10 Ways To Tell A Book Was Written By Me

I was tagged for this Meme by Eva and since I wrote a book this past year for NaNoWriMo (A Sunset in Nowhere), I figured I’d make my answers applicable to that…so here they are:

1. It would be written in 30 days or less

2. It would be a fantasy (probably any book I wrote)

3. It’s main character and hero would be a teenager

4. It would take place in two different worlds, one that we’re very familiar with and one that’s filled with strange new wonders and excitement. The other world has it’s own cast of characters that gets interlaced with our own world.

5. Characters would get thrown into worlds that they do not know (cliche, I know…but I think I put a unique twist on it)

6. There would be words in the book that you would not be able to find in the dictionary

7. Characters names would not be common names, instead they would have names like Kraya, Deslilya (recognize that one?), Lyaina, Klavasa, and Raepheala.

8. Someone’s gonna die!

9. It’s going to pit good against evil.

10. It’s going to need to be revised many times…..

Sorry…dull answers, I know…So I thought of 5 people that I want to tag. I figured I’d tag people who I knew had written books: Bookfool and CJ have both been winners in NaNoWriMo, so I’m tagging them! Deslily wrote an awesome trilogy that I had the privilege of reading, so I’m tagging her. And Colleen Gleason and Carole McDonnell are two great published authors that I’ve had the privilege of getting to know, so if you all would like to do this, I’d love to hear your answers!

22 Responses

  1. OMG Chris! You put ME with Nano winners and real Authors? Are you nuts?!!! lol…

    Of course I knew of Desllya but your managed to come up with some humdinger names there! LOL.. love it!! hahaha Do I want to know the words I won’t find in a dictionary??? (a language huh??… I’d be impressed no end if you came up with a whole language!!) Maybe it’s time you get more serious about your first edit there kiddo!

  2. Great answers πŸ™‚ I’m so annoyed with myself that I didn’t get around to doing NaNoWriMo….but I did start a short story tonight, so yay. πŸ™‚

    How’s the editing going? πŸ˜‰

  3. Deslily, You’re the one who’s nuts! You’re a REAL author too! You wrote a damn trilogy! lol..I got a little carried away with the names, huh? :p I didn’t exactly come up with a language…just words to describe things in Dryada (the other world) that don’t exist in ours…parts of nature, their ceremonies, etc. I really do need to get more serious with the edit though!

    Quix, Don’t be annoyed about NaNo! You can do it this year. You had a lot going on at that time last year. I don’t know if I’ll be up for it this year or not. I’m so glad that I did it, but it takes so much out of you! I definitely want to do it again though. I’ll see how I’m feeling when it comes along. Congrats on the short story starting!! You’re an awesome writer from what I’ve read! I’d love to read more! The editing isn’t going great :/ I’ve still only managed to edit the prologue and the first two chapters, but I’m really happy with how they’ve turned out. I started reading more of my story though and I really like it, so that’s always a good sign. I really need to start working on it more!

  4. I think 10) is true of any book written by any author ever. I know how you feel, because I really do have trouble with the editing process, but it is necessary for everyone. I doubt even Neil’s rough drafts are all that good πŸ˜›

    As for 4), I don’t think any plot device is clichΓ©d in itself…it’s all in how you use it, and I have no doubt that you used it in an unique way.

  5. Oh, boy. Did I forget to duck and run, again? πŸ˜‰

    That was fun reading, actually. Now, I’ll warn you that my version may take a few days because I cannot stand to stay inside when it’s in the 70’s and sunny, the birds are singing and it’s still cool enough that you can walk around in the sunshine without dripping. I love that.

  6. Well…..you were right about the IE explorer. BUT now I think I hosed up my computer trying to download!!

    Man….WHY did you have to move???

    Hopefully, I can get this worked out by tonight!!

  7. Nymeth, I’m sure every author goes through lots of revisions, but oh mine is going to need LOTS of work…trust me, it’s just embarassing in it’s current form, lol. It’ hard editing, huh? I’d love to read Neil’s rough drafts…I doubt we’ll ever see those tough ;p I agree with you…I don’t think plot devices are too cliched, there’s something we all enjoy about a basic plot…it’s all in how you use it!

    Bookfool, Yep…you forgot to duck :p Isn’t this weather incredible! That’s what I love about living in neighboring states…we get to enjoy the weather together. I’ve been out on the swing reading all day. I can’t get enough of it!

    Stephanie, Well I am so glad to see you!! And I’m so sorry that upgrading made your computer worse 😦 Oh geez…If a “you make my life a living pain award” comes around, please feel free to pass it to me, lol. I really hope your computer isn’t messed up now…I should’ve just stayed put on blogger, huh?…

  8. You should have done what I do Chris… keep the blogspot one going by copy & paste as a backup. Actually WordPress is my backkup lol.. since I can’t figure it all out I just copy and paste each post to it in case something awful happens to blogspot.

  9. Deslily, Not a bad idea actually…Wordpress is so much fun! You should try to figure it out :p I’m liking it alot!

  10. How did it feel to write a whole book? I have never heard of NaNoWriMo until today when I googled it, but it sounds pretty cool. I have been trying to give myself a kick in the pants to do more writing, but I don’t know about writing for a solid month with having to work around the real job. My husband says I ignore him enough when I’m blogging.

    I want to finish this same meme tonight but I’m having trouble thinking of 10 whole things just now. Maybe more sleep will help.

  11. Love the new look. And I’m very impressed with your answers to this meme. I was tagged, but I can’t come up with anything. I like Deslily’s suggestion of a back-up blog. What a great idea.

  12. Well…..I’m getting there!! I had to reset my internet options, and now I can log on!! I have yet to find my email again. But now I can visit!!

    Oh, don’t worry. I may CREATE a Pain in the Ass award just for you!!

  13. Kim, It felt so great to write a whole book! I was completely worn out by the end, but it was an amazing feeling to know that I did it at the same time. It was something I always said I’d do, but never thought I would. I think you’d love NaNo. It’s really not that bad if you have an idea of what you want to do. If you keep up with the goal for the day (break it down into 1,667 words per day) you’ll get to your 50,000 words by the end of the month with no problem. It only gets really stressful if you skip a few days of writing and fall behind. Then you find yourself having to write 6 or 7 thousand words in one day and that’s stressful! I was working full time though when I did NaNo and it wasn’t bad. There’s a great little book written by the founder, Chris Baty called “No Plot, No Problem” that explains the whole NaNo process and gives you pointers on how to successfully do it. And you can definitely think of 10 things for the meme!

    Booklogged, Glad you like the new look! Oh, you can so come up with 10 answers :p It’s easier than you think. I was dreading this one for days, but it wasn’t so bad once I actually did it. Isn’t the back up blog a good idea? I just may do it!

    Steph, Oh Lord! Send the Pain in the Ass award my way…I’d be honored :p Leave it to me…

  14. So when the hell do we get to read it?!! I’m serious, Chris…I so loved your excerpts! It wouldn’t be nice to keep it from us forever, you know! You might not mind being a Pain in the Ass, but surely you don’t want to be outright cruel, do you?

  15. OOh, i really connect to 3, 4, and 9 especially. I like the idea of the interlacing of two worlds. And honestly it’s about time we see a real world we kinda recognize. Lewis did it with Narnia and Bridge to Terabitha was neat also. But I’d like to see how you would interlace New Orleans and a magical otherworld. Urban fantasy in one realm and traditional fantasy in another? No more english school children or perfect idyllic rural settings, though.

    Just posted the meme to my website. Sorry…wasn’t at my computer long yesterday. Mean flu. -C

  16. Wow I can imagine you’d be worn out by the end with a job and writing that much each day! It sounds really cool and I will have to start plotting now what I want to write. My goal this year was by the end of the year I’d be able to say, “yes I’m in HR but I’m also a writer”. Not necesarily a published writer, because that takes time (no way around it) but a writer, because that’s what I spend my time doing. Thanks for the encouragement. I’m going to start researching now.

  17. Debi, LOL! Well I can’t put it all online, because I found out that if you do so, it’s considered published or something and I can’t send it to a publisher or something like that. So maybe what I’ll do is send it to you whenever I get done with the editing and you can tell me what you think of it…I’d like an opinion on it anyway! Shit…go ahead and give me the “Cruel award” too :p lol…

    Carole, I like 3,4 and 9 a lot too! Especially 3. I guess it comes from working with teens, but every time I go to write something, it’s main character ends up being a teenager. That’s basically what I did was interlace New orleans with a magical world, but didn’t play up New Orleans very much. The family wasn’t actually from New Orleans….from a country town in Louisiana visiting a professor in New Orleans. But it’s exactly what you said…I didn’t want the perfect idyllic rural setting..gets old. Can’t wait to read your meme, about to head there!

    Kim, Yeah, you’re worn out but you feel SO accomplished that it’s not funny! I was floating on cloud nine on November 30th (Actually finished on the 28th). Definitely worth it!

  18. So, when are you going to let me read your story? I think it sounds like an intriguing read – especially the combining the two worlds idea.

    cjh

  19. CJ, As soon as I manage to actually get the thing edited and it’s not so embarassing I’ll start sending it around for some critique πŸ˜‰ You’ll be one of the first!

  20. haha! i really liked points 1 and 6! a 30 day book – now thats intense!

    and i love made-up words! πŸ™‚

  21. Those names kind of remind me of Russian, just in that they all end in ‘a’s. πŸ™‚ This was fun to read!

  22. Eva, It’s far from Russian :p But the creatures in the fantasy world have a way of spying on our world, so maybe their ancestors were fond of the Russians and liked that aspect of their names πŸ˜‰ Glad you enjoyed reading it!

Leave a Reply

