I’ve spent so much money on that man’s books. He’s published so many and I own them all. Luckily, I’ve enjoyed them all too, so it works out for both of us ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Lost is wonderful. Deep. Addictive. Great characters. Great stories. Love love love it!

  12. Melanie, Yeah..I can see myself loving this series too! I can’t wait for disc 2 to arrive…I should get it on Friday! Can’t wait!

  13. HUGE Lost fan!! But I have to warn you….it’s addictive!! And you will want answers….but when they come, they only bring more questions!!

  14. I haven’t gotten into Lost, although I’ve heard its good. But I love netflix for watching TV series. Actually the biggest reason I wanted netflix was to watch Star Trek (way too expensive to buy, or even to rent). My husband and I watched season 1, 2, and 3 of The Office with netflix. We did the “watch instantly” feature and watched it on the computer.

    Hope the sunburns get better soon!

  15. I’m sorry to hear about your bad sunburn.

    As for LOST. My wife and I have been watching it from the beginning and we love it. It is one of those shows were answers just lead to more questions but the journey is so wonderful that you just don’t care. Great characterization makes it one of the best shows on tv.

  16. how bizarre… sunburn in march!?!

    i love that image of all these people walking around with sunburn when its so cold … all those red faces… ๐Ÿ™‚

    sorry you can’t sleep, though. hope its cleared up by now…

  17. Bummer on the sunburn. That sucks.

    I LOVE Lost. My husband and I wanted to watch it, too, but we hadn’t watched Season 1, so didn’t feel like we could just jump in and start watching. So, we got Season 1 from Netflix, which was cool b/c we didn’t have to wait a whole week for the next episode. But, we couldn’t wait for the next season, so we downloaded it onto my husband’s iPod (expensive, but we were hooked). Now, we’re watching with the regular season, but we both say we should just wait and watch it all on DVDs from Netflix – it’s so much better than having to wait a week between episodes!

  18. Hey Jeff! Sunburn’s just about gone now, thank God! I’m just peeling like hell now and look like some kind of zombie. I’m totally loving Lost! It’s awesome. I get the second disc tomorrow and I can’t wait. I’ve been tempted to upgrade my Netflix account just so that I can get them faster. I tend not to mind shows that lead to more questions too much…it lets me know that they’ll be on for awhile ๐Ÿ˜‰

    JP, I know! Sunburn in March is really weird…you should see a whole city of us with it…now we’re all peeling so we look like a bunch of half rotten corpses. It’s awful. It’s clearing up though. Thanks!

    Susan, Sunburn’s getting better finally! I’m loving Lost too. I’m getting impatient even waiting for the episodes to arrive from Netflix…isn’t that sad? lol…I know exactly what you mean about the hell of having to wait a week between episodes. That’s how I was with Heroes. I hated the long wait. Especially when they’d do these big long breaks where it would be off the air for a month. How can they do that?!

  19. Aloe Vera is commonly used to treat sunburn. As well as providing soothing relief, it may also assist in the healing process. Apply to the affected areas as needed. Although the gel extracted directly from an aloe Vera plant works best, if you donโ€™t have ready access to one, you may use an โ€˜over the counterโ€™ Aloe Vera Cream that contains the gel. For this to be effective, just ensure that the cream contains a high concentration of Aloe Vera than it does water or other solutions.`

    Newest blog post from our homepage
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/shark-cartilage/

Leave a Reply

