Not Complaining This Year

endymion.jpgI woke up to the most beautiful weather this morning. Anyone else getting in on this? It’s 58 degrees outside right now and sunny as can be. Today is Endymion – the biggest parade of the Mardi Gras season. Endymion is to many people, bigger than Mardi Gras day itself…Mardi Gras day is almost more for families. Endymion doesn’t actually start until around 5:00 this afternoon, but they close the streets off around noon and people just go out and party all day and it’s just so much fun. It’s my favorite and for the past 5 years I’ve missed it…this year I’m missing it again. I miss it because I always work on Saturdays because I don’t have a “real job” and I can never take off, something I always complain about. And I would complain again this year, but I’m not because things are looking so good in Austin! So as much as I’m jealous about this gorgeous weather and the fact that my sister is making her sandwiches and packing her booze, I’ll supress the little angry voice and know that maybe next year I can come in for the weekend, when I’ll be OFF of work and maybe I’ll get to see Endymion again then….besides, Kevin Costner is the grand marshall this year and I really can’t stand him anyway!

Poppets are celebrating this gorgeous weather too by the way and they’re all in love! Head on over to Lisa Snellings-Clark’s February sale…she has some awesome stuff up!

Everyone gearing up for the Super Bowl? I had to choose between another parade and the Super Bowl for Sunday and of course I chose the Super Bowl :p Sunday is Bacchus, the second biggest parade in New Orleans…the year before Katrina, Elijah Wood and Dominic Monaghan road on a float together and you can tell they had so much fun! As for the Super Bowl, I’m Giants all the way…why, because of Eli. He went to high school about 10 miles away from my house, so we all cheer for him! Chances of them winning, well…..What’s everyone cooking? We’re doing a Boston Butt and making pulled pork sandwiches…well, Dad is. Sounds good to me!

14 Responses

  1. Wow, i’ve never heard of the Endymion parade. I was like: Keats? What’s going on?

    Sounds like fun.

    -C

  2. You know, I have to visit New Orleans one day…

    I’m very tempted by Lisa’s February sale…actually I’ve already bought one poppet and am bidding/watching a few more. Ahem. I’m a sucker for poppets, even when on a budget.

  3. Hmm, well seeing as Giant Stadium is right here in NJ and I pass it every time I go to an autograph show, I guess I hope the Giants win ..heh.

    Aww sorry you have to miss the parade. I would have loved to seen it the year Elijah and Dominic were there! I’ve enjoyed a number of Costners movies..not all, but some.

    The kissing poppets are hysterical lol… I kinda like the love bug poppet.. but with Kester and Woody.. I probably need a sorcerer type don’tcha think? lol not that I could afford one even if there was one!

  4. Carole, Oh Endymion is so much fun! They close off all of the major streets in New Orleans and it’s just a big all day party with the most gorgeous floats, tons of great music, marching bands, and great crowds…you’d love it!

    Quix, You really should come down here πŸ˜€ If you ever do, let me know of course, I’ll be your personal tour guide! I’m extremely tempted by the sale! I have the same problem as you…I buy even though it’s not in the budget :/

    Deslily, Go Giants! Elijah and Dominic were great…I took a few pictures, but they were so blurry. Elijah wood was drunk off his ass, but he was having a great time. The kissing poppets really are great. Did you see the video on her website? And I agree…you definitely need a wizard or sorcerer poppet! We’ll have to keep an eye out for that…if I recall, she makes a wizard rat that’s not too expensive….that one may become available before a poppet does!

  5. I woke up to snow. 😦 Then it got sunny for about twenty minutes. Now it’s snowing again. I don’t understand why people choose to live in the mountains, lol.

    That poppet sale is adorable! I’m resisting, though, since I just had a mini-shopping splurge on clothes and make-up and hair stuff (yes, I know I’m a girlie girl).

    I really want to visit New Orleans! My best friend from middle school lived there for awhile (her dad was in the navy), and my senior year of high school my parents told me I could either go visit her for spring break or go see the colleges I had been accepted to. *sigh* Sometimes I wish I hadn’t been such a responsible kid, lol.

    Oh, and to end this super-long comment, I’ll be watching the Super Bowl and rooting for the Giants as well. Because Eli is Peyton’s brother and I have a little bit of a crush on Peyton, and because who wants to root for the Patriots?!

  6. Eva, I’d love to wake up to snow one day 😦 We never get that down here…I’d be like a little kid on Christmas! But I’m sorry you have to go through it…I’m sure I’d hate it if I had to deal with it every day! I’m resisting the poppets too…I’m going for broke right now and even a $20 chocolate poppet is out of my budget 😦 Have to save up for hotel rooms for interviews! Quixotic wants to come to New Orleans too…I say everyone should come πŸ˜‰ Big blogger convention! I’ll be the guide! And I’m glad to hear that there are more giants fans out there…though I’m sure there are plenty rooting for the Patriots as well. I’ll talk to Peyton for you next time he’s in town πŸ˜‰ right…

  7. Good for you!

    I’m thinking of getting another Poppet for my b-day. The Choco ones are cute!

  8. Other Chris, The Choco one is the one I want too! I don’t know if I can last or not, but I’m trying not to spend money…very tempting though. I really like the lady bug poppets…they’re my fav’s…well to be honest, the queen of hearts is my fav, but there’s no way in hell I’ll be affording that one! Happy Birthday to you by the way! When is it?

  9. Mardi Gras day is almost more for families.

    Mardi Gras day wasn’t for families even when I was a kid! πŸ˜‰ Even the family-friendly parades have far more crude behavior than children should be exposed to. πŸ˜›

    I love Bacchus. Never been to Endymion! I loved Bacchus even from childhood because the beads were so pretty, with the cornucopia & grapes!

    Mmmmmm. . . Pulled Pork sandwiches! Enjoy & have fun today!

  10. N, Now you see, I disagree πŸ˜‰ In Metairie at least, which is where we always go. It’s lined with nothing but the ladders and chairs and there are way to many kids for me. Keep in mind, though, I didn’t say “family friendly” πŸ˜‰ just, families, lol. If I go to a parade, I tend to enjoy the ones without screaming kids around me, like Endymion. I suspect that will change when we go with kids of our own! I love Bacchus too…it’s such a great parade and I love that classic float that you’re talking about with the cornucopia and grapes! We will indeed have fun today…thanks!

  11. We had crap weather, again. I stayed inside and pouted.

    Since we have a new car and I hope to go back to school in the fall, I’m resisting the poppet sale. Actually, they’re going up in price rapidly, too, so maybe it’s time to just say I’m happy with what I’ve got and be done with my poppet family. πŸ™‚

  12. We had nice weather again today! I was surprised…I’m resisting the poppet sale too 😦 They really are going up in price! I guess that’s supply and demand for you…but they’re getting more fancy too πŸ˜‰ Hard to resist! I think my 11 are happy together for now, but I know there are more in my future, lol.

  13. My B-day is on the 26th. I have no will power. I bought a Choco one.

  14. Yay! Good for you other Chris πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

