Things To Check Out…

The first thing that you should apparently check out is the return of Jericho tonight! Dare I admit that I’ve never seen this show? *ducks while people throw peanuts* Didn’t people mail in peanuts to the studio to have the show come back on the air or am I just losing it? Anyway, I’m going to add this show to my Netflix so that I can see what I’ve been missing, because apparently I’m missing something really good because Debi and Carrie K are really excited as I’m sure others are as well!

The second thing that you should check out is Becky’s new book club! I’m excited about this one. I’ve never officially been in a book club, so this should be fun. She’s started a WordPress blog for it and the first book is Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. She’s broken the discussion up into very manageable sections: 32-40 pages a day/ 3 days per week. So it’s at a nice slow pace. No rush to read. Discussion days are Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and we start this one this coming Monday, February 18th. So come join in..we need members!

Next up is something real cool! In honor of Neil Gaiman’s Blog’s birthday, Harper Collins has agreed to make one of his books available online for free for a month! And you get to choose which one. You can go here to vote. I’ve already voted for American Gods of course because it’s my favorite and I think everyone should read it :p And it’s winning! In fact, American Gods and Neverwhere are taking off! Anansi Boys would be an excellent choice too, though.

And finally, I had a guy by the name of J. Scott Savage comment on my blog the other day who knew Brandon Mull, so I went and checked out his blog and it’s really cool! And he’s just started it! He’s a writer who has a contract with Shadow Mountain for a new young adult fantasy series called Farworld.  His blog is called Find Your Magic and it sort of chronicles the whole process of him writing his book, getting published, finding an artist, etc. I’m really digging it so far…hope you will as well!

14 Responses

  1. cool ! I went over and read Savages blog.. that’s neat! And he got Mull for the artist!! .. Before I read it all I figured this wasn’t going to be his first book lol.. first fantasy maybe, but he has been published already. I bookmarked him to watch how things go for him. It is interesting… maybe he will spur you to do more EDITING OF YOUR OWN!! *cough cough*

  2. Very cool. I haven’t seen Jericho either. I definitely appreciate the mention of the book club! I hope to get people to join in. I’d love to do a book a month or two books per month if they’re really short. 🙂 And I’ll be having more polls to get ideas of what to read next. And I’m always open to input as far as that goes.

    I noticed the Neil Gaiman thing as well. It made me really happy! I haven’t read much of his, but what I’ve read I’ve loved. I’d be happy with whatever wins. But I did vote for American Gods. I have heard so many good things about it. I would really love the chance to read it. I can’t remember where I saw this now. But I think he has a new picture book coming out soon. I’m almost positive…

  3. JERICHO rocks … and i don’t normally like shows like that.

  4. Deslily, Savage’s blog is really cool…I love Mull’s artist, he’s awesome and the art that he’s done so far for Savage’s book looks great! I’m really looking forward to following this process and you’re right…maybe this will give me the kick in the ass I need!

    Becky, I hope more people join the book club! I’m really looking forward to it 🙂 It will definitely expand my horizon on stuff to read. I’d love to read some of these young adult books that you find that sound so good. I was thinking that Laurie Anderson’s Speak might be a good one. I’ve been wanting to read that for awhile. And Gaiman is coming out with a picture book!!! It’s an ABC book and it comes out at the end of April…I’m so excited about it!!!

    Jroy, A comment! Look at that! Yeah, I didn’t watch Jericho tonight because I want to watch season one first, so I’m going to wait until after I catch up…which probably won’t be until season 3 is out…

  5. Looks like American Gods will win the poll hands down! I actually voted for Anansi Boys instead. Not that I don’t like American Gods better, but I think it’s a bit too long to be read digitally 😛 I hesitated between Anansi Boys and Stardust, but more people have already read Stardust. Either way, I think it’s so cool that he’s doing that. I’ll be telling everyone I know to download whichever book wins.

    On a side note, did you check out Neil’s last.fm account? I just love being able to see what music he’s been listening to.

    I’m going to check out that blog now…thanks for the link!

  6. That is cool that they are putting Gaiman’s book online. Since I just read american gods and anansi boys, I probably won’t take advantage of it, but it is way cool for people who haven’t heard of him.

    Hmm… if Jericho is good maybe I’ll add it to the netflix queue. I’m doing so good on not watching regular TV, I hate to start again. Even if it is a great show.

  7. Nymeth, I thought about American Gods being too long too, but every time my hand went to vote for something else, it was strangely pulled back to the American Gods cover :/ Spooky! :p I have been listening to his last.fm account! I think that’s so cool! I’ve been having with that, but I’m finding that I like the “similar artists” more than I like the actual artists that he listens to. Still, he has pretty good taste in music!

    Kim, That’s how I feel: it’s cool for people who haven’t heard of him. I’ve read everything of his, so this really does me no good, but I’m excited that maybe this will get other people to read him who didn’t want to go spend the money on one of his books.

  8. Chris, how funny you should mention Speak. I was thinking that one would be a great one to read. 🙂 I’m going to try to pull together a list of possible reads to post so that people can add comments and suggestions. I’d like to do a mix of classics and of newer stuff as well.

  9. Oh, so much cool stuff! I’m really looking forward to checking out Find Your Magic…sounds fascinating!
    And thanks for the Jericho plug…I sure hope people start watching so it doesn’t get canned again. (And yep, people did send peanuts…you’ll understand why after you watch season one.) I strongly suggest you go throw it in your queue right now! I watch very, very little TV, but I haven’t missed an episode yet of Jericho.

  10. hey I was looking at that Brandon’s website.. he’s the same artist that does the covers for Wednesday Tales which I have the first two books of!

  11. Becky, Speak would knock out one of my Cardathon reads too 😉

    Debi, His website really is great! He just put up a new post today on cover blurbs…it’s a great resource for new authors! I can’t wait for Jericho…it’s already in my queue :p I seriously doubt it’ll be canned again…it’s been the talk of the town!

    Deslily, How cool! I really like Brandon Dorman’s art…it has this really unique quality to it that I haven’t seen in other artists work.

  12. Thanks for dropping by all. I have published before, but all this is still pretty much new to me as the first four books were with a small regional press and this one is national. Hearing about things like muti-city tours and movie rights makes my head spin.

    When my ARCs come out in April I’m going to be giving out copies as part of a blog tour. Thanks for your support and love your site.

    I also recently started reading the Wednesday Tales as well. Good stuff!

  13. J, I’ve really been enjoying the blog so far! I just wrote a book myself during NaNoWriMo, though I doubt I’ll ever do anything with it….but you’re at least giving me the motivation to edit it! And I have to check out Wednesday Tales…I’ve been hearing a few people talk about it!

  14. Chris:

    Wanted to let you know that I’ve published my tentative list of group reads. I’m still looking for input if you care to speak up. I don’t think there is much interest in Zora Neale Hurston–and I’m not faulting people for that if you’re not interested, you’re not interested–but I’m hoping participation will improve with my other selections. 🙂 So more polls are coming in the future.

    http://readingwithbecky.wordpress.com/2008/02/17/books-im-considering/

Leave a Reply

