If I Suddenly Disappear

If all of a sudden you stop seeing posts for a while and I stop commenting on your blog, fear not…it’s only because I own a frickin HP laptop! My computer is doing this lovely thing where once it goes into standby, it just doesn’t wake up…so I’m forced to turn it off. No problem, turn it back on, right? Wrong! When I turn it back on (or try to) the keyboard lights up but the screen remains black and it just tries and tries and tries to reboot itself. Maybe once out of every 100 times it will actually start up and it’s getting progressively worse, so I’m sure I’ll be completely without my computer soon. I’m going to try to get it fixed, but it couldn’t come at a worse time financially with the trip to Austin coming up in a couple of weeks for interviews. I don’t know why I bought an HP 2 years ago (and didn’t buy the extended warranty!)…I had problems with my old HP desktop, but thought this one would be better for some reason…it sounded so good 😦 Hopefully it’s cheap to fix. Or maybe it’ll magically fix itself…yeah right!

In reading news, I’m almost finished Four Letter Word which is amazing and I recommend it highly! Don’t know if my computer will last long enough to get a review up, but if it’s working tomorrow, I’ll post a review. It’s a collection of fictional love letters created by a huge array of authors including Neil Gaiman, Audrey Niffenegger, Margaret Atwood, Leonard Cohen, Michel Faber, and Jonathan Lethem just to name a few. After this I’m starting the Pern series and Their Eye’s Were Watching God for Becky’s book club. By the way, go check out Becky’s book club again as she’s looking for suggestions for future reads and she has some suggestions of her own that she wants input on!

Another thing I forgot to tell everyone about that I’m so excited about is that Neil Gaiman has an A-B-C Picture book coming out πŸ˜€ It’s called The Dangerous Alphabet and it comes out April 29th…illustrated by Gris Grimly and it looks incredible! Reminds me of The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey.

dangalpha.jpg

And there’s also the preview of the new Indy movie which actually looks really good! I’m in suspense already!

So that’s about all I can think of for now…I’m hoping that by some miracle this computer thing works itself out and I’m not forced to be a stranger. We do have another computer in the house, so I’ll be able to stop in, though not as frequently as usual. Heck…maybe I’ll figure it out myself! Right….

24 Responses

  1. Check your power settings, Chris. You might be able to set it up so it doesn’t go into “standby mode” in the first place. (My HP used to do the same thing….grrrr.)

    If that doesn’t work (or even if it does), my second suggestion would be….get a Mac. *grin*

  2. I feel for you and your computer woes!! I’ve been there. Good luck with getting it fixed.

  3. I feel your pain on the computer hiccups. Good luck on it.

    But oh yeah! Can’t wait for the new Indy movie. I want to see Cate Blanchett all badass! Maybe she even get to slap Indy around a little. Hee.

    Oop. TMI. *guilty look*

  4. hey baby boy… looked around at your problem and most often it is the “power pack” needs replacing.. the second most offered is the graphics card going bad.

    FIX IT FIX IT FIX IT!! I can’t not have you around!!!

  5. I’m with Deslily! It won’t be the same without you so hopefully you can get things squared away.

    And the new Indy movie does look good.

    cjh

  6. haha, great minds think alike. We are reading the same book! I am also reading Four Letter Word. I started it yesterday. It’s pretty good, huh?

    That sucks on the computer, but I totally feel your pain. My computer is being pretty annoying lately and I am very paranoid it is going to die on me! Frankly, I personally think if my computer dies it is too old to fix, so I am going to want to get a new one, and that will not happen for quite some time. So, hopefully she keeps running.

  7. sorry to hear about the computer. my BF has had awful problems with his HP (he’s never gotten the bluetooth to connect) since he bought it 15 months ago. had to replace the hard drive last month. I have a gateway that works perfectly except that it randomly opens the cd drive.

  8. Funny, I blogged about the new Indy film too! The trailer looks really good. Sorry to hear about your computer. My husband is a computer geek and always recommends Dell Computer, so you may want to check out one of those the next time you are in the market for a new PC.

  9. I hate computer troubles.

    I so want to read Four Letter Word. I’m trying to get my hands on a copy. I’ve got my name in a couple of book drawings for it. Glad you’re enjoying it.

  10. CDN, I’ve adjusted my power setting…thanks! Don’t know why I didn’t think of that…I just don’t want it to overheat. Don’t worry, next time I by a computer it will most definitely be a MAC!!!!

    Steph, I deserve this after what I did to you! πŸ˜‰ Computers are such a pain in the ass even though they’re wonderful at the same time…grrrrrr

    DO, I can’t wait for the new Indy movie either…I had my doubts about it, but I’m really excited now after seeing the preview. hehehe, Cate Blanchett smacking around Harry…that’ll work…

    Deslily, Thanks for the research πŸ™‚ Fear not, I’ll get it fixed…you know that I can’t stand to be away for long! I get withdrawals πŸ˜‰

    CJ, It wouldn’t be the same without y’all either! I’ll get it fixed…I need my daily fix of everyone!

    Kailana, Ha! That’s hilarious! I’m really enjoying Four Letter Word…only about 20 pages left and I think I’ve had my fill of love letters, but I really enjoyed them. Cool book. Yeah, I’m totally just wanting to get a new computer now too even though I haven’t even half paid for this one yet! I want a Mac!

    Melanie, Mine’s about 15 months old too…go figure…that’s another thing that mine does…randomly opens the cd drive..lovely, huh?

    Stephanie, I totally found the Indy trailer on your blog :p It does look good! I had a Dell before this computer and had bad luck with that one too. Me and PC’s just don’t get along well. 😦

    Other Chris, I think you’ll LOVE Four Letter Word. It’s a great book. Hope you get a copy soon. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  11. Oh I feel your pain. I’ve had more than my share of computer frustrations. Do you need a hammer to smash something? πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to those reviews! I have been lazy with blogging this weekend, but I don’t even have an excuse. Just laziness I guess!

  12. Kim, A hammer would be LOVELY at this point :/ It’s good to be lazy on the weekend sometimes! Lord knows I’ve had my fair share of lazy weekends! Getting ready to do the review now.

  13. Love your “new” blog! I’ve adjusted your address on mine.

    p.s. The only reason I didn’t tag you for cj’s book meme is because she’d already tagged you!

  14. Bellezza, Glad you like the new look πŸ™‚ I’ll get around to the meme eventually…I’ve been avoiding doing it….:p I really don’t read much non-fic at all. Just a few psych books every now and then, but I do tend to enjoy those!

  15. oh shitty-shit….! that is incredibly annoying!

    and yahoo for the neil gaiman abc!! πŸ˜€

  16. JP, Shitty-shit is right…I’m ready to just throw this thing against a wall. I’ve got it turned on for now, so I fixed it to where it won’t go on stand-by and I just can’t close the screen. Now let’s just hope it doesn’t overheat! I’m psyched about the new Neil Gaiman ABC book!!

  17. Bloody laptops. Mine started overheating – probably a graphics card related issue. It kept switching itself off. Touch wood it hasn’t done it since I started using a laptop cooler…

    I have the new book on pre-order. Looking forward to it!

  18. Quix, GRRRR….laptops are such a pain in the ass sometimes. I don’t know what to do with this thing. I’m going to have to get it fixed…just hoping it’s not too expensive. And I can’t wait for the book!

  19. as it happens i can very much relate to your misfortune (and rage), as our laptop has conked out too.

    weirdly, when i wrote that comment, i’d entirely forgotten about it (i was writing on a friend’s borrowed laptop) – it must’ve been rage overdose or something.

    and it also stopped working for no good reason. for some reason it just wasn’t picking up power from the power chord…!?!

  20. Gah, I hate computer problems. My laptop is a HP too, and guess what? After about 4 months the keyboard completely stopped working. It just died for no reason whatsoever. Now I have to drag an USB keyboard around :\ The warranty hasn’t expired, though, so now that I’m back they’ll hopefully fix it for me.

    I love Gris Grimly, and I’m very excited about that picture book! The Indy preview is great too πŸ˜€

  21. I’ve set my laptop to never go into standby, even when it’s closed. That solves that problem. =/

    Anyway, I updated your link on my blogroll. I hope you enjoy wordpress over blogspot as much as I do. Love the new look!

  22. JP, I’ve had that problem before too…It’s usually not too expensive to fix. But it’s still a BIG pain in the ass! I’m glad that you’re rage seems to be under control though πŸ™‚ Just keep it out your mind!

    Nymeth, Figures…I’m never buying an HP again! They seemed to be good about fixing my sisters computer while it was under warranty, so hopefully you don’t have a problem. I don’t know Gris Grimly, but the cover for the book looks great! I’m excited too!

    Heather, This stupid computer doesn’t like to listen to the settings :/ Even though I told it not to go into standby when it’s closed, it still does….don’t you like that? lol… Glad you like the new look! I’m loving WordPress so far…thanks!

  23. Very cool. I really enjoy Grimly’s work and accompanying a Gaiman story is just too cool.

    Sorry about the computer problems, I feel your pain, I really do!

  24. Hey Carl! I can’t work for the Gaiman book…what makes me even more excited is that we won’t have to wait all that long for it. That rocks! And yeah…computers suck…I got a price estimate on fixing it and that just really sucks…

Leave a Reply

