Trying To Avoid Laziness

After yesterday’s bout of complete and utter laziness, I’m trying to stay active and accomplished today. So far, I’m succeeding…we’ll see if it lasts. Basically I laid in bed all day yesterday and read and watched TV again. Do this for two days in a row and you just start feeling depressed. I did however finish Fablehaven, wrote my review, wrote my interview questions and sent them off to Brandon Mull who already responded today! He’s a really cool guy. Go check out the website for the book, Fablehaven.com. It’s just recently been updated with a cool intro in anticipation for the new book and you can win a trip to Salt Lake City for the premier of Book 3!

So today, after waking up I started the day with a 2 mile walk. I was doing good with my walking for awhile, but got off track. The weather was just perfect. It’s sunny and 65 degrees out…feels like Spring! Of course I’m immersed in Watership Down right now so while walking through the park, I kept looking for rabbit holes, but how my mind gets completely lost in what I’m reading is a whole different post…

After the walk, I went for coffee and then headed for the bookstore to bravely face the romance aisle for Colleen Gleason’s new book. I wanted to buy it yesterday, but all the bookstores were closed for Mardi Gras. Well it turns out that I didn’t have to go down the romance aisle! Her book was right there on the “New and Noteworthy Paperbacks” stand. How cool is that? And what’s even cooler is that there were only 3 copies left while all the other books around it were still full in their places. Go Colleen! Of course I couldn’t go to the register with just a romance book in my hands, so I also picked up George R.R. Martin’s A Storm of Swords…it’s huge!

For the rest of the day, I’m thinking that I might work on editing some of my NaNo book. I haven’t done that in awhile. I’ve only edited the prologue and 2 chapters so far :/ And it’s about 26 chapters long. So there’s LOTS of work to be done. What’s everyone else doing today?

21 Responses

  1. Well, my day is almost over. πŸ˜› But it was a productive one as well. I started out behind in my class readings, so once the usual morning ablutions were complete, I dived into a piece for Theory class. Actually got almost halfway through it before class started at noon. Hahaha. After class, I hit the library and picked up some Interlibrary Loans that had arrived in the past few days. More books to add to my already teetering stacks. Uggggghhhh!

    When I got home, I found my 2008/09 Explore catalogue in the mailbox. Explore is a “soft-adventure” travel company that I’ve been travelling with for several years now. Needless to say, everything else went on hold for an hour or so, while I paged and read and dreamed about where to go on vacation after exams are over. Albania? Greece? Romania? Egypt? Nepal? The choices are endless! How to choose!???? It took awhile, but I did eventually tear myself away, and read two chapters for tomorrow’s Religion lecture. Well, almost two chapters. The second one was getting really boring, and by 9 pm, I couldn’t focus on it anymore. I’ll finish the last four or five pages in the morning.

    For pleasure reading, I’m about a third of the way through Kafka on the Shore, which is really really good, but pretty weird. Well…. weird in a really good way. πŸ™‚

    Nice book-shopping, btw, Chris. Storm of Swords really is a monster, isn’t it?? πŸ˜›

  2. Ummm the link doesn’t work. (I went there by typing it in though.. COOL SITE!)

    You are so funny.. can’t walk up to the counter with a “romance novel” eh? hahahaha Wake up Bubba! Ladies LIKE romantic guys!!! (Megan will tell you that!)

    Cant wait until you put up the review and the interview.. are you going to wait until closer to the release of the book??? That’s still 2 months away!

  3. CDN, Ugh…I used to hate catching up on readings for class. I really miss school, but don’t miss that part. It was inevitable that I would always fall behind on that. Except for my literature classes. I have no problems reading novels! Ooooh! That Explore catalog sounds exciting! My God, I could never decide…Egypt sounds really cool though! Oh no, Romania..definitely Romania πŸ˜‰ i can’t wait to read Kafka on the Shore. It’ll be my next Murakami. It sounds awesome. I read Norwegian Wood in December and loved it…ready for something weird now! And yeah, Storm of Swords is scary-big!

    Deslily, Oh dammit…I’ll fix the link, thanks for letting me know! Women might like romantic guys, but I don’t know about guys who buy romance novels πŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t classify these as romance though. The publisher told me to wait until the beginning of March to post everything and I get back in town on March 5th. So I’ll post the review on march 6th and the interview March 7th! That should work, huh?

  4. Did I miss something? “get back in town March 5th???” (I’ll be at the Trek convention March 8 &9)

    Oh geez.. if a guy is behind you just say it’s for Megan! sheesh lol..

  5. LOL…I forgot..I don’t think I’ve announced it yet, but I have 3 interviews in Austin on March 3rd and 4th! And of course I’m going to see Megan for a couple of days too while I’m there so I’ll be in texas from the 2nd through the 5th.

  6. I haven’t started the third Fablehaven yet. But I did enjoy the third. I’ll be interviewing him as well for the April edition of The Edge of the Forest. I’m nervous but excited. It still *thrills* me when an author agrees to do an interview.

    As for what I’ve been doing, I am reading the Accidental Time Machine and loving every minute of it. Definitely a must-read. So glad I gave into temptation and went ahead and checked it out of the library.

    If you want to feel even more *accomplished* at the end of the day you should participate in the February edition of the Bookworms Carnival. The theme is speculative fiction (think science fiction, fantasy, magic realism, etc.) The deadline is February 8th.

  7. Didn’t do a lot. Walked/jogged on the treadmill, ran errands, built a snowman, took some pics, made supper, put the kid to bed. πŸ™‚ Now I’m going to blog and read.

  8. Becky, This was my first ever author interview and he was so nice! You’ll enjoy interviewing him…no need to be nervous. And you’ll love the third book. It’s amazing! The Accidental Time Machine…Carl just reviewed that one too and it sounds incredible! I just added it to my Zooba account, so I can’t wait until it gets to me! Glad to hear you enjoyed it as well. I’ll have to dig up some reviews for the Bookworms Carnival…I’m more than sure I have something that fits!

    Other Chris, I’d say you did a lot!! Built a snowman! How cool πŸ™‚ The weather is so not snowman like here…I’m envious of you snowman people πŸ˜‰ Blogging and reading is always good!

  9. Hmm, maybe that’s my problem. I’ve been so depressed I can’t move but I need to move to stop being depressed? At least I’ve finished a few books. I should be happy about that, right?

    We were in the 50’s. 65 is my favorite temperature. Wish us a 65 degree day; we’ve got much limb-picking-upping to do and you’re all horseshoe up the butt, so I’m figuring you can help. πŸ˜‰

  10. Bookfool, You should be happy about finishing books! But I have indeed discovered that moving helps out a little bit…it’s just mustering up the energy to move…trust me, it was a full blown battle with myself to actually go for a walk. And then once I was walking it was hard not to stop on a bench and call a cab to take me back to my car! I hope that you do have a 65 degree day! We’re supposed to have another one of those tomorrow…I’ll send some good weather vibes your way. We have a giant limb in our backyard too from that crazy wind yesterday!

  11. My only hesitation about recommending Kafka on the Shore — if you’re a cat-lover and/or squeamish (or both) — there’s some stuff that’s a bit disturbing. 😐

    Romania! Yes! That’s actually my first choice. I’m checking out a 10-day tour in June. πŸ™‚

  12. Going for a walk really does help in so many ways. I’m finding that walking with Taika in the mornings is such a great start to the day, and it makes me feel like doing other things. Yesterday I didn’t actually do anything of note besides go for a walk and do some reading…but hey…baby steps. πŸ˜‰

    In about half an hour we’re going for another walk, once I’ve finished my cup of tea and browsed around the internet. When we get back I expect I will do some more internet wandering, and then read for a while. I want to do some more of the exercises in the Creative Journal book, and I need to make a card for The Boy’s brother in law’s birthday. I’d like to read a little of my photography book too, as I want to start learning more about photography again. Oh, and I totally need to hoover this rug….there are bits of coloured cotton from Taika’s ragger toy all over it!

  13. Have to admit that I used buying a romance book only as an excuse to pick up another book when I went to buy Colleen’s book as well. It is a sickness! πŸ˜‰

  14. Well, it definitely sounds like you shook off the laziness! But I want to know if you actually found any rabbit holes.

    You and Carl crack me up…nice rationalization there!

  15. You’re so right about the one day laying around=fun and relaxing, two days=depressed!

    It’s so funny how self-conscious we all are of buying books…I bet the clerks don’t even care! It does matter, though-there are certain books I’d only buy online. (mainly girly ones about fashion or make-up or whatever) πŸ™‚

  16. CDN, I don’t think Kafka will bother me…things like that usually don’t get to me that much…I don’t know what that’s saying about me, but…lol. The Romania trip sounds amazing! If that’s what you decide on, you HAVE to take lots of pics πŸ˜‰

    Quix, It’s just so hard for me to get up the motivation to walk! I suspect that if I had Buddy here with me, I’d do it more faithfully…and he, walking and reading is a big enough step! Your day today sounds great! Hoovering the rug…Buddy tears his toys up too…the cute ones rarely last longer than a few days :/

    Carl, What a sickness it is, eh? It was the perfect excuse, what can I say…at least we give Debi something to laugh at!

    Debi, I did..for a day at least! And I worked today, so that’s all my energy spent today. You’d never know I’m a 26 year old male! And alas, no rabbit holes in the park 😦 Lots of chickens though! Me and Carl have an illness, what can I say…

    Eva, I think I’m going for day number 3 of laying around! But I worked this morning, so it’s ok πŸ˜‰ I’m sure the clerks don’t care what we buy…though I swear I saw a smirk on the girls face when I bought Colleen’s book…or maybe that was just paranoia…thank God for Amazon, huh?

  17. Ah, it’s the second day of Chinese New Year today – so it’s still public holiday. A lot of the businesses are still closed, so I guess I’m staying in. Doing nothing takes a lot of work. ;p

  18. We had a nice day. Thanks for the wishes. I did much moving of limbs (we always have branch litter — we’re surrounded by giant oak trees) and I just stood in the sun, soaking it up and watching the squirrels play. It really helped. I didn’t walk, though. You’re right, it’s just a matter of talking yourself out the door. I’ll get there. The yard work’s been calling.

  19. Dark Orpheus, Happy New Year!!! Enjoy your days off πŸ™‚ Doing nothing is good sometimes πŸ˜‰

    Bookfool, I’ve been watching the squirrels play too! We have so many of them lately! I think they’ve been enjoying the weather…Ah yard work…fun, huh?

  20. You’re right on both accounts. It is a great book and he is a great guy. Very down to earth but funny as well.

    I totally get the Watership Down thing as well. Last fall I was hiking a trail in the mountains above my house. It was misty and a little rainy and I was thinking about how it felt like I was walking through a Lord of the Rings setting.

    Right about then I heard this noise and looked up the hill to see two guys with bows and arrows come over the rise on horseback. I must have jumped about ten feet in the air.

    Turns out they were just bow hunting. But at the time . . .

  21. Hey J, Thanks for stopping by! Great story there…it’s funny how we get lost in books, huh? You gave me a good laugh with your story…beware of elves while walking! Ah, what I wouldn’t give to be able to walk a trail through mountains whenever I wanted to…one of these days! Any orc sightings? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

