The Stainless Steel Rat Saves The World by Harry Harrison

savestheworld.jpgThis is going to end my affair with the Stainless Steel Rat for a little while…at least for a few books. I’ll probably be back for one or two more adventures by the end of February though πŸ˜‰ It’s hard to stay away from these – they’re so much fun! was probably my least favorite of the three that I’ve read so far, but that doesn’t mean that it wasn’t good. I just loved the first two so much that it’s hard to top them!

This one opens up with James DiGriz’s world going hazy. Everyone around him is slowly disappearing and we learn that this is because there is a time war going on. His mission (there has to be a mission!) stop the time war and literally, save the world! The rat travels back 30,000 years to a very strange planet called “Earth” to the year 1975. As you can imagine, it’s quite comical at times and there’s some really good social commentary to be had here. DiGriz has to find a man by the name of “He” who is the culprit behind this time war, a man in search of ultimate control. The fate of the world, his existence, his wife’s existence, and his planet lies on his shoulders. Can he stop He in time before his world is erased?

I think that this one was a little awkward for me because of all of the time travel stuff. This novel was so short and I just got sort of confused with some of the time travel elements…I found myself just nodding my head along with some of the plot. But I really enjoyed the story for the most part. Napoleon Bonaparte even showed up in it!

So with this book read, I’ve finally completed my 4th book of the year. Sad, huh? The end of January and I’ve only read 4 books…2 of them being under 200 pages. I have some serious catching up to do with all these challenges and review copies. Next up is one that counts as a challenge book and a review copy! The next book in the Fablehaven series! Yay! I’ve been looking forward to this one since last May.

One last thing, I went and saw Juno tonight, and if you haven’t seen it yet I highly recommend it! It was such a wonderful movie–funny, sweet, heartwarming, snort inducing, filmed really well, great soundtrack and the acting was just phenomenal. I know that it’s nominated for a bunch of awards and I’m really hoping that it takes them all home!

12 Responses

  1. I saw Juno a couple weeks ago. Loved it!! πŸ™‚

  2. The book sounds great, and I just love that “old school” cover. It’s just so cool! I can’t wait to start reading this series.

    I am really, really looking forward to seeing Juno!

  3. “snort inducing”?! lol.. I thought that Lily Tomlin and me were the only ones that did that! heh.

    Finally! Fablehaven!

  4. Yes, the bopping back and forth in time does make this one a bit of a wacky adventure. I agree with you, the first two are better but I still enjoy the story. For me none of them top those first two, but I still really like most of the other books. The next book in the series, The Stainless Steel Rat wants you is quite comical and is a very fun book, and The Stainless Steel Rat for President is a good one as well. After that he started doing those prequels which I like. SSR Sings the Blues didn’t impress me much the first and only time I’ve read it. I would never read SSR Joins the Circus (a travesty), but SSR Goes to Hell is a bit of a return to form as far as the novels go and is very good in my opinion.

  5. Oh, and we are planning on seeing Juno tomorrow night. Can’t wait.

  6. Oh, you are making it very hard for me to resist picking up the second SSR right this minute! I do have it in my pile of “next up books” but am trying hard to finish up the books I already have started first.

    Juno is one of those movies I really, really, really want to see! Wish it didn’t cost an arm and a leg and various other appendages to pay for a babysitter and actually go to a movie. I’m sure we’ll be waiting for DVD 😦

  7. I want to see Juno, it sounds good. πŸ™‚

    If I see it, I’m totally picking up a copy of the first Stainless Steel Rat book just to see what Carl, and now you, are on about. πŸ™‚

  8. CDN, I’m glad you enjoyed Juno too! I think it’s hard not to like that one, huh? It was great!

    Nymeth, I’m loving these covers…this one is kind of a continuation of the last book’s cover. I wish these old pulp artists would come back! I think you’ll like this series. They’re lots of fun. And I think you’ll love Juno when you see it. Amazing movie!

    Deslily, Snort inducing for SOME…lol…yes, there were snorts heard in the movie theater. It was great. And yeah, I’m finally reading Fablehaven!! It’s great!

    Carl, Always there when I need you! I have the other books you sent me, but I’m afraid I got them out of order :/ So I was just about to email you and ask what to read next and you answered my question for me! They sound awesome! And of course, I already promised to never read SSR Joins the Circus πŸ˜‰ I hope y’all enjoy Juno…I’m sure you will, can’t imagine you not liking it!

    Debi, Oh, but it’s so short!! I was going to say “how can you wait that long?” But I waited since October :p The second one is really great though. You’re going to love it!! Ah, kids…and babysitters…I never thought about all that stuff when going to see a movies…I’m sorry 😦 I hope you get to see it! It’s a great movie and filled with laughs.

    Quix, Juno is beyond good πŸ™‚ It was awesome. I hope you get a chance to see it…loved it. I don’t know if The Stainless Steel Rat is in print or not anymore….we have to ask Carl. So check out those second hand book shops! All hail Carl for introducting us to the Rat πŸ˜‰

  9. This doesn’t sound like the series for me, but I love that cover. Love it.

    And, saving time here by commenting in one place — so true that you’ll have loads of photographic subject matter if you move to Austin. I haven’t been there in a very, very long time but I remember it was a beautiful, bright, colorful, light-drenched city. My father-in-law graduated from UT Austin, so I get to hear all about how it’s changed and the sad state of parking and how awful it is that it’s unaffordable and students no longer get free maid service (????). Those were the days, I guess. LOL

  10. Nancy, Dammit…no free maid service?!!!! Parts of it are very unaffordable, but it’s such a big city that you can find places that are still somewhat affordable…they also pay counselors much better over there than they do here! And you may actually like some of this series! It’s very James Bondish πŸ˜‰

  11. James Bondish? Cool. And, better pay is always a plus. Honestly, I think you and I are in two of the worst places in the country for pay.

  12. I think we’re definitely in the two worst parts of the country for pay….I’ve looked in MS too and the pay is about just as bad as here…that’s just sad…it’s hard to get good help when you have bad pay!

Leave a Reply

